We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THREE VISITS IN ONE DAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier House Cafe and Bistro

Pier House Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A warm friendly atmosphere awaits you, we are fully child and dog friendly. We offer a varied menu boasting Welsh-British cuisine. Specialising in seafood, we provide locally sourced, home cooked food wherever possible. Indoor and outdoor seating available, with a spectacular view of the Menai Straits
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THREE VISITS IN ONE DAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Firstly we enjoyed morning coffee plus scone. Then a crab salad. Late evening before returning to caravan, enjoyed our favourite tipple PERONI. Two visits were seated outside overlooking the gorgeous Menai Strait. Can't be beaten for location, food and super service. GO!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank POPPYEWAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    298
    149
    62
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“superb food,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

worth the travel if you have to to get there, food excellent, atmosphere lovely, staff good and friendly, good views. INside and out dining. Range of prices, place is full of little surprises, embience lovely. at the land end of the pier, free parking after 6pm. Good lunchtime prices, bit m;ore expensive in evening. Do book or you will have to wait.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My family ate here after a recommendation from our hotel. It was packed (good sign!) The manager was really accommodating about getting us a table so we only had to wait 20 minutes and he even offered to phone us if the table was ready sooner. Scallops - perfectly cooked- and mussels with cream sauce were delicious starters. The hummus too was excellent. All good sized portions. The sea bass main course was really delicious, fresh and good with couscous and olives. The salmon with chive and wine sauce was divine too! And my son wolfed down their gourmet burger. Eton mess pudding perfect mix of sweet and tart (I may well dream of this!)
Great food, captivating views across the straits and friendly helpful staff made for a really lovely evening. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AsiaLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We sat outside and had a lovely view across the Menai Straits. The food was good. However the service was slow - especially when we wanted to get the bill. There was plenty of sitting inside for whne the evening got cooler.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab Views and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stumbled upon this place. All weekend we had been looking for a restaurant that used some local produce especially in the seafood department! And oh how we dined!! Scallops, prawns and crayfish to start, Sea bass and Crab for mains and Fudge Cake for pudding. The scallops came with a lovely carrot puree and the seabass with a caper dressing and cold potato salad, lovely and refreshing. We were sat inside as outside had got a bit chilly but still had lovely views of the sea and pier. The staff were friendly and attentive and the bottled beer was delicious! All in all a fabulous early evening meal not to be faulted! Thank you, will be sure to tell visiting friends and family in the future...i also recommended you at breakfast the following day and in the guest book of the B and B we were staying at, Llwydiarth Fawr!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bethany m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier House Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
Beaumaris, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Pier House Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing