We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome, comfortable rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Court Guest House
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome, comfortable rooms.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel in May after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and the rooms were clean and comfortable, although my 86-year-old mother-in-law did have a lot of steep stairs to reach hers. It's conveniently located for the pier (and trips to Puffin Island) and the town and castle.The breakfast was a highlight, well-cooked and served with HOT toast AT THE SAME TIME (other B&Bs take note!) I would have given it five stars except for two minuses: one, the water temperature on the shower was impossible to regulate causing it to fluctuate between cold and scalding hot so you had to dodge in and out while it was momentarily between these two extremes, and two, the choice of newspapers was between The Sun and The Daily Mail! Get the shower sorted out and I'd definitely stay again - the newspapers were a minor gripe :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    30
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penybontfawr
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As a fairly frequent visitor to guesthouses and B and B's, with my work, I am able to compare Castle Court very favourably with many others I have stayed in.

Was welcomed and treated brilliantly over the May Bank Holiday week-end (which also happened to be my 60th birthday). by Katherine, Guy and their friendly staff.

Single bedroom had view of the sea, wifi and tele and ensuite. Hard to leave it to go to work.

Downstairs breakfast room and lounge were both beautifully 'done up' and breakfasts were excellent.

Managed to squeeze in one coffee and cake and can recommend these wholeheartedly.

Didn't use the bar, but on passing through was aware of a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere.

The back yard/garden is a great facility and will be amazing when the plants are established.

Parking is not a problem, as another review points out and there is plenty of choice for evening meals The Pier House is renowned. The Neptune Bistro above the fish and chip shop is the 'hidden gem', serving a range of fish and other dishes which were of a high standard. The waiting staff were delightful and I would suggest a visit there and to the Pier House during any stay.

All in all, I would recommend a stay here and am sure that, as it gets known, it will be full to the gunnels, so book early!

Oh and I am not related in any way to the place or the people, in case this review seems overly positive. I just enjoyed myself totally. Thank you all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

My wife and i stayed at the Castle Court Guest House in Beaumaris early in May 2014. We were looking for a last minute weekend break in Anglesey and booked the Castle Court following a recommendation from another hotel owner, when every other hotel we could find in Beaumaris was fully booked. It was really handy that the hotel takes bookings directly on its website as my booking was for a last minute stay and i was ringing round early in the morning when many of the smaller hotels didn't have staff on to check availability.

We got a lovely friendly welcome from the new owners, who had only reopened the hotel 2 weeks earlier. On arrival, we were upgraded to a room on the top floor which was a lovely surprise. The hotel is located right next to the castle and from our corner room, we had views over the castle and hills to one side and a view through to the Menai straits from the other. The room was newly decorated and well appointed with a shower, really comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom products. The square in front of the hotel is used for a small Sunday market and it was great watching the stall holders setting up and being on the top floor, it was also nice and quiet.

The hotel bar was friendly and had a welcoming atmosphere with it's wood burning stove and we were soon enjoying a nice pint and a glass of wine and relaxing into holiday mode. During our stay, there wasn't an evening menu at the hotel, but the owners recommended the Pier House bistro just round the corner where the owner went out of his way to accommodate us and provided a lovely meal.

We loved the contemporary feel of the breakfast room and the cooked breakfast was freshly made and excellent (compliments to the chef). See photo uploaded :)

There's also a lovely contemporary reception room with big bucket seats where tea and coffee is served.

Throughout our stay, the service was absolutely top notch and i later discovered whilst talking to the new owners that they both have experience working in environments where excellent service comes as standard - and it really shows.

Although the hotel doesn't have it's own car park, there is space to pull over while unloading and there is a massive public car park less than 100 feet away.

My advice - I'd heartily recommend the Castle Court Guest House to anybody staying in Beaumaris.

Room Tip: top floor corner room has great views over the castle and you can see the Menai Straits
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VimtoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK and Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The owners were very accommodating and, in particular, gave very good advice concerning routes for early morning jogging. The subsequent breakfast was perfect after the hunger that had been worked up after the run. The room (single - No3.) was very cosy and quiet. Owing to the warm weather, I had the window open and the only sound I heard all night was the occasional squawk from the gulls in the distance. The locals were also very friendly in the bar, if you prefer a drink in the evening, and the owners very kindly put me in touch with other residents with whom I had things in common, which was very thoughtful.
Overall, a very pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOgger001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked a weekend stay for my parents as a birthday treat and they were very pleased. Lovely welcoming hosts and attention to detail was evident throughout. Open fire was very welcoming on a cool evening. Ideally situated in Beaumaris with easy parking on the Green which is only a short walk away. Lots of places to eat out to suit varying budgets.
Best wishes to the Castle Court for the future x

Room Tip: contact the owners directly if you are unsure of which room would suit your requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChapelCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This guest house was perfectly located in beautiful Beaumaris. The owners were so welcoming, food was great and the place has a really warm feel to it. Rooms were very reasonably priced, comfortable and all we wanted. Excellent all round. We have already booked our next trip!

Room Tip: It's pleasant if you can get a view over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumaris
0.2 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
676 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
296 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
341 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Court Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Court Guest House

Property: Castle Court Guest House
Address: Castle Square, Beaumaris LL58 8DA, Wales (Formerly White Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Beaumaris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Beaumaris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously the White Lion Hotel, we are under new ownership and still maintain 10 en suite rooms with showers. We have renovated the breakfast room and now have a cosy lounge where you can enjoy some of our premium teas and coffees. We have a licensed bar, outdoor seating in the town square and a sunny private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Court Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Court Guest House Beaumaris, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing