We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BRILLIANT FOR A RELAXING BREAK AND FRIENDLY LOCALS”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ty Newydd Cottage,

Front of cottage, facing the mountains and country side.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage, facing the mountains and country side.
Living room, with open fire, open to dining room. Double bedroom, with en-suite bathroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Front of cottage, facing the mountains and country side.
Living room, with open fire, open to dining room.
Double bedroom, with en-suite bathroom.
Entrance door to cottage, with seating for smokers.
View of garden from the living room window.
Seating area and patio also BBQ.
Fully fitted kitchen with dishwasher etc.,
Dining room with panoramic views of the Snowdonia Mountain range.
Downstairs shower room.
view of living room from the dining room.
Kitchen.
Open staircase in living room.
Twin bedroom, with vaulted ceiling.
Double bedroom, with vaulted ceiling.
Twin bedroom with skylight.
View of cottage from the front field.
Menai Straits and Snowdonia, minutes from cottage by car.
Living room looking into dining room.
Elephant ornaments either side of open fire.
BBQ and seating area.
Chaise longue in dinning room.
Entrance hall.
Living room with open staircase.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Brynsiencyn, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ken C
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“BRILLIANT FOR A RELAXING BREAK AND FRIENDLY LOCALS”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Great for a relaxing break and plenty of things to do
Anglesey is a lovely island to explore and the cottage is in an ideal spot to enable you to do this
Very comfortable for four of us and two dogs with a big garden for the dogs to run around in
Nearby Newburgh beach is a must see, especially if you have dogs or children
Their are parts of the beach where dogs are not allowed and that gives everyone an opportunity to enjoy the area, and a superb forest behind with plenty of mapped walks for people of all ages, either walking or cycling
The owner and her husband we were helpful and unobtrusive
If you needed anything they woud be there, but if not they would simply allow you to enjoy your time at the cottgae
The little patio area in the garden was our favourite spot and with the great weather we had the holiday was thoroughly enjoyed by all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quietness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne C
Bebington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic and enjoyable weekend - couldn't be beaten”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed over the long Easter bank holiday weekend and arrived on the Friday to a warm welcome from the owner who showed us around the cottage. The cottage was immaculate and provided beautiful views over to Snowdonia.

We were very pleased to find that tea, coffee, sugar, milk and biscuits were available upon arrival, as well as toilet roll, kitchen roll, soap, washing up liquid etc. The owner was very friendly and very approachable. The cottage itself was very comfortable and provided a home-from-home feel.

We couldn't fault anything about our stay and will definitely be making a return visit in the future. Our children also enjoyed their stay very much and loved looking out of the window at the sheep in the field and spent some time spotting rabbits hoping through the field.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for a break in Anglesey or nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the homely environment
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too Short a stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage as a short stay to go and pick up my oldest son from Bangor University. As is usual for a stay in a holiday cottage I went armed with lots of cleaning materials for the end of our stay but all of this was provided along with toilet rolls, kitchen paper, and hand wash which I have never experienced before. The cottage was immaculately clean and tidy when we arrived and we were made very welcome by the owners who pointed out everything inside and all of the fantastic views from the outside. Although a little chilly we had plenty of heaters and made a lovely fire in the open fireplace. We were made aware of the cottage being on a meter before we booked this cottage but this did not bother us. We arrived late Friday afternoon and left early Monday morning but in that short time, we managed to visit Electric Mountain, South Stack Lighthouse, Conwy Castle and LLandudno so there is plenty of lovely places to visit within easy reach (with a car of course) of the cottage. We did visit the local pub and fish and chip take away and both served good food. I especially enjoyed the fish and chips. Thank you again Helen for a lovely stay. Maria, Paul, Thomas and Andrew x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly owners, good location and very peaceful
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan J
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage - but booking description needs reviewing.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Ty Newydd is a very comfortable and clean cottage in an ideal setting for exploring Anglesey and North West Wales. We spent New Year there with friends and had a very relaxing short stay, enjoying walks at nearby Newborough Beach as well as further afield. We even pulled in an hours hack at Anglesey Riding Centre, which was a real treat.

A couple of equipment problems arose during our stay, but these were addressed as promptly as possible given the time of year. We do however feel that the following problems need to be addressed by the owners:-

Electricity is charged by slot meter with the owners contributing the first £5. We were only made aware of this on arrival, there is no mention of it on the Trip Advisor Holiday Lettings web page through which we booked and it was not mentioned in any correspondence received from the owners. Had we been aware of this in advance we may well have booked elsewhere.

Hot water was not available during the length of our stay due to a faulty boiler which could not be repaired over the holiday period. We totally understood that this was beyond the control of the owners, but they failed to appreciate that no hot water had an impact on the amount of electricity we were using via the kettle and dishwasher.

The property is advertised as having wifi, but for the duration of our stay no connection was available. The owners did invite us into their adjoining home where the signal is stronger, but we did not feel this was acceptable. If a property is advertised as having wifi, there should be a strong enough signal in that property….not the house next door.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: Wifi not available when advertised/meter payment for electricity
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2014
The cottage was decorated specially for our guest for their 5 day New Year Break, Fire was lit, central heating on, bottle of wine in the fridge, tea, coffee, Sugar and milk, as well as mince pies were made available for their arrival.

An extra amount of £4 was spent during their stay on electricity, not only the dishwasher and electric kettle, also electric cooker, showers, electric blankets on all the beds, extra electric heaters etc.,
The central heating was on 24/7 working well.
Admittedley the wifi signal in the cottage was not good, however they used their computer in the house, this will have to be addressed.
The hot water problem occured after their arrival, and was seen to as soon as was possible, this was beyond our control. The plumber arrived as they were leaving on the 2nd January, now working fine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We had a really lovely holiday at this warm and comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you Helen and Edwin for a lovely holiday and a very warm welcome. A very well equipped, clean and spacious cottage. We had our daughter and grandchildren aged four and one with us. Lots of space for youngsters to run around outside in the front paddock. The location was perfect and the views of Snowdon beautiful... We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn H
Wrexham
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Booked a last minute short break with friends and wasn't disappointed. It was a lovely homely cottage in a lovely setting and in an ideal location. Had a warm welcome from the owner and would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and the homeliness of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$84
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing