We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is our favourite place to eat in Beaumaris. Booked a table on impulse - had a lovely meal - same high standard as ever! you can always be sure of enjoying a good meal in a nice cosy atmosphere!We will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GJ1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
There are newer reviews for Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hazel and the team catered for my 60th birthday party which was arranged by my wife Linda. the food was superb, tablecloths were provided and everything arrived exactly as planned. A wonderful evening was enhanced by a splendid meal. Linda and I cannot praise Hazel enough. THANK YOU SO MUCH.
We chose the food from an extensive menu and it arrived and was expertly arranged on heated serving dishes. We served it piping hot and the following day the team arrived ad collected all the equipment.
We cannot recommend then highly enough ad will be booking them again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gordon25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in May 2014. The room was large with plenty of places to put things, the twin beds had been pushed together which was nice. We ate in the restaurant each night and the food was excellent. My only complaint was that the vegetables (which were beautifully cooked) were the same each night. The breakfasts were good - except that I don't know why hotels can't provide a decent local butchers sausage instead of the insipid things they buy frozen which taste as though they've been made with the sweepings off the floor! However, the fish was beautifully cooked and the porridge wonderful. However, there was no buffet table to help yourself to cereal and juice, it all had to be ordered from the waitress which meant that breakfast took much longer than normal and we like to mix up cereals and fruit. However, they did come up with bowls of fruit to have with the cereal.

The standard of service for doing the rooms was variable. On one day they seemed very short of staff and we had to request clean towels after as with most hotels if you put them in the bath it indicates you want clean ones and these were just put back on the rail, which I thought was rather poor. The teapot hadn't been emptied and the plastic glasses hadn't been replaced. However, I'm probably just being fussy, generally it was very nice and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: If you want a twin rather than a double, ask for room 10, it doesn't have a view but has plenty...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ladypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely room with a four poster bed. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was a let down...lots of dirt in corner behind door. Tiles around bath had black grouting. Toilet brush holder was badly tarnished. Just little things that could be so easily remedied. Breakfast was ok, would have preferred to be able to help myself to coffee refills rather than wait for someone to come into the dining room. No white sugar on table for tea! Jar of marmalade on table , no jam. Only ate once in the restaurant in the evening...good but overpriced ...portions not large. Probably wouldn't stay here again unless the price was reduced as there are better bed and breakfasts on the island.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank dusty2poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a really nice place to stay, so clean and the food is excellent. We stayed in room 1, be careful if you're elderly as this is top floor and lots of steps up to there.
Room was lovely and as said very clean. Nice finishing touches even a decanter of sherry! Bathroom was massive.
We used the Amazon voucher so had the three course evening meal, food was excellent. Try the soup it's really good, had the beef also very good then followed up with cheese and buiscits. Can not fault the food.
Dominique is the jewl in the crown of the Bishopsgate. She makes the place so very special.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: If elderly ask for room location
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

When you are almost a neighbour,at least living near enough to go shopping in the local Waitrose, you tend not to frequent local hotels,leaving them to their prime purpose, serving the tourist.Being my birthday, I was taken by friends to the Bishopsgate for Sunday lunch. Right in the centre of Beaumaris, the hotel is a pleasantly restored period building, tastefully decorated and furnished in a Regency Club style with delicate greens and pale highlighted creams/beige and very comfortable green buttoned leather chairs. The bar and dining room continue the club style comfort.
The Sunday menu offered Lamb, Salmon, Chicken and a vegetarian option.I had the salmon mousse starter which was excellent. The salmon fillet with various vegetables was absolutely superb. For sweet the creme brulee was good, the sugar warm and the creme contrastingly cool. Washed down with a Sauvignon blanc I was more than satisfied.
Service from the waiter/barman/receptionist Dan, was efficient and slick and very attentive, Hazel, the owner, was around to check that all was as it should be. It was and more.
All in all a very happy birthday treat. AA two stars with 5 star service. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islander2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have just returned from a 2 day stay at Bishopsgate House Hotel and cannot praise it highly enough. I was accompanied by 2 friends, along with their small dogs, we were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. We were greeted by Hazel, the owner, who gave each of us a choice of the 3 rooms she'd allocated for us, the attic room being the smallest. All rooms were lovely, comfortable, & warm.
The location of the hotel is perfect, being on the main street of Beaumaris, a 2 minute walk to the sea front & pier. On the second day, we decided to explore the island, Hazel sent us off with a map, a guide to local walks & told us of local places of interest..The 'full house' breakfast, copious amounts of tea & toast, set us up for our 'adventure'.
We booked for dinner in the hotel restaurant, agreeing that just a main course would suffice..that is, until we saw the menu..wow..crab salad, welsh lamb, sherry trifle, it is then..! Lovely surroundings, nice ambiance in the place, staff courteous, attentive, but not intrusive. We wished that we'd booked it on our first night too.
Pre-dinner drinks in the cosy bar, then liqueurs in the lounge after the meal. Once again, the staff were attentive & courteous, but not intrusive, nothing was too much trouble.
All in all, we've had a fantastic 2 days in Beaumaris, further enhanced by our experience of Bishopsgate House & their staff. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BevS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
741 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,023 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Castle Court Guest House
Castle Court Guest House
#3 of 4 in Beaumaris
103 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
327 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range: £90 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing