We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family run hotel”
Review of Trecastell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trecastell Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from another relaxing break at the Trecastell.Really friendly staff,good food ,clean,comfortable rooms and a fantastic view over Bull bay.An excellent base for touring the rest of this beautiful island.

Room Tip: rooms 14 & 5 are really good with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Petetricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Thanks for your taking time to respond and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Called in as we had a lovely meal and good service when we visited Anglesey few years ago. Wrong thing to have done! Bar and restaurant empty with just two people sat in the side chairs, drinking. We walked through and went to sit on balcony. No clean tables to sit at, all littered with dirty glasses and plates. Three tables were occupied with five people. Went back inside to bar. I ordered food as family went to find a table. Was told by bar person to sit at a specific table as it 'was the only clean table'. She was right, similar to outside- all tables were littered with dirty plates and glasses. I asked if we could sit at our chosen table but was told 'you can but I am too busy to clean it as I have other customers to serve'. We counted 7 people and to include us would have been 10, oh and six cars including ours in the car park. For a hotel/pub of this size I would hardly call it busy when we visited. After asking if the table could be cleaned at some point I was told ' I have just said, I am busy, I will clean it when I have time'. I therefore asked for my £46.50 to be refunded, and we left. 0/10 for attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
8  Thank CBTherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

arrived at 8.45 on saturday night looking for something to eat only to be told that they had closed for the night

really?

at this time?

we stopped for a drink

£8 for a glass of wine and a local beer was a bit pricey

nice views and conservatory restaurant

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Sorry that we were unable to seat you at 8.45 on a Saturday night, but we were not closed we were full of persons who had booked and the kitchen had more than enough meals waiting to cook. We close at 9pm which we think is reasonable and in line with most eating establishments.
As for the 2 drinks at £8.00, the most expensive 250mm glass of wine on our menu is £4.90 for a good quality white, red or rose and a pint of the finest cask ale starting at £3.10 which is in line with most places in the area and a lot cheaper than others.
May we suggest that you book on a Saturday night in future to save going hungry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

On passing through amlwch we popped into local shop and asked for guidance for somewhere local to eat, on arrival we were delighted with the view overlooking the bay and were welcomed warmly, staff were friendly polite and hard working the food was delicious and fresh homemade where stated! Wheelchair access to the resturant but toilets require mobility for 2 steps we negotiated these as they were the only toilets available other than this a very pleasant experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tootie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We are looking into ways of putting in a disabled facility in the near future but it is proving difficult in an old building. Glad you enjoyed visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here with another couple. According to tripadvisor, this is a 2 star hotel, but it provides great facilities and excellent service.

We had the executive suite, a good size room with lovely views of the sea. It was clean, bright, comfortable and quiet. The bed was a little on the soft side, but it didn't stop us sleeping like logs. The shower was powerful and there was plenty of hot water morning or evening. A kettle and tea, coffee and biscuits were provided in the room along with botttles of water (handy for sticking in your backpack if you're going out). Toiletries were also provided. Wireless is free in the rooms.

The staff were all genuinely friendly and really helpful. They accommodated us last minute in the restaurant, brought us tea in the lounge when we wanted to play games in there, and advised on local places to visit. (Thank you for the top tip to visit Bodnant Gardens for the laburnum arch!)

We only ate in the restuarant one night as we had other places we specifically wanted to try. The food is good hearty pub fare. It arrived piping hot and there was plenty of it. We didn't book and the restaurant was full, but we still got our meals within half an hour. Breakfast was included in the price and it was good.

Part of the Anglesey Coastal Path is two minutes away from the hotel, and is a lovely place to stretch your legs and look at the sea.

I really can't think what else you'd want from a 2 star hotel, and I think the Trecastell goes above and beyond its rating. We had a great visit.

Room Tip: The executive suite is a good size and has excellent views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZolaTheGorgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Glad you enjoyed your visit and your trip to Bodnant gardens which is truly lovely.
It's good to know that the new systems we put in place to reduce waiting time appears to be bearing fruit.
We hope you and your friends return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This is a brilliant location with the conservatory restaurant overlooking the bay.
The staff were very friendly and at first we were happy with our choice for an evening meal.
But the service was very slow, we had a long wait for our meals, despite booking a table 24 hours earlier. The soup starters were excellent but the lamb henry was overcooked and the smallest I've ever had !
We will be back as the new owners are making an effort to improve the hotel, according to the other reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curlew29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Sorry you had a bit of a wait, and hopefully it won't be as long next time.
As for the Lamb, our butcher tries to keep all his cuts as standard as possible but it seems you may have had a smallish one.
Thank you for your comments on the friendliness of our staff as we try to keep our standards as high as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel for many years with varying degrees of satisfaction, so knowing it was under new management was hopeful it would return to former glories.
We weren't disappointed, James and Gill proved perfect hosts and all the staff were very friendly.
The hotel has undergone refurbishment and it shows, from the bar to the bedrooms. Happy to say we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancisOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We try to keep improving and hope you will notice still more changes next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
1.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
15.6 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,074 reviews
8.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Gwesty Gadlys Hotel
Gwesty Gadlys Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
137 reviews
14.2 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
674 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trecastell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trecastell Hotel

Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range: £73 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Trecastell Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Trecastell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trecastell Hotel Island Of Anglesey/Amlwch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing