We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away!”
Review of The Bulkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bulkeley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend away!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wonderful and majestic hotel in a fabulous location overlooking the Menai Straits and Snowdonia. We had a beautiful ,large and comfortable room with a sea view(a must in my opinion) The food was very tasty, plentiful and varied, breakfast was a real treat , relaxing as we looked out over the sea to the snow on the mountains. All the staff were very helpful and friendly,a special thank you to Anwen who made our stay even more pleasurable. We will certainly be returning and recommending it to our family and friends .

Room Tip: It is a must to have a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmagreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    249
    85
    55
    35
See reviews for
146
330
25
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southport pr9 9ef
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

In these days of fast food and nouvelle cuisine I was delighted to take my family for a traditional Sunday Lunch served well as Silver Service and the food was excellent with a view from the dining room looking across to Snowdon Mountain Range .
It was a good old fashioned lunch involving five courses and an attentive wine waiter at a price that my guests from London were astonished re the value .Well done the staff long may it continue
The answer to the value is you need to book but well worth the trouble

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nites very quirky and comfortable the hotel was very helpful and the food was amazing good portions and good variety of veg welsh lamb is a must will stay again as good location and brilliant hotel

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrenblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Beautiful location, lovely rooms, friendly staff,great local walks and nice pubs. A hotel that goes out of the way to make your stay special. It's an older hotel so the upkeep must be time consuming but the brass that is everywhere gleams,the flowers are fresh and the staff always seem to have a smile. A lovely long weekend that left us wanting to stay for longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Loved this hotel - it has a charm of its own. We had a lovely (huge) room overlooking the Straits, well furnished with everything we needed. None of the anonymity of a modern hotel chain, this hotel has history in abundance, but has enough mod-cons to make your visit comfortable and relaxed. Breakfast was superb and set us up well for the day

Room Tip: A room with a sea-view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sychdyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Have been visiting Anglesey for over 25 years and had many a light refreshment in the lounge but hankered to stay here for a change from our regular -the Bishopsgate hotel. A superb deal was offered so booked the 2 nights. First impressions of the room were fine we booked a king size with sea view. In addition to our bed there was a fully made up single! The furniture was very 60s not as vintage as I expected. Dinner was truly atrocious just like memories of school dinners- grey veg and all! We reminded ourselves it was a cheap stay and retired to our room. We soon realised that our kingsize bed was in fact two singles pushed together!! You could feel the mattress ridges and as the night went on they slowly separated !! No sleep there then! Needless to say I started looking for faults and soon found cobwebs at the windows and holes in the wall - only screw size but still ! What I had considered faded elegance soon made way for dirt which stood out as dried splashed food on the cream curtains in Hanson restaurant together with cobwebs at ceiling height and the most impressive landing with the huge portrait had peeling paint and wallpaper in addition even the plaque was faded-surely it is the history of this place that sells it!! Finally it didn't seem to matter morning or evening there were always cleaning trollies dirty meal trays etc on the corridors I do understand that I sound very negative but I'm sorry the hotel was nowhere near full so there was no reason for us to have a triple single bedded room - at the very least I would have expected to be told this was the case at check in to enable us to make a choice around upgrading if necessary !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Venables1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nether Alderley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel is full of old charm. There's a tired feel about it and definitely faded glory but the staff are helpful and courteous and try to ensure guests enjoy their stay. It is dog friendly too, which is a must for us. The breakfast was excellent, fresh and well cooked. The evening dinner was nice but I feel this hotel would be better to concentrate on wholesome basics rather than try to go 'fine dining'. Not quite there. Our room hd a lovely sea view (room 207) and was comfortable and spacious enough. There was a good deal of one night stay, one night free, providing you used the restaurant one of the evenings. There's a coffee shop with nice cakes, open 9-5, a function (with a gallery displaying during our stay), a function room, large lounge, bar area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
2.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
22.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulkeley Hotel

Property: The Bulkeley Hotel
Address: 19 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bulkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beaumaris
Beaumaris Best Western
The Bulkeley Hotel Beaumaris, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing