We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 day 'bit of a treat' stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn
Ranked #5 of 7 Beaumaris B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2 day 'bit of a treat' stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Having decided to holiday in the UK we decided to treat ourselves to a stay at the Bulls Head Inn and booked a room in the Townhouse (Ebony). We knew from the website that parking would be a problem but when we got there it became quickly clear that parking on the seafront grass car park was no problem; obviously it is used by a lot of hotels and we felt comfortable leaving our car there (a short 150m walk took us to the hotel.) You can buy a 'whole day ticket' and were told they only get jittery if the car's still there by 10ish the next day so we were happy to leave it until we'd had breakfast. Don't bother buying a new ticket if you are leaving for a day trip in the morning to return later. We did this but when we returned at 6pm ish the kiosk was closed so we had to buy a different ticket to park overnight as ours didn't work the barrier.

That said...the hotel was excellent, lovely touches in our room (fresh milk) lovely bedding (loved the colour-change wallpaper!) super bathroom - we felt indulged and, after days out in the fresh air travelling the beautiful coastline was a lovely treat to come back to. We loved the funky way the halls/stairs were decorated in the Townhouse! The food was excellent (we had two breakfasts and one meal in the brasserie) and we found all the staff friendly and welcoming. We absolutely loved Beaumaris, so laid back. Nothing negative to say at all (we did have the best week weatherwise!) our only thought would be for the hotels and parking to somehow have a 'pass' of some sort that could be paid for at the hotels so you can come and go through the barrier and the parking attendant knows you've paid.

Room Tip: Traditional..stay in the Inn (by all accounts) Contemporary...the Townhouse is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    130
    52
    28
    17
See reviews for
53
245
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Called in to the Bulls Head on Thursday afternoon for a drink, as it was always my favourite pub in Beaumaris. We went into the bar and waited and waited, as there was no-one serving. Eventually we went to the hotel reception where 2 girls were stood talking and asked if there was anyone serving. One of the girls said she would send someone but it was some time before anyone materialised. After the woman had served us she disappeared again. We sat with our drinks and watched a man come to the bar and eventually get fed up of waiting and leave, and then another 2 men came to the bar and did the same. The owner ought to know that he lost several customers that day including myself and my husband. We went to the Liverpool Arms where the service was friendly and efficient and the atmosphere was lively.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margareta53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The staff were great, friendly, polite and very helpful. The breakfast was excellent, although a little inconsistent in quantity (first day we were given 2 eggs, after that only one - which was sufficient). The room was decorated to a very high standard - it was quite small and at the front of the building which meant we were not able to open the window during this unusually hot weather - the fan in the wardrobe was very welcome. The 'extras' were off a very high quality - Molton Brown shampoo, and some delicous shortbread biscuits. The building and furnishings are beautiful with all of the character and quirks you expect from a structure of its age - the bar would benefit from a lick of paint and some new upholstery on the seats though. Still one to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great things : We stayed in Scarlett, The room was lovely , spotless and you could not fault it at all. Lovely design and plenty of space
Breakfast was off a high quality, there was a lovely friendly little blonde waitress who was incredibly helpful

Not so great : Reception staff seemed a little cold and not so helpful when approached
Same with the Bar staff , grumpy and we experienced the same as another reviewer , we found ourselves a space to have a seat with our baby , i waited around 5 minutes to be served then was told after this that we had to move to the side bar - which isn't very pushchair friendly, so we left to go to another place for a late pm drink .

This is a shame as the hotel I cannot fault they just need a bit of work on the customer service front at reception and in the bar - don't get me wrong they were not rude at all just seemed not bothered. This is one of those hotels that I would love to absolutely love and give 5 starts but there is something that just takes the edge off it and for the price a few more smiles wouldnt go a miss

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JA1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Popped in for lunch. Had to keep chasing up menus and our drinks. Sandwiches were very run-of-the-mill, not worth £6!! Chips were good. Very moody older lady behind the bar, everything seemed alot of trouble to her. Not rushing back....

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Well my wife booked this and she made a good choice, We stayed in the Townhouse accommodation across the road from the Inn. We were in the Silver room and we expected the room to be nice due to the price. We were not disappointed. Extremely large room with separate lounge area and en suite bathroom plus two televisions. The Townhouse rooms are colour coded according to price and we stayed with friends who booked into the Pearl room which was also very spacious and extremely nice.
The only downside was that the bath is too high to get into , not easy if you have walking difficulties and the glass panel could be longer to stop the spray from going onto the bathroom floor.
Overall a very nice experience and do not forget the restaurants.The Brasserie and the fine dining Loft restaurant upstairs in the Bulls Head Inn. We ate in the Brasserie the first night and the food was delightful and reasonably priced. .Lovely fish and chips. However the second night we went for the Loft fine dining. Although it was expensive it was well worth the experience. I had scallops for starter and lamb for the main. Perfect plus you had canopies , soup and lovely bread. Plus a extensive wine list.

Lastly the Inn and Townhouse is perfectly situated and although parking is restricted you can leave your car on the green overnight. Its a two minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmygreenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in the modern room aka 'the townhouse' plum room. Lovely experience clean & spacious. Only down side is the weight of the doors - very heavy and hard to open due to door closers.

Ate in the brasserie - Ab Fab food the best the whole holiday - lovely service.

Well worth a visit

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank clgx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn

Property: Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn
Address: Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8AP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Bulls Head Hotel Beaumaris
Ye Olde Bulls Head Inn Beaumaris, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing