We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jammy”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beehive Preserves

Beehive Preserves
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Jammy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been here before, it is quite a trek down a single track road, a bit hairy at times. The last time we tried, the owner met us at the gate, and quite rudely stated"we're closed" no other explanation, my partner said that the sign on the main road said open, he said "well, we're not"......thanks for that mate, after that trek!!!! Anyway, we had a better reception this time, bought some lovely jam and had a pot of tea, which was quite nice. Not much else to say, apart from, it would be so much better if there were more smiles and maybe a chuckle or two.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    10
    12
    25
    62
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced for underwhelming food !”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stopped off for a bite to eat. My advice don't. We paid £11 for 2 cream teas. Which consisted of 1 stale scone each, a very small pot of jam and cream and an incredibly small pot of tea which was for the 2 of us. The only saving grace was that the jam tasted good.
My advice is don't eat
there !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank beverley_j101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rip Off!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visited in early July after a very pleasant walk aroind Cemlyn Bay.We bought some very good but overpriced jam then visited the tea room - a mistake! We paid £11.00 for a mug of filter coffee, 1scone with jam/cream, 1 pot of very weak tea and a slice of almost stale bara brith spread with melted butter. Never .again, Angelsey is not that short of attractions

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seriously there are better places in Cemaes bay”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Went to the café and it was overpriced underwhelming food. The little shop was okay but a little local research makes me wounder if the reason they don't do tours of the jam factory is because so much if it is bought in. Defo do not take small children as there is no high chair and the tables are to rickety to use a mobile one. Was start to finish a disappointment. There are much better places in local Cemaes bay to get a nice meal and local produce.

Helpful?
4 Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We don't ever miss a trip to stock up and the jams and preserves from the BeeHive Preserves farm, its maybe not the cheapest but it is the best, the choice is massive and the owner remembers us on each yearly holiday visit, a fantastic guy and full of knowledge about the island and his jams.

Don't miss out on a tip you will regret it this small family run business is a real gem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beehive Preserves also viewed

Cemaes Bay, Island of Anglesey
Cemaes Bay, Island of Anglesey
 
Holyhead, Island of Anglesey
Cemaes Bay, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Beehive Preserves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing