We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Went here for afternoon tea with friends while holidaying on Anglesey - How Disappointing ! We were taken into library seved our afternoon tea and forgotten, customer service was appalling,no one bothered to come and ask if everything was ok !! We expected more service from a hotel such as this what a shame.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for your review and your comments. That is not the impression we try and give to guests and I will speak to the restaurant manager about it. My apologies but I do hope you will visit us again where I hope you will see an improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    173
    77
    25
    20
See reviews for
90
381
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Wonderful Hotel and Spa hidden away on Anglesey.

Grand hotel, hidden away providing great Spa facilities and beautiful rooms in quiet gardens. We had booked a four poster bed with a large ensuite with six foot diameter bath!

The Spa was excellent with pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and Spa treatment rooms. We had booked a back massage and we were not disappointed.

The bedroom was well equipped with large four poster, great tea making facility - plenty of choice, trouser press etc. The bathroom was huge and again well equipped with robes, toiletries all provided.

We dined in the Restaurant and were treated to excellent fine dining and the breakfast was to the same high standard.

All in all an excellent weekend away to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edge1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for the review. We are glad you had an enjoyable Anniversary and we hope that you will visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights with friends.
Had a great relaxing time.
Our room was in the main building and was a bit tired. The bathroom needs a bit of work. Was told that its planned.
The WiFi just reached the room which was frustrating.
The Spa was excellent. The pool was warm even for me!
Restaurant was a bit too formal for us but the brassiere by the Spa was better.
The receptionist was the biggest let down. Not very helpful or welcoming. First impressions are so important. She needs customer service training.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 are a bit tired
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for the review, we have just refurbished some bedrooms and more are to be done over the coming months, but thank you for your feedback. The Wi-Fi issues we hope has been resolved. I will investigate the receptionist issue further and I apologise for this. Hope to see you again at the hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I recently had a meal in the restaurant with my wife for our 13th Wedding anniversary. As usual the food was of the highest standard all cooked and presented to perfection. The service was also excellent from the waitress who took our food order to the girls who served the food and finally the staff member in the bar where we paid the bill. Although slightly expensive it is well worth the experience. If you are looking for a really special treat on that special occasion book a table and have a meal at Tre-Ysgawen..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for your review, very glad you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant and hope that you will come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel in late August and were very impressed by the service, meals and overall appearance of this hotel. The room was excellent and the en-suite had "his and hers" wash basins. Rather confusing to find our way back to reception but after a couple of wrong turns we sorted the route out. The food was excellent and the evening meal proved to be a very enjoyable way to start the evening. Will have no hesitation in returning as we only had time to explore half the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith Reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, sorry for the maze of corridors. We are at the moment improving on our signage around the hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

A superb hotel in a good location with an excellent restaurant. Although not the views or location of Plas Rhianfa, this is the better all-round hotel on Anglesey with superb service, rooms and food along with a lovely pool and spa.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the pool and air conditioner. Rooms near the main stairs are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulD590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for the review and taking the time to write one. Glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We chose this hotel to break a journey from London to Rathmullen in Ireland.
What a find, not something you would expect so far from the madding crowds but tranquil and most enjoyable no the less.
The whole stay was most enjoyable. The staff were very hospitable and nothing was to difficult.
They even managed to find a pair of swimming trunks for my 6 foot 4inch guest!
Dinner was exceptionally good as was breakfast. We managed a quick look at the immaculate gardens before heading off to Hollyhead for the ferry to Dublin.
Be warned the Wifi does not work in room 2 but you should not need it when staying is such a fantastic retreat.

Room Tip: I think room 1 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ovimorecp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for the review, glad you found us and enjoyed your stay with us. Will look into the wireless issue, so I hope you will come again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Property: Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing