We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay at Tre-Ysgawen Hall. We chose this for our joint birthday break, but the hotel was not aware. When we arrived, we were quickly booked in and shown to our room. It was a standard double, but was well decorated, clean and of a standard we would expect of a 5 star hotel. After spending some time in the spa we chose to dine in the hotel main restaurant that night, and enjoyed a very high quality and well presented meal.
The following morning we had a full Welsh breakfast, and then spent the y touring Anglesey. We came back about 3:00 and spent a couple of hours in the spa, thoroughly enjoying the sauna, steam room and hot tub. We eat in the Clock Towewr restaurant that night, and enjoyed good service and great food again.
After backfast on the last day we both had a massage, my wife having a hot stones massage, and I had a back and shoulder massage. Both masseur's were very professional, and gave great service. We then had a coffee and left feeling very relaxed and refreshed.
The staff were friendly and courteous. Every member of staff, be they cleaners, bar staff or waiters all spoke and asked if we were having a good time. They couldn't have treated us better if they had known it was a special occasion for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ch1lled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thanks so much for the review. Glad you had a really good time, hope to see you again soon sometime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

The hall and spa are lovely. Peaceful location with attentive staff. Our room was in the new wing, some distance from the reception, but closer to the spa area. Our room seemed a little small. The fixtures and fittings were all a little tired and the room is in need of a makeover to bring it back up. In a hotel of this standard, we would have expected a Movie and Sports channel option on the television, not just the basic free-sat! The hotel wifi didn't work in our room, but seemed fine in the public areas. There is little or no mobile phone signal in the hotel. The public rooms have an old world charm. 12 foot ceilings with full length draped windows, comfy traditional furniture and log fires a plenty. The food was excellent in the main restaurant although a little pricey. Breakfast was faultless. The Clocktower bistro adjacent to the spa is more modern with a variety of snacks and meals available. a large screen television & leather settees in 3 sitting areas gives the Clocktower a more "spa club room" feel, which is nice. The spa was very clean and well looked after. Staff were all helpful, polite and friendly. The facilities were all nice, but the sauna is a little dated. Would we visit again? Possibly!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emguzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to review us. We have just completed refurbing some of the bedroomsin the old house and these are quite popular. We are looking into the broadband situation as it is suppose to completely cover the hotel. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Well, what a surprise!
Stayed here for a night on 1st November 2012 just to see if there were any changes to the hotel and restaurant after a 'not impressed' stay in Nov. 2011.
I found the whole experience 100% better. The most change was in the staff's attitude. Everyone was more than welcoming, very personable, attentive and in general very helpful and friendly.

We stayed in the new wing overlooking a lovely small garden area. The room was very clean, modern and stylish. Wi-fi was available but somehow I couldn't get it to work. The TV needed a bit of attention to fire it up but was organised within minutes once reception had been informed.

The spa is still being updated, but still able to be used and, wow, was I impressed! Tropical showers, new steam room and sauna, even crushed ice on hand for when you want a cool down after the hot rooms.

We had dinner in the Clocktower restaurant around 7.30ish and again, superb. Homecooked chips, fresh sole on the bone, well everything just great.

We got a good nights sleep and woke up to a breakfast that, well, you couldn't have asked for more. I hate this phrase, but the 'girl' that looked after us was absolutely fantastic.

The thing that was the same as last year were the gardens. They are spectacular with many valuable scupltures amongst the well tended mature shrubs and trees.

All in all it was a gamble that paid off more than I would have imagined, so well done Tre-Ysgawen-Hall Country House Hotel & Spa.
It's just the sort of place you could go to with some pals for a healthy boot camp session.
The location is ideal for us as we like it to be a bit secluded, so just bear that in mind.

Hope to see you next year for a few more days stay next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honesty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Glad to hear your recent visit went well and that your experience was much better. We do our best to act on feedback to imporve a customers stay so I am glad to hear that it does work and that you noticed a difference. :) Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I have eaten here twice now and on both occasions I have not been disappointed. It can be a bit expensive but its well worth the cost with excellent food and 1st class service I would recommend it to anyone for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thanks for the review :) So glad you have been enjoying our dining experience. Hope to welcome you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

stayed at the hotel last week and had a really lovely stay, we had a room in the new part of the hotel and it was really comfortable and quite. the breakfast was amazing and kept us full till evening. the spa is really good with great size pool. the staff were very nice particularly on reception. we had a meal on the first night in the formal dining room and is did lack atmosphere, the food was good but the portions were not very big and the prices a bit on the pricey side.
on the 3rd night we ate in the clock tower, it was a set menu with really good portions and reasonable prices. the only thing that I would have liked in both resturants would have been more imagination on the vegetarian meals and more choice. the staff at breakfast were not very organised leaving diners sat at tables that were not set

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackie f f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thanks for your review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay overall and I will speakto the head chef regarding look at the vegetarian choices. We have also implemented a system for breakfast to ensure that customers are shown to a table that is correctly set for breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

This hotel/spa is not easy to find,set well off the beaten track in the heart of rural Anglesey but is definitely worth the effort. The building is a nineteenth century mansion set in eleven acres of beautiful garden. The staff were very welcoming and first impressions were of a lovely old house, spacious, warm and peaceful-large lounge, well-stocked bar,flowers, pictures-all comforting and welcoming. Our room was large with a huge bed, basket of toiletries, apples and bottled water. After afternoon tea we explored the well equipped gym, swam in the good-sized pool and relaxed in the sauna and steam rooms. Within hours we were completely chilled out. There being no other discernable restaurants anywhere in the vicinity, we opted to eat in the hotel each night, a choice we certainly did not regret;the food was lovely, all freshly cooked using many locally sourced products. Breakfast was wonderful-fresh(possibly home-made) croissants and pastries, fruits, yoghourts, lovely cheeses, cold meat, cereal, muesli etc etc. Then came good choice of cooked items,again mostly locally sourced-even had laver bread! Anglesey has coastal paths around the whole island so each day involved bracing walks in beautiful surroundings. The staff were a delight in all sections of the hotel, friendly and helpful at every encounter. Our stay was as a result of a special offer which made this outstanding value for money but having discovered this lovely retreat, we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63andout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments and we are so glad that you had a lovely time. We look forward to welcoming you back. Keep an eye out on our facebook page for up to date special offers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Just come home from a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel. Had afternoon tea on arrival, walked around the lovely gardens, used the swimming pool & spa and had dinner in the restaurant which was fantastic! And tea in front of the cosy fire before bed.
Used the spa again on our 2nd day which we loved again and had dinner in the clocktower on the 2nd night. A perfect birthday weekend away. Thoroughly recomend to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away and who enjoy good food :)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMDavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Glad to hear you had a nice visit and that you had a good birthday. Hope to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,074 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,752 reviews
11.7 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
674 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range: £100 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing