We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Hello and welcome to Hen Gamdda Fawr
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hello and welcome to Hen Gamdda Fawr
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Hello and welcome to Hen Gamdda Fawr
Celebrate in style!
Downstairs bath and shower room
At the top of the stairs, left door is the second bedroom and right door is en-suite for Master.
Our outside area goes as far as the wall, close to the loungers
Hen Gamdda Fawr floor plan
Spectacular South Stack!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Benllech, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
egg58
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this farm cottage for 4 nights late Sept. The house is terrific, old but with great charm and comfort. The downstairs bathroom has a old style claw foot tube perfect for long warming soaks after a day of hiking. The upstairs bedrooms are comfortable and cozy.
The nearby beaches offer excellent walks and the markets in town are close by and stock every need.
A local hunt met on Sat morning during our stay so we got to see them meet and ride out.
This was a spur of the moment decision for us and it was one of our best holiday lets ever

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thank you for your great review. You were our first trans-Atlantic guests! We're so pleased you had a great stay at Hen Gamdda Fawr and enjoyed the delights of Anglesey. Please feel free to tell your friends and family about us if they feel like a trip over at any point :) Thank you again for chosing to stay with us. Best wishes Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asvwaterh...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Hen Gamdda Fawr. The house is so pretty, welcoming and well kitted out. There was everything we needed for our stay for us, our 2 year old and 3 month old.

The lounge was comfy and cosy. We'd love to return in winter to test out the wood burner. The master bedroom is huge light and airy, with enough space for two cots. It also has blackout blinds which you don't often get in holiday homes. There's an upstairs en suite which is handy and has great views.

We had great weather during our stay which meant we could eat out on the decking every evening, with views of the sea. It was so lovely and peaceful.

The house is only a short drive from beautiful sandy beaches and there is so much to do in the area so we never got bored.

There're friendly horses in the field next door and a pub over the road which we will try next time we stay!

All in all a delightful stay and we will return!

Thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Thank you for your great review ASV. I am so pleased you had a wonderful holiday at Hen Gamdda Fawr, that the cottage suited your young family and that you would like to return. You'd be more than welcome! Thank you again. Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Cottage in a quiet location but near enough to everything you need”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic week long family holiday on the Isle of Anglesey in Aug 2016, the accommodation is finished and furnished to a very high standard, well above your 'run of the mill' rental accommodation, everything from the quality of the kitchen utensils, wine glasses, TV, surround sound system, etc. etc are first rate, those small touches which make all the difference. Ideal for a family of four but capable of sleeping six via the sofa bed in the lounge.
Located great for Benllech (fantastic long blue flagged sand beach, pubs, restaurants, shops) and Molefre (picturesque small harbour bay with rock outcrops, RNLI Station and the best Chip Shop in Wales - Coastal Cafe). Our kids are already asking when can we go back so it looks like next years holiday is already sorted. Great communication with the owner prior to our visit. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location and quality of the cottage and its fit out
Liked least: Double bed mattress was too soft for me (personal taste)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you Jonathan and Lucy for your great review. I am so pleased that you had a fantastic holiday and that you and your family have really enjoyed all aspects of the cottage along with the surrounding area. You would be most welcome to come back next year. Thank you again Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our second visit to this lovely cottage was just as enjoyable”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, children (aged 7 and 6) and I returned to stay at this fantastic cottage once again. We enjoyed more cosy fires and comfortable accommodation. The cottage has been a brilliant base.
We had a fabulous meal at St David's caravan park Tavern which is a gorgeous setting with an outdoor playground. We saw the lifeboat launch and return at Moelfre. We sea kayaked at Traeth Bychan and played rounders on Benllech beach. Family sports evening is on Tuesday or Thursday at 7.30pm in the summer - lots of fun activities on Benllech beach.
This cottage is ideal for us and our two children and we look forward to coming again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank you Pete S for your lovely review. I am so pleased that you had another fantastic holiday with us again at Hen Gamdda Fawr and that you and your family have really enjoyed the cottage along with the surrounding area. There is still plenty more to see and do so you would be more than welcome to return. Thank you Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn G
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived on a very wet foggy Sunday evening but the cottage was very welcoming. Everything was top condition and stylishly presented. It was lovely and quirky and only my husband managed to bang his head on the low doorway!! The furnishings were of good quality and there was everything you could possibly need (including wi fi for our 20 year old daughter who would have had withdrawal symptoms without it!) It was a lovely surprise the next morning when the weather had improved to realise that we could see the sea from the kitchen window.
It was lovely in an evening to go for a walk on the nearby beach and pretty much have it all to ourselves. The cottage is within easy reach of many places including South Stack, Beaumaris and the RSPB reserve at Conway.
Everything about this cottage was really good - right down to the friendly horses in the field outside and I would happily recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole thing
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review Lyn G. We are pleased you had a lovely holiday and you enjoyed the features, ambiance and location of Hen Gamdda Fawr cottage. Thank you for recommending a stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW - Excellent Cottage with Everything you Could Want and Great Location!”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After looking at the pictures on the web which we both really liked it was time to see the place for real...we were not disappointed!!!
What a lovely, cosy cottage with all the home comforts...
Great location and only a 10 minute walk from the main road (A5025) and the bus stops....we arrived by car but used public transport to get around as were walking the Anglesey Coastal Path.
The cottage is off the road and has views of the sea in between the two neighbouring properties, it is a really quiet location and if your lucky the two horses in the field next to the cottage always welcome new visitors!
We plan on coming back later this year!
Now that's a pat on the back to Helen the owner!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage had everything we wanted and was lovely and cosy with off road parking.
Liked least: It rained one day......but that;s nature!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you for a great review. We are so pleased you had a great holiday and look forward to welcoming you back later this year :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D W
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed in this lovely house, very clean, equipped with many extras and very well presented. Just a short drive to the beach, shops and great restaurants yet being in a private and quiet location with a sea view through the trees from the property. The welcome goodies were a lovely touch. The owner was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. A peaceful haven was what we needed and we certainly found it at Hen Gamdda Fawr also in an ideal location to explore the beauty of Anglesey with it's breathtaking views especially from the coastal paths. We look forward to coming back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your great review. We are really pleased that you had a lovely time staying at Hen Gamdda Fawr and we would certainly welcome you back in the future. Thank you again Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing