We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Anglesey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taldrwst Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Dwyran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights to use as a base to visit the island and North Wales, we were given a very warm welcome and the hosts made our visit an enjoyable experience by providing excellent food both at breakfast and the option of an evening meal. The rooms were very clean with plenty of tea and coffee and a small but powerful shower just what you need after a long day walking. The local information provided by Mike was very good on what places to visit and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. I would highly recommend this B&B as it has a good central location, plenty of off road parking, great food and hosts. Would definitely use this B&B again if in the area.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms with no real issues we had room 4 at the front on 2nd floor with nice view across the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

I spent one night at Taldrwst Dwyran during a recent walking holiday in Anglesey and thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation or a place to eat in that area. My room was clean spacious and comfortable with a small but functional en-suite and the food was very good (breakfast and evening meal). I found the atmosphere at Taldrwst particularly pleasing. Efficient but relaxed, more like I was visiting friends than staying with strangers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastrotrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Guest House was situated off the road and overlooked the country side. We were welcomed by Michelle our host and shown to our lovely decorated ground floor room complete with a lovely ensuite, which had a great shower. The guest house had a small but well stocked bar and a conservatory over looking the garden. Breakfast took place in the conservatory which was cooked to order. Ourselves and our friends had an evening meal which was delicious and well priced. Will visit again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We received a friendly and cheerful welcome from Michelle who took us into the lounge and offered tea/coffee which was very welcome after 9 hrs on the road. We relaxed and had a lovely chat with Michelle, Mike was away that day. Our room was very clean, bright and pretty, with pine furniture. The shower room/w.c. was small but shower was excellent. The wash basin was in the bedroom next to a deep window sill which was ideal because we could put our wash bag/vanity case there, great, because so often there is no space for these items! The bed was reasonably comfortable although the mattress could have been better. We had a good cooked breakfast. It's a home from home type of B&B in a quiet location and we would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caravellejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived here after a 15 mile walk to a very welcoming cup of tea.The rooms are a bit dated but very clean and we ate an adequate dinner at very reasonable prices in the conservatory. Breakfast was standard and well-cooked and Michael was very helpful, even offering to take us to the railway station at Bangor if we were short of time. Overall, a good stop at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just spent 3 nights here, we were made very welcome as soon as we arrived, nothing was to much trouble for Mike and Michelle. Lovely food including evening meals. Very clean, and in a nice location. The room we were given had views looking out towards Snowdonia, it was lovely. We would recommend this B/B to any age group because they play a varied amount of nice music as well.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We recently stayed at Taldrwst for 6 nights. We were in North Wales as we are every year to visit my Grandmother. We are so glad we chose this lovely B&B.
Mike and Michelle were both lovely and made us feel right at home. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they thought of everything we could want or need.
The breakfast was lovely and just the right size. Well cooked and not greasy. Just how we like ours at home. There was a good selection and plenty of it. Fruit, cereal, toast, the lot.
They even offered a packed lunch if needed for a lovely walk or day trip.
A fantastic touch was that you could also eat an evening meal with booze which was great. Sometimes it's nice to just wander upstairs to bed after a bottle of wine!

To top off this review we would not hesitate to stay here again. There were 2 other couples there that were both on their 4th and 5th visit! That's got to tell you a lot.
It's a nice quiet location close to the lovely Newborough beach, we will be back. Mike and Michelle even let me take a book away with me home.

You won't regret the choice if you pick this place. We didn't.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dibda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dwyran
9.1 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,052 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
18.0 mi away
Harbour Hotel
Harbour Hotel
#3 of 3 in Cemaes Bay
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
14.8 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
663 reviews
16.7 mi away
Blackthorn Farm
Blackthorn Farm
#1 of 25 in Holyhead
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taldrwst Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taldrwst Bed & Breakfast

Address: Dwyran, Dwyran LL61 6YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Dwyran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dwyran
Price Range: £61 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taldrwst is a recently refurbished 200 year old farmhouse on the edge of the village of Dwyran on the south west side of Anglesey. The house has been tastefully furnished and decorated to a high standard, with four double bedrooms with en-suites which consist of wc, basin and standard size shower cubicle:please note, two bedrooms have the basin in the room. Additionally there is a further double bedroom with four poster bed with separate (but exclusive) private family bathroom. It has a large guest lounge and dining area and bar with comfortable seating and big screen television and small library. All rooms have full central heating. Taldrwst also boasts a licensed restaurant (closed on Sundays) where evening meals are served till 8.30pm with an extensive menu with courses to suit all tastes (or many anyway!).There is a splendid panoramic view of the Snowdonian mountain range, with Snowdon itself seen clearly from the front bedrooms, lounge and dining area. Many of the most popular tourist attractions are close and visitors can enjoy lovely walks on various nearby footpaths, including Anglesey Coastal Path, and along the sandy beach at Newborough to the light house, 12th century chapel of St Dwynwen (Welsh Patron Saint of Lovers) and old pilot cottages at the magical, picturesque and historic Llanddwyn Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taldrwst Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taldrwst Bed & Breakfast Dwyran, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing