We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victoria Suite”
Review of The Bulkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bulkeley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Victoria Suite”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Somehow, as a solo, I ended up in THE QUEEN VICTORIA SUITE she had actually slept there. Now a Honeymoon Suite, with the most majestic views.

HOWEVER, as I pointed out upon leaving. IF this had been my Honeymoon Suite I would HAVE CAUSED a MAJOR FUSS. The settee/sofa was FILTHY.

One other thing the Queen might have liked would have been a little "make up " stool.

Tissues, (Binoculars, could be secured?)

Other than that, I had a very lovely time with very polite, courteous, helpful staff. EXCEPT..

Your Coffee Shop Staff (as you come in from the parking area). They are truly SULLEN.

Thank you for a lovely few days. Thank goodness I do not drink coffee!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your comments regarding the sofa in the room and I can assure you that it was taken straight out of the room and sent to be reupholstered. I am glad that this did not have a negative effect on your stay and that you were still able to enjoy it. We have made notes on your comments regarding our coffee shop. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    258
    87
    56
    36
See reviews for
151
340
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

On Saturday the 19th July we attended a wedding reception at the Bulkeley . From the moment we arrived the staff greeted everyone with politeness and a smile! No request no matter how small was dealt with quickly and without a fuss. Mr Philip Limberick and his team did an excellent job .The food was cooked to perfection , well done chef! A lovely venue in which to celebrate the most memorable events in your life. Well done all of the staff , a your standards of customer service did you proud.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We enjoy holding weddings at the hotel and its always nice to hear not only from the Bride and Groom but from their guests as well on how much they enjoyed the day. We hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a short stay here recent, can't praise the property or it's staff highly enough.

The hotel is a grand old building, with masses of character and charm.

On arrival outside, it is a very imposing building largely covered with ivy, car parking seemed limited but alternatives are available close by.

The staff simply can't do enough for you. They greet you in passing which is always welcoming, and seem to take pride in their work. On chatting to them, many have been employed at the property for some time, so they know their guests and how best to look after them.

On checking in we were greeted cheerfully by staff who remembered us from a previous visit. We were offered assistance with our luggage and when we arrived in our rooms we were delighted. Lovely big four poster beds, decorated and maintained to a very high order. Crisp white bedding and very comfortable beds. Bathrooms modern yet traditional in keeping with the age and atmosphere of the property. My parents suite had both a deep roll top bath and shower. I had a drench shower over the bath. Both bathrooms sparkling clean and quality toiletries were provided in both. Large bath 'sheets' were provided in addition to smaller towels.

The views from the rooms have to be simply unsurpassed in the entire of North Wales. Walking up to them is really something else. The weather was kind to us (mostly!) and we were able to enjoy the glorious views across to Puffin Island and back up the Menai Straits.

The wildlife and particularly seagulls do like to make their presence known, foam ear plugs would be essential if you are a light sleeper as they are noisy even at night, and like us, you may want to have the windows open while you sleep.

Dinner in the restaurant was a delight. Local Welsh produce is proudly served. Good to see some of the older hotel traditions remain here, such as a dedicated wine waiter and maître d'. Similarly, vegetable accompaniments are offered silver service, and I might add, cooked to perfection - not the current fashionable trend of them being rock hard, or cooked and then kept warm resulting in them tasting overcooked and soggy.

The medallion of welsh beef and black pudding tower was a particular triumph, and we liked the fact that accompanying sauces were served in small jugs to allow the diner to add the amount preferred. The sweet trolley wheeled to the table is something from a bygone age and a very nice touch. You will be spoiled for choice, but all the puddings we selected were absolutely divine.

The maître d is a gentleman named Phil, who advised that he has been employed at the property for quite a few years now and he took great care and reverence attending to all diners. He runs an efficient dining room and his considerable experience at the property means that he too, knows his customers, interjecting with informal chats when appropriate.

Breakfast was informally served from a buffet but kept really piping hot and - glory of glories - a hotel toaster that actually works first time! The thick slices of bacon, and the sausages were delicious, and we presume in keeping with the theme at dinner, locally sourced. Additionally the usual juices, fruit, cereal, etc, are available, enabling you to enjoy the kind of hearty breakfast that makes lunch unnecessary. Tea and coffee are served by the staff to your table. We noticed porridge was prepared to order and served to other diners.

The bar area is quite small, but the lounge areas with it's large leather sofas are much more inviting, particularly after dinner. It was just a pity that the lighting was so bright. Some subdued lighting and candles would be a lovely touch here when relaxing with a liqueur after dinner.

I understand from speaking with staff in the coffee shop that work is taking place on an ongoing basis to refresh older rooms and parts of the hotel, so future plans for the property sound interesting.

We had such a pleasant stay that we considered extending our visit by a further evening, although availability seemed doubtful given how busy the hotel was.

If you like clinical perfection, this may not be the place for you, but if, on the other hand, you enjoy beautiful old buildings with character and the occasional squeaky floorboard, with a warm and friendly staff you definitely won't be disappointed.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank JJK150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always nice to hear when we have delivered excellent customer service. We strive to provide the best service we can and appreciate feedback that reflects our employee’s hard work. Thank you for highlighting Phil its always great to hear when people are doing well.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed for two nights recently. The price for rooms and breakfast was only slightly more than a B&B would charge. Full Welsh breakfast is available in the morning buffet style. I thought all the hot food was just about as good as if it were made to order. The staff were all friendly and seemed to really enjoy what they do. The room was very clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy to hear that staff are doing well. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed at the Bulkeley 27th to 30th June in a family room with our adult daughter. She had a room connected to ours by a corrider and both rooms had a beautiful sea view. We have stayed here before and both times have found the staff very friendly and helpful. Reception staff cannot do enough to help. Breakfasts are very good. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenOx4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always nice to hear when we have delivered excellent customer service. We strive to provide the best service we can and appreciate feedback that reflects our employee’s hard work. We look forward to welcoming you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed in on of their bridal suites and wow what a lovely room with amazing views! The room was bright fresh and clean and the bathroom was spotless and had a lovely bath and shower.

The staff are extremely friendly and the food is great...what more can be said!

Room Tip: The bridal suite on the 1st floor is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Appletc88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also happy to hear that staff are doing well. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Glad we came here for lunch was looking for somewhere we could bring the dog and not have to sit outside this hotel was perfect, not pretentious in anyway. Staff were friendly and helpful. Had a choice of sandwiches or jacket potato we had the potatoes nice fillings with a crisp salad. Sat in the lounge area on the comfy chairs- really nice will come here again for an evening meal next time. Really enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemima L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bulkeley_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Bulkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will use us again shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
315 reviews
22.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bulkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bulkeley Hotel

Property: The Bulkeley Hotel
Address: 19 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8AW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bulkeley Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bulkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beaumaris
Beaumaris Best Western
The Bulkeley Hotel Beaumaris, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing