We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Trecastell Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour Hotel(Cemaes Bay)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bull Hotel(Valley)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cymyran(Holyhead)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Motel(Trearddur Bay)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Rhianfa(Menai Bridge)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
205
107
21
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
107
21
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbull baysea viewmusselsboth nightsan evening mealsteakspecial mentionexecutive roomseen better dayslovely roomlovely hotellarge bedbiscuitspleasant staffsunday carverywarm welcomefantastic views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from another relaxing break at the Trecastell.Really friendly staff,good food ,clean,comfortable rooms and a fantastic view over Bull bay.An excellent base for touring the rest of this beautiful island.

Room Tip: rooms 14 & 5 are really good with fantastic views
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Petetricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2014

Thanks for your taking time to respond and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Called in as we had a lovely meal and good service when we visited Anglesey few years ago. Wrong thing to have done! Bar and restaurant empty with just two people sat in the side chairs, drinking. We walked through and went to sit on balcony. No clean tables to sit at, all littered with dirty glasses and plates. Three tables were occupied with five people. Went back inside to bar. I ordered food as family went to find a table. Was told by bar person to sit at a specific table as it 'was the only clean table'. She was right, similar to outside- all tables were littered with dirty plates and glasses. I asked if we could sit at our chosen table but was told 'you can but I am too busy to clean it as I have other customers to serve'. We counted 7 people and to include us would have been 10, oh and six cars including ours in the car park. For a hotel/pub of this size I would hardly call it busy when we visited. After asking if the table could be cleaned at some point I was told ' I have just said, I am busy, I will clean it when I have time'. I therefore asked for my £46.50 to be refunded, and we left. 0/10 for attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
8  Thank CBTherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

arrived at 8.45 on saturday night looking for something to eat only to be told that they had closed for the night

really?

at this time?

we stopped for a drink

£8 for a glass of wine and a local beer was a bit pricey

nice views and conservatory restaurant

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Sorry that we were unable to seat you at 8.45 on a Saturday night, but we were not closed we were full of persons who had booked and the kitchen had more than enough meals waiting to cook. We close at 9pm which we think is reasonable and in line with most eating establishments.
As for the 2 drinks at £8.00, the most expensive 250mm glass of wine on our menu is £4.90 for a good quality white, red or rose and a pint of the finest cask ale starting at £3.10 which is in line with most places in the area and a lot cheaper than others.
May we suggest that you book on a Saturday night in future to save going hungry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

On passing through amlwch we popped into local shop and asked for guidance for somewhere local to eat, on arrival we were delighted with the view overlooking the bay and were welcomed warmly, staff were friendly polite and hard working the food was delicious and fresh homemade where stated! Wheelchair access to the resturant but toilets require mobility for 2 steps we negotiated these as they were the only toilets available other than this a very pleasant experience.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tootie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We are looking into ways of putting in a disabled facility in the near future but it is proving difficult in an old building. Glad you enjoyed visit and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My partner and I stayed here with another couple. According to tripadvisor, this is a 2 star hotel, but it provides great facilities and excellent service.

We had the executive suite, a good size room with lovely views of the sea. It was clean, bright, comfortable and quiet. The bed was a little on the soft side, but it didn't stop us sleeping like logs. The shower was powerful and there was plenty of hot water morning or evening. A kettle and tea, coffee and biscuits were provided in the room along with botttles of water (handy for sticking in your backpack if you're going out). Toiletries were also provided. Wireless is free in the rooms.

The staff were all genuinely friendly and really helpful. They accommodated us last minute in the restaurant, brought us tea in the lounge when we wanted to play games in there, and advised on local places to visit. (Thank you for the top tip to visit Bodnant Gardens for the laburnum arch!)

We only ate in the restuarant one night as we had other places we specifically wanted to try. The food is good hearty pub fare. It arrived piping hot and there was plenty of it. We didn't book and the restaurant was full, but we still got our meals within half an hour. Breakfast was included in the price and it was good.

Part of the Anglesey Coastal Path is two minutes away from the hotel, and is a lovely place to stretch your legs and look at the sea.

I really can't think what else you'd want from a 2 star hotel, and I think the Trecastell goes above and beyond its rating. We had a great visit.

Room Tip: The executive suite is a good size and has excellent views of the sea.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZolaTheGorgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesandGill, Owner at Trecastell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Glad you enjoyed your visit and your trip to Bodnant gardens which is truly lovely.
It's good to know that the new systems we put in place to reduce waiting time appears to be bearing fruit.
We hope you and your friends return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews