We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Comfortable hotel and friendly,pleasant staff. Just wish that the food was as good at home!
Nice to have a comfortable lounge suitable for a quiet read.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    128
    42
    15
    5
See reviews for
91
293
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amersham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

Made a last minute booking after other accomodation fell through. From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, we couldn't have been treated better. Beautiful rooms (especially the 'superior'), very friendly staff, lovely breakfast. Would also recommend the restaurant. Very high quality food and not too expensive. We ended up eating here two nights out of three. Fully recommended!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gavinames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We returned to the Bishopsgate Hotel and again enjoyed the experience.

It's comfortable and unpretentious here - a sort of homely and 'lived in' ambience. It's not particularly smart, nor is it by any means shabby. There's a warm welcome and a genuine feel for hospitality.


Unfortunately we could only stay for one night - they really want you to stay for two at the weekends - so the room we were allocated was at the top of the stairs and much smaller than the one we stayed in last time. Nevertheless it was comfortable and
we had a good night's sleep. The bathroom was looking its age - and from a safey point of view grab handles to use the over bath shower would be helpful.

We had an excellent meal in the restaurant - the crab and smoked slamon starter was very good and the half roast duck memorable for all the right reasons. Very good wine list (based on Tanners) with some very palatable wines at affordable prices. (There are also some very classy wines on the list if you want to push the boat out.). First class breakfast the next morning, served courteously and promptly.

Bill for pre dinner drinks, two course dinner + bottle of wine was c£60 + B&B was £95.

The car park is a bit tight especially for large cars.


We will look forward to a another return visit when next in the area.

Warmly recommneded.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a deluxe room if availabel- not a lot more and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peridor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Easily the nicest hotel in Beaumaris.

Large room with a very comfortable bed and beautiful breakfast.

Would love to return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank WSJREVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was our first stay at Bishopsgate House Hotel, prompted by the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We were certainly not disappointed, as our experience more than bore out the overwhelmingly positive nature of the comments. A cheerful welcome on arrival, a large, comfortable atmospheric Georgian room with lots of space to spread out and relax, absolutely first class restaurant and splendid breakfasts; relaxed and friendly service; what more could anyone ask? The owners make a point of making every guest feel special. Sounds like a cliche but isn't at this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble. We are reluctant to leave this review in a way, maybe because it will tempt others to try the Bishopsgate; we want it to be our secret pleasure!

LInda and Tony

Room Tip: First floor rooms are quite large and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We have eaten at The Bishopsgate house on many occasions over the years. The food is always first class. The menu choice is varied and caters for all tastes. The food quality is outstanding. All food is freshly bought and perfectly cooked. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The owners are two of the nicest people you could meet, and this enhances the eating experience. All this and the food is very reasonably priced. The early bird menu between 6pm and 7pm is amazing value. To cap it all they also do non resident breakfasts. This restaurant is a must visit for anyone coming to Anglesey. You will not be disappointed.
Highly recommended.
Peter M Grant

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterMarkGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Went here for a family Sunday roast. Was much better than expected, good portion of meat, but could do with a few more potatoes. Veg was very good. Only criticism would be the drinks selection, if you order lemonade it's from a big plastic bottle, and fairly flat, and same if you have cider. House wine on the other hand is pretty good and reasonable. Also, they did have a cat in the bar, although I don't mind pets, it could be off putting for some customers.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing