We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Wonderful setting. Rooms a little small, but ok for a 2 star. Note for hotel owner, get your hose pipe and spray the balconies down, that way you may clean the bird muck up. 2nd job, after people leave, go again to the rooms with balconies and clean up the cigarette stubs.
That said. The breakfast was outstanding, the bar staff friendly, and overall we had a great 3 days at this lovely setting.

Room Tip: quiet rooms at the back. but balcony rooms bigger and you have the sea view, just insist they clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidvLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

Very poor welcome. Surly reception staff and first impression was untidy and tatty with dozens of cigarette stubs by the main entrance. The room was poor with a tiny ensuite wc and shower. Cheap rickety beds with the thinnest pillow ever encountered.
We have been to many B&Bs and hotels in the Uk and worldwide but this was the worst ever.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Llanfairfechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed here for six nights. The staff were great - friendly, polite and helpful. The food was good too. However, we weren't impressed with the overall cleanliness of the place - cigarette buts outside main door all week and ashtrays on picnic tables filled with cigarette buts and rain water were particularly revolting. The hotel needs to be redecorated. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzannaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Received the requested twin room (balcony, harbour view, bath tub - luckily, no view of the nuclear power station!).
The staff were very friendly & helpful.
When we wanted to make ourselves a tea we found the water kettle was full of water and black inside. As it was fixed to the wall, it was impossible to empty/fill it - unless by using the tooth brush beaker/glass, walking between bathroom and bedroom. When we asked for a clean kettle one was provided but, unfortunately, by that time we had lost our appetite.
The building is old, its floor sagging at every other step.
Our night was quiet, our room far enough away (last balcony from entrance) from the noise.
Cleanliness seemed good, until in the morning I found a woodlouse climbing up the (in my view unnecessary, unless hiding something) valance on to my bed sheet.
Breakfast was cooked to order and very good. (We did not try the restaurant so cannot comment on that)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Super food, brilliant service from bar staff & restaurant staff. Nothing is a problem. Very very dog friendly. It is not expensive. Lovely atmosphere in the lounge bar. Very good value for money. Love it. Will return. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

stayed there for 2 nights and after the first i was ready to come home . watch out friday night is kareoke night, followed by a bit of dubstep and ragga jungle which is cool unless u can hear it all.
fire alarms going off , walls to ajoining rooms not insulated , serios sound problems i dont enjoy my daughter being woken up everytime next door goes for a wee because the empty studded wall is the only thing between next doors loo and the kids bed ... nice... dated shabby woodchip on the walls stained grey ceilings im a decorator and can see my room hadnt seen and paint in a decade at least . creaky creaky creaky creaky the hole place creaks and you can hear every one.
saying all this the staff are nice the foods not bad and its a great spot, just really disappointed on my family room as with most familys with small kids have to spend a good few hours in there.
it was dingy needs some money invested in those rooms

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vwcamperman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What you get here is a hotel in a great location with friendly staff and good service. Ok, the decor is a bit dated but, in my opinion, it delivers great value. Food in the bistro is good and breakfast is prepared to order.

Room Tip: Aim for a harbour view. Some people have noted the noise from the public bar which is situated at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobcat901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cemaes Bay
3.4 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
10.6 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
18 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
665 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel

Address: Cemaes Bay LL67 ONN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Cemaes Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Price Range: £56 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Cemaes Bay, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing