We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip xx”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Return trip xx”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Returning to Bishopsgate...a lovely hotel in the heart of Beaumaris. Please don't be influenced by the last review....we have been unable to book for weeks as they have been full. This speaks volumes. Cannot wait!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robthereduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    127
    42
    15
    5
See reviews for
91
292
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a business trip to Caernarfon - some 12 miles away. Whilst the staff were very helpful and friendly and most hospitable, I found the hotel to be a let down . In fact I left a day early having found another hotel. We were booked into a double deluxe room - as there were no other rooms available and this was on the front of the hotel- overlooking the main road.
After three days I moved into a single room as my partner had to travel home.
The single room was not clean- the carpet was dirty and the quilt on the bed was filthy. The room was overlooking the back of the kitchen and the smells of cooking, unfortunately, filled the room in the evening. The hot water trickles out the shower head - it is an electric shower and not at all efficient.
All in all, whilst Beaumaris is a lovely village, I would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Singingharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HazelJohnson-Ollier, Owner at Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
I was most surprised to read your comments, why didn't you mention that you actually booked to stay at the hotel for 3 nights, then chose to stay for longer having decided as you told me you loved the hotel and didn't want to stay in the hotel you had already booked in caernarfon as it was full of Harpists on your course. We only had the tiny single room available which you were aware of, you disliked the hotel so much you chose to eat with us every evening, twice with your partner and twice alone....................doesn't quite make sense. I can only think the tiny room wasn't to you liking. Most sorry you wouldn't choose to stay at the hotel again we were all convinced you 'loved' the place as you had told us. all a bit confusing. Good luck with the Harp and your own business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at Bishopsgate for Easter,which we have not done before.The hotel was as excellent as usual.Have stayed there many times.ALL STAFF are polite & friendly.

A nice suprise from Hazel were the Easter eggs that were in the bedrooms & the chocolate bunnies that were on the tables in the restaurant during the holiday.

Hopefully we will be booking for Easter next year!.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My family enjoyed an lovely Easter weekend at the Bishopsgate Hotel. The staff are really friendly and go out of their way to be helpful; they offered to cook anything for my niece for dinner and were lovely at offering her many choices at breakfast. Hazel is lovely. I didn't get all the staff's names but they are all really welcoming and put you at ease. The rooms are well appointed and there is enough room in there for dog crates. The food is absolutely delicious; my pork belly starter was gorgeous and so was the creme brulee. We'd definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to our family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubyroo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. All of the staff, particularly Hazel, were extremely helpful and made sure that we had the best possible reception. We stayed in the top of the hotel in a very spacious and clean room. Both of us loved the room and the staircase which led upstairs.

The food was 5 star, both for the breakfasts and evening meals there was plenty of variety to suit all tastes and the quality of the food was excellent, a definite must if you are thinking about staying at the hotel, or in the area!

Also worth a visit is the Tavern by the Bay, just 15 minutes or so up the road. Excellent and very reasonably priced food in an amazing setting overlooking the sea.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenTC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Decided to eat here last night after reading reviews on here. Did not get a particularly warm welcome but decided to stick with it. The lady that served us a drink and took our order in the bar had an attitude problem not sure why. The young lad in restaurant was fine at first but as night wore on we were totally ignored having to ask 3 times for bill and then had to wait nearly half an hour for them to bring card machine having to ask again and again and the restaurant was nearly empty by this time. The lady in charge looked right through us when we left ignoring us when we walked past. They were RUDE. The food was ok average. I had a steak which was overcooked my husband had hake which was good.
You want a good restaurant go to Harrys bistro which we went to night before and was fantastic

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank mistyflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at Bishopsgate Hotel on a package deal to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary. Although the hotel looks a little tired from outside, when we checked in, we were made very welcome. After providing necessary details, we were shown to our room on the first floor. There was a four-poster bed. The room had a sea view. The bathroom was clean and tidy. Although the hotel is situated on the main street of Beaumaris, we were not troubled by outside noise.
We had dinner on both nights at the hotel. Although the menu was slightly limited, the standard of food was excellent. Only one problem - it would help to have steak knives for the steak. Perhaps I have been spoilt elsewhere! The bar had a good range of drinks and the wine list was extensive. Breakfast on both days was plentiful. It was quite a change to have table service instead of the more usual buffet.
The bed was reasonably comfortable. It would have helped if the pillows were a bit more plump. Mine were rather thin and solid. My husband did not find them any problem.
We were advised not to touch the resident dog as it has a tendency to nip. However we were told that the cat was very friendly. But apparently as the cat is elderly she does not come into the hotel any more.
After checking out, we found the sea-gulls had 'sabotaged' the car! It required the power wash when we arrived home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tignabruaich30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing