We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is beautiful and all the staff were very welcoming, polite and professional and nothing was too much trouble. I have never seen so many toiletries in the bathroom although they looked too good to use!! Unlike most hotels lots of tea bags and coffee were also provided with still and sparkling water. Breakfast was great with perfectly poached eggs and lots of choice - didn't need to eat again until the evening! I can't wait to come back and stay again!!
Well done a fabulous hotel and I highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

When we arrived we were greeted by a Darren who was very welcoming. Throughout our stay the staff were polite, welcoming, accommodating and fundamentally professional. The room was clean and warm.
The hotel was accommodating also with dietary needs (gluten intolerance.) The breakfast was lovely and plentiful. Hazel the hotelier was personable and very hands on.

Darren & Andrew x.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I had my 40th birthday party here 3 years ago and it was one of the best nights of my life... I visit the restaurant on many occasions and I am never disappointed, the food is fabulous the staff are great. Sunday lunch is THE BEST on the island ...a must try.... thank you to Hazel and staff for making Bishopsgate the best place on Anglesey for good food and a fab place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Me and my two lady friends enjoyed a lovely stay at Bishops gate, The rooms were lovely and our breakfasts were perfect. Very hospitable host and lovely staff. We had a lovely time, very enjoyable! We enjoyed lovely chilled out times at the hotel, food and refreshments were lovely, overall a very enjoyable stay. The staff were all very lovely and polite. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are tall, try not to go for one of the lovely cosy attic rooms as the door frames and window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I took my husband here for 2 nights as a birthday treat...we live in Llandudno and I did not want to travel far.The hotel is in a great location,in the main street of Beaumaris,so close to the shops,cafes and restaurants.It is only a minute from the sea where you have beautiful views across the straits to the mountains.We both enjoyed our stay...the hotel was better than I anticipated and we were made very welcome.The food was tasty with a good choice from both the set menu and the a la carte.Breakfast was all you could wish for,well cooked,hot and again a good variety of dishes.The staff are friendly and helpful and work very hard to make the guests welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoseMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Firstly the hotel, its nice but a bit tired in places, the bedroom could do with a lick of paint and the broken glass replacing, the bathroom could also do with a bit of a face lift. downstairs is cosy but also a bit tired, did not like the fake books in the dinning room, better to but old second hand books instead. Location is good for seeing the sights of Beaumaris and also for getting about Anglesey. The staff are very nice and helpful especially Hazel the owner, always willing to advise on places to go and see, breakfast was very good with an amazing choice, evening meal was also very good my wife raved over the hake in thai sauce thought it was fantastic. Bar prices are a bit more expensive than the local pubs but not by to much. Overall had a nice time and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

One of those reviews where you begin to wonder if you have stayed in the same hotel as some other reviewers. However, dig a little deeper and you find your thoughts confirmed.
Small room; finials missing from bed frame; hotel folder scrappy; would have taken all day to dry hair with hairdryer.Wi-Fi did not work during whole stay; wash basin cracked;bath panel stained; toilet roll holder missing; bottom of shower screen caked with dirt; tired bathroom set; small towels.
During our stay another guest entered the room with key!
Much has been made of the quality of the food. Dinner - Starters fine. Main Courses - Duck tough and chewy. Vegetable tart ok but 11.95 for 4 inch tart and nothing else! Sweets ok.
Very glad we went out for dinner on the next night.
Breakfast v. good. Coffee poor and why can it not be brought and left on table? One pot of marmalade ( half used) - no spoon.
Staff try very hard and are pleasant. I did express my thoughts about the room but was told that some people request the room especially. Can't imagine why - what on earth are they used to.
We expect value for money whether we stay at 5* or 3* hotels. Unfortunately this was overpriced and underwhelming.
If this is Number 1 in Beaumaris we despair of the rest. A great disappointment. Looks as though we shall be taking a cottage next time we visit Anglesey.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank profectus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,074 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
769 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
4.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range: £84 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing