We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good restaurant facilities”
Review of Bull Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bull Bay Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Lancashire
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good restaurant facilities”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We didn't stay here but had a meal. Inside and outside seating, good menu and friendly accommodating staff. Dog friendly. Only problem with outside seating is the slope of the ground. Inexpensive. Thank you

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomiemb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    102
    35
    23
    15
See reviews for
68
128
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here recently, the room was ok, comfortable and clean. There was no soap to wash your hands, just a couple of shampoo sachets. Luckily I had a bath gel with me so we used that. We had an ok stay it was just little things that let it down. We had a meal the night before which was ok. Breakfast was not so nice, micro waved hard bacon! Not so nice sausage and a cup of tea! No pot, just one cup of tea each, black. I like my tea fairly weak but was given my tea in a cup. Would be better to have had a pot of tea and some boiled water, not a big thing.
I would stay again if they sorted these very little problems out, soap in room and pot of tea and nice breakfast. If you are paying good money( £ 45 each) for bed and breakfast then you would expect this. As I said the room was clean and comfortable, nice view. Nice location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nefiwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suburban Chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you are a walker on the Coastal Path, you will love the convenience of being close to the path. I stayed in room 7 on the top floor corner. Beautiful views of the bay. The room size was more than ample for one person, and fine for two. Two windows in the room, and another in the bathroom allowed for a great cross breeze when desired. The room was quiet in the evening and made for a good nights sleep. Wifi access was available, but seemed to connect and load slowly in the room. There is a full size bath and water pressure/temperature was fine. I had dinner in the restaurant downstairs and service was fine. Breakfast was in a larger are of the restaurant and was good as well. Will likely stay here again when I am able.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blushift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross on Wye
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Three of us had lunch there. We were the only guests. When we arrived there was no one in the bar and it took some time for the lady to appear (she was apparently doing the laundry). The bar furniture and carpetting looked tired. Ditto in the dining room. Although it was a lovely summer day all the windows were closed. The lady who appeared was very welcoming and helpful. One of my party thought the lunch was excellent and said so. I thought that my lunch was only so-so. The hotel is sited right on the coast with good views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crymych, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Good points - food was lovely, including the breakfast, room was very clean. Welsh-speaking barman/waiter was extremely helpful and pleasant. Location good.
Less good points - Wi-Fi didn't work (manager tried to suggest it was my fault), no soap or shower gel in bathroom (only shampoo), tiny TVs on wall-mounted brackets either worked badly or didn't work at all, lounge and bar very sad-looking, really needing a re-vamp. Also, personal comment made by manager which wasn't appropriate. Local people who we met later thought we'd made a mistake by booking it.
No mention that people with mobility problems would have difficulty negotiating the steep staircase - no lift.

Room Tip: Will not return to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeautifulBetty_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Bull Bay Hotel is really a unique place to stay, full of character in a gorgeous location right next to the Irish Sea.

The staff were extremely helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. We stayed for three nights and lucky enough to have one of the rooms with a sea view. Our room was clean with everything we needed and had double glazed windows so very quiet.

The food portions are generous and they really are helpful when it comes to dietary requirements, my partner is vegan which wasn't a problem for them. Yes would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for one night over the weekend on a golf trip with 7 others. We were made to feel most welcome by all the staff, the rooms were clean and warm and the evening meal was excellent. This was followed by nice evening at the bar with a few games of pool and darts. The breakfast the following morning was lovely. We played 2 rounds of golf at Bull Bay Golf Club (Fantastic Course) This was our 4th year staying here and it is a great value golfing break. All this for £77!!!!! (Winter rates) I think the summer rates start on 1st April.

Room Tip: room 1 is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gaza2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amlwch
0.3 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#2 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.2 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
15.4 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull Bay Hotel

Property: Bull Bay Hotel
Address: Bull Bay, Amlwch LL68 9SH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Amlwch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Amlwch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bull Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Anglesey Hotel with a fabulous coastal location in Bull-Bay - Amlwch, overlooking the Irish Sea. The hotel accommodation boasts 10 en-suite rooms 8 of which have sea views, an 80 cover restaurant, a large function room, a lounge bar & Games room with a pool table. Free parking is available with CCTV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bull Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bull Bay Hotel Island Of Anglesey/Amlwch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing