We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Beautiful cottage and area.”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Bursting with character and history -The Old Post Office, Carreglefn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bursting with character and history -The Old Post Office, Carreglefn
views towards cemaes bay homley feeling lounge with original beamed ceiling.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
19 reviews
Bursting with character and history -The Old Post Office, Carreglefn
views towards cemaes bay
homley feeling lounge with original beamed ceiling.
comfortable dining rooom
master bedroom, four poster bed and hand made built in wardrobes
twin room, nice and bright
twin room, plenty of space
court yard is a beautiful peaceful sun trap.
new fully equipt kitchen
new dish washer available
family bathroom
a beautiful landscape
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cemaes Bay, Island of Anglesey, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The charm of the cottage and its location
Liked least: Its a long way from where we live
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring beautiful Anglesey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a little gem of a cottage - very neat and compact, cosy and functional, with its own character.
I had intended to stay for a couple of days but ended up staying for a week while working in the area and found it was the perfect place from which to get around Anglesey.
The cottage is very homely, has a very romantic double bedroom and a perfect kids' room upstairs (complete with shelves of toys and books) and a comfortable open living/dining space downstairs with everything you would need (music, wi-fi, TV, DVDs) to entertain if the weather wasn't great for beaches and walks. The kitchen is well-equipped and ideal for self-catering and opens onto a private patio area with tables, chairs and barbecue. There are a lot of low beams, though, so very tall people might find they are doing a lot of stooping to avoid clonking their heads!
Claire, the owner who lives next door with her family, and was very helpful throughout my stay with information about the area and advice about shopping and facilities nearby - and very easy-going when my plans changed. She had also provided a few essentials such as milk and juice (and non-essentials like biscuits!), which was very kind.
Carreglefn itself is a few miles from any village or town of any size but is peaceful and within easy reach of Amlwch and picturesque Cemaes. At first it seemed miles from anywhere but within a day or so, familiarity with the country lanes and nearby villages made the short trips to the coast very quick and enjoyable - and the roads seemed amazingly quiet once I was off the main A5025.
I was completely won over by this part of Anglesey, which was a bit like stepping back in time. The coast is stunning and the cliff-top walks and country footpaths are some of the most beautiful I've ever come across (particularly in the springtime with drifts of bluebells, thrift and red and white campion everywhere). Plenty of interesting wildlife too - I saw loads of seabirds and several porpoises from the headlands.
Having stumbled upon the Old Post Office and this part of Anglesey for a working trip, I hope to get back to enjoy it properly for a holiday.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The privacy, cosiness and the fact that the cottage was so well equipped.
Liked least: The step up from the kitchen into the living space could be a bit of a pain at times, as it meant stepping up at the same time as ducking to avoid knocking my head!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2014
Thank You, pleased the cottage had everything you needed. We were happy to be able to extend your stay when your plans changed and we look forward to you getting back to visit for a holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma H
Rawtenstall, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful and relaxing short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed here for 4 days over the Easter break with my husband and 2 children aged 3 and 10. The cottage was just what we needed to chill out and relax for a few days. It was clean and homely. The owner had left some toys and books for the children as well as some coffee, milk and biscuits to get us started which was a lovely touch.
The cottage is situated in a small village towards the north of Anglesey but although it is fairly remote, we found it a good base to explore the whole island. Nowhere is much more than half an hour away. The owner's daughter had also left us her 'top ten things to do' which was great for ideas for days out - unfortunately we ran out of time to do them all!! We were blessed with good weather for 2 out of the 3 days we were there which was great for exploring.
The owner, Claire, was great to deal with. She always replied to emails and texts before and during the holiday promptly. We had a small issue with the heating on arrival but it was sorted by Claire within minutes!! The cottage is excellent value for money.
We look forward to returning to Anglesey in the very near future.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind review, you are welcome any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belencita...
Oviedo, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Gracias por su comentario especie nos alegramos de que haya disfrutado de su estancia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing