We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for exploring the island”
Review of Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Hotel is situated with uninterupted views over Cemaes Bay, which is lovely. Family room was a little small in comparison to similar rooms at other hotels we have stayed. Double bed was comfy enough and kids said the bunk beds were as well. Room had Hairdryer, flat screen TV, coffee and Tea making stuff as you would expect. Bathroom was OK with shower gel and handwash dispensers, however the shower was HORRENDUS!!! Very poor water pressure.
Breakfast was very nice, cereal, toast and jam and full english all round. We also enjoyed another meal in the bar/restaurant which was absolutely beautiful.
TIP: if you are going 'crabbing' in the harbour at high tide (a bit of sausage and bacon from breakfast made excellent bait!!)
Would I go back - YES probably

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluerick2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just stayed 1 night.
Room basic but excellent value.
Had to reduce booking by 1 night on arrival without any hassle from lovely receptionist.
Had fantastic dinner, far better than expected.
Breakfast great.
All staff friendly.
Beautiful setting op harbour and beach.

Slight annoyance. We stayed above public bar and could hear every record. It stopped early enough and couldn't be helped that we wanted such an early night. Ask for room at front if want to avoid this.

Room Tip: Ask for front room to avoid noise from public bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hague1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have just come home after 4 days stay, we really enjoyed our stay, rooms were clean and comfortable, beds comfy, and after a full days walking it was easy to fall asleep, we had a balcony that we got good use of, our shower was ok, it took a bit to warm up , but when it did , it was lovely, there was tea and coffee , and an hairdryer, also soap and shower gel, clean towels , what more could we ask for, the breakfast was huge, and well cooked, you could ask for more toast and make your breakfast to suit you, we had two meals in the Bistro, the staff were great, and so were the meals, a bit over priced, we had a view to die for, if you have a dog it will be welcomed, we dont , but didnt mind them,,would we go back ,, yes

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilyn080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The Hotel is advertised as a 4 star hotel however when we arrived we found that it only had 2 stars. I was shocked to find that the showers were cold and even more shocked to be told by the owner of the hotel that as they had had no other complaints from guests I was to wait 20 minuets and then try again, needless to say I did wait and the water was even colder the second time around. Although the room itself was clean and tidy we found dirty and soiled towels in the bathroom, this was pointed out to the staff however we did not receive a sincere apology, offered alternative accommodation for the night or any form compensation.

We choose not to eat in the hotel as the carpets and tables were so sticky they resembled that of a dirty back street night club and with regards to the breakfast unfortunately I am sorry to say that you would be better off paying to go to Whetherspoons.

Overall a very poor stay, we found it unclean and even more disappointing we found that the staff were inconsiderate and rude. Would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Our stay last week, after booking on line was a real pleasure. At the price we did not expect 5*, but were pleasantly surprised.
This is a clean and friendly hotel to stay.Our room with balcony over looking the harbour and beach was compact but comfortable.
The food tasty and great value. Staff welcoming and helpful. Great location for a base on Anglesey

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I visited just for something to eat. It looks a bit tatty from the outside, which is a shame as it is in a lovely location looking out across the harbour to the sea.

We sat outside to enjoy the view as it was a beautiful sunny day. We ordered food and there was a good choice on the menu and seemed reasonably price.

The waiter who brought our food was really pleasant and helpful, and the food was really nice when it arrived. It's not spectacular or anything so I wouldn't give it five stars but it was very good, and certainly well worth the money.

Coupled with the lovely view, this was a nice experience and somewhere I would be happy to go back to.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We were going to visit Ireland so to save stress rushing to get the ferry decided to stay over a night in Cemaes and then take the ferry from Holyhead in the morning. The hotel is freshly painted outside and looks good. We stayed in a balcony room again because I so love looking out over the bay. We dined in the restaurant and had the Lobster bisque soup (again) and the Stilton and steak salad - both as good as I remembered. the breakfast certainly set me up for the day's driving in Ireland down to Waterford.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are lovely with an unbeatable view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cemaes Bay
3.4 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
328 reviews
10.6 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
18 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
665 reviews
17.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Hotel

Address: Cemaes Bay LL67 ONN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Cemaes Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cemaes Bay
Price Range: £56 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbour Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Hotel Cemaes Bay, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing