We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beaumaris”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beaumaris”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Visited wales last summer for a couple of days and decided to stay in the bishopsgate hotel beaumaris. What an excellent hotel where you can dine in a beautiful restaurant or just sit and chatter in the very cozy bar. either way you wont be disappointed and the breakfast was to die for excellent choice of local produce. The rooms were very quaint and comfortable, you can smell the sea its so close. The hotel owners were excellent hosts and made our short stay a memorable one. Beaumaris itself has many fine pubs and restaurants on offer from fine dining to the favorite fish and chips. It is a treat to wander the town enjoying local history, art (very good local art shop on the high street) and welsh hospitality wherever you decide to stay. My overall view was that I would visit this hotel again as an excellent base to explore the beautiful welsh coast.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watchstrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    131
    42
    15
    6
See reviews for
91
296
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We decided to have a weekend in Beaumaris to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. What a great choice we made! Hazel and her staff made us welcome from the moment we walked in, and through our two night stay, nothing was too much trouble. We were offered a choice of de-luxe rooms and chose room 9 for its cheerful delft(?) decor, spaciousness and view of the sea between the buildings opposite. The bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom roomy and more than adequate, with a copious supply of immaculately laundered linen and bath robes. Everything was spotlessly clean, and the overall impression was of a building with a "patina". Service was not "slick", but always willing and friendly.
All in all, we had a totally relaxing and enjoyable weekend, and will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RojWhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We found everthing just fine,Food ,service and staff we second to none.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave186233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We did not stay in the hotel but ate twice in their restaurant. On both occasions we had attentive service and were served high quality food for all courses. At the end of the evening the bill was less than I would have expected for the quality of food we received.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandO11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

The single room I had was a disappointment.
The room was very small, and I had a very poor nights sleep.
The curtain on the window stopped a few inches short of the bottom of the glass and when the sun started to shine in at 5 am the room became hot and despite 15 minutes of struggle the window was firmly painted shut.

Be aware, the breakfast is run on a menu basis where the guest needs to ask for all drinks and food.

However, friendly staff and very clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

After a long winter a 2 night break at this hotel was just what we neded to recharge our batteries. From the moment we arrived all the staff were so pleasant and helpful. The dinner was first class as were the breakfasts. Our room was large, comfy and warm with all that we needed.Polly the cat was always there to greet us with a purr! It was good value for money. Beaumaris is a friendly well looked after town with views to die for, always changing. A visit to Bodnant gardens and Penrhyn Castle are recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pierpoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

I spent 2 nights at this hotel with my sister and her husband when we had to travel from southern England to attend a funeral in Bangor. My single room was immediately upgraded on arrival to a comfortable and spacious double room at no extra cost. The others also had an excellent room - this time with a view of the Menai Strait. Although the rooms were facing the road the noise levels were acceptable due to the presence of secondary glazing. Some of the fittings in the rooms were a little dated but we had brand new, small flat screen TVs.

For the entire stay the staff were very friendly, helpful & efficient. On both evenings we ate in the hotel restaurant, choosing the fixed price menu which was high quality and great value. The a la carte menu looked tempting but was perhaps a little pricey.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone wanting a friendly and comfortable place to stay in Anglesey. The food is excellent too.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratclin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
707 reviews
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
315 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
14.7 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
21.9 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: 54 Castle Street, Beaumaris LL58 8BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishopsgate House is a small Georgian town house hotel built in 1755 with a Rosette awarded restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsgate House Hotel And Restaurant
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant Beaumaris, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing