We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Holyhead, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have eaten here twice now and on both occasions I have not been disappointed. It can be a bit expensive but its well worth the cost with excellent food and 1st class service I would recommend it to anyone for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thanks for the review :) So glad you have been enjoying our dining experience. Hope to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    174
    77
    25
    20
See reviews for
91
381
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
darwen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

stayed at the hotel last week and had a really lovely stay, we had a room in the new part of the hotel and it was really comfortable and quite. the breakfast was amazing and kept us full till evening. the spa is really good with great size pool. the staff were very nice particularly on reception. we had a meal on the first night in the formal dining room and is did lack atmosphere, the food was good but the portions were not very big and the prices a bit on the pricey side.
on the 3rd night we ate in the clock tower, it was a set menu with really good portions and reasonable prices. the only thing that I would have liked in both resturants would have been more imagination on the vegetarian meals and more choice. the staff at breakfast were not very organised leaving diners sat at tables that were not set

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Thanks for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay overall and I will speakto the head chef regarding look at the vegetarian choices. We have also implemented a system for breakfast to ensure that customers are shown to a table that is correctly set for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

This hotel/spa is not easy to find,set well off the beaten track in the heart of rural Anglesey but is definitely worth the effort. The building is a nineteenth century mansion set in eleven acres of beautiful garden. The staff were very welcoming and first impressions were of a lovely old house, spacious, warm and peaceful-large lounge, well-stocked bar,flowers, pictures-all comforting and welcoming. Our room was large with a huge bed, basket of toiletries, apples and bottled water. After afternoon tea we explored the well equipped gym, swam in the good-sized pool and relaxed in the sauna and steam rooms. Within hours we were completely chilled out. There being no other discernable restaurants anywhere in the vicinity, we opted to eat in the hotel each night, a choice we certainly did not regret;the food was lovely, all freshly cooked using many locally sourced products. Breakfast was wonderful-fresh(possibly home-made) croissants and pastries, fruits, yoghourts, lovely cheeses, cold meat, cereal, muesli etc etc. Then came good choice of cooked items,again mostly locally sourced-even had laver bread! Anglesey has coastal paths around the whole island so each day involved bracing walks in beautiful surroundings. The staff were a delight in all sections of the hotel, friendly and helpful at every encounter. Our stay was as a result of a special offer which made this outstanding value for money but having discovered this lovely retreat, we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63andout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments and we are so glad that you had a lovely time. We look forward to welcoming you back. Keep an eye out on our facebook page for up to date special offers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Just come home from a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel. Had afternoon tea on arrival, walked around the lovely gardens, used the swimming pool & spa and had dinner in the restaurant which was fantastic! And tea in front of the cosy fire before bed.
Used the spa again on our 2nd day which we loved again and had dinner in the clocktower on the 2nd night. A perfect birthday weekend away. Thoroughly recomend to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away and who enjoy good food :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Glad to hear you had a nice visit and that you had a good birthday. Hope to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We enjoy every return trip to Tre-Ysgawen and have nothing but compliments for the staff and entire team at Tre-Ysgawen.

A centre of Excellence in terms of the spa facilities and cleanliness.

It's a magical place and one which we would recommend to all. Our family, friends and colleagues all visit Tre-Ysgawen and there is nowhere to compare with the hospitality and spa facilities.

Looking forward to visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thanks for your review. Glad to hear you had another enjoyable visit. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

Reception wasn't helpful. Seemed disinterested. Coffee machine broken so only cafitiere available. Changing room grubby with nasty smell. Jacuzzi being cleaned. Steam room, sauna were unavailable until we protested due to a photo shoot. This was postponed. Steam room with salt spray didn't work at first. Told they were trying to fix it. Came on after10 mins but no salt. Showers didn't work so unable to shower after swim and sauna. No drinking water. Treatment room ok no candles lit. Towels didn't smell fresh. Massage good but not asked at any time if I was comfortable. All in all a very disappointing day. Would not go again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
We do sincerely apologise that you didn’t have the wonderful experience that is had by majority of our visitors. It has to be said that from time to time, due to technical faults, some facilities may have a small amount of down time and this inevitably affects visitors on that day. However, we always aim to fix any problems as soon as possible. It is a real shame that on that day a couple of areas were not working at the same time and again we can only apologise that this affected your experience.

We take all feedback very seriously and speak to all team members, where necessary so that we continually improve the experience we so love to create for you.

If there is anything that we can do to encourage visitors to return then we are always happy to consider that. In normal circumstances, most of our visitors return on a regular basis and we guarantee a wonderful experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Jusat retrned from a wonderful two night stay in this excellent hotel. We had a room in the new annex, and it was comfortable and well fitted out (although the radiator had a roaring noise....but easily fixed by turning it down)

We ate at the clocktower both evenings.....relaxed, comfortable and good food.....not the cheapest, but very good quaqulaity, and the afternnoon tea was very filling.

The spa/gym facilities are excellent,

Breakfast was excellent qulaity and with ample servings

Staff very friendly and efficient

Anglesey is a lovely, under-rated island, with excellent walking

Love to return soon

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWEnglandNWcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Many thanks for your review and your comments. We always have special offers on - to keep you up to date "Like" our Facebook page :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Property: Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing