We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Character in a period mansion and superb spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our first visit and we will return. We were put in room 40, quite some distance from reception, but close to the clock tower wine bar and restaurant and spa. The room was warm, spacious, clean and furnished and decorated to a high standard. A reported leak to the toilet systern was rectified smartly. We dined in the Clock tower restaurant on the first night, since the menu for the main restaurant wasn't available when we checked in. We were not disappointed. The fixed price five course meal in the main restaurent would have been way too big for both of us (two couses in the Clock tower have left us stuffed full anyway!). Service was close and attentive as well as friendly and well timed. Breakfast was fully comprehensive, and as much as one could wish for, cerials, fresh fruit, cooked options and loads to tea, coffee and toast. we will certainly return. If walking the grounds, best do it before it rains, not after. The spa was out of this world, and the pool and gym, though not well used was the best we have experienced.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seem better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thanks for the review and I am glad the team looked after you. We look forward to your next visit and please don't hesitate in specifying a room if you wish. I am sure we will do our best to accommodate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

my wife and I visited on a two day bed & breakfast deal. Check-in was easy, once we had located the main reception entrance, which could do with better signage from the first car parking facility.We were shown to a four poster room, which was in the old part of the Hall,pleasantly furnished, with large en-suite with circular bath and shower over.This was very powerful, the downside being that no enclosure or curtain resulted in the floor being awash.The room was very warm, with no heating on and both windows open - I suspect the room may have been over the kitchen area which would probably account for this.The pool and spa area was exceptional, by far the best we have encountered on our travels. Breakfast was served in the conservatory, which was a mixture of buffet style juice,fresh fruit and cereal, and full cooked options ,of which there were many.Service was excellent, and even guests pushing the time limits were greeted with a smile! On the first night we had the gourmet dinner, which was served in the Noelle room -a pleasant but not outstanding experience for the money. We prefer low key to pomp, but more information is needed regarding procedure if this is to work effectively - there was virtually no information about the food available at the clock tower dining option.The garden area was extensive (and muddy) but again, information about walks and features was non-existant. These are really minor niggles - they just took the edge off what could, with a little more effort, have been a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thanks for the review and I am glad on a whole you enjoyed your stay. I will look into information in the bedrooms as there are suppose to be sample menus in each room and also a map of the gardens. We do hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights looking for a relaxing 'us' weekend and Tre-Ysgawen Hall did not disappoint despite not being perfect.

Check in was very efficient and Tracey was very pleasant asking if we needed help with our luggage before showing us to our room. We stayed in room 6, lovely spacious room with the decor in keeping with a 19th century mansion a very comfortable four poster bed, excellent whirlpool bath and a great view out of the front of the hotel into well kept gardens and wooded area beyond. We did have couple of minor issues, such as no cups with the tea and coffee, no bathrobes and the TV control had gone missing, however a call to reception and these were quickly rectified.

Breakfast was included in our stay and although the choice isn't huge it is high quality and the service was attentive, friendly and with a smile, I believe it was Hugo who waited on us both days.

We didn't eat in either the Clock tower wine bar or the main restaurant, we simply decided against it on the first night to eat in the Clock tower and went out instead and made a reservation in the main restaurant the second night which we cancelled as we wanted to see the menu before hand and although the lady at reception said one would be put under the door once it was finalised for the evening, this didn't happen.

Overall the main entrance, library dining areas style and decor are all in keeping with the house which sits at least a mile away from anywhere so is very peaceful, quiet and relaxing. We had a great weekend and would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house appear to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enicomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thanks for the review and bringing some details to my attention. I will look into these. I am glad you enjoyed your stay though and had a relaxing weekend. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We chose to visit this beautiful hall and gardens for an afternoon tea experience as part of a birthday celebration. Being our first visit to the hall (and not familiar with the arrangements) the party arrived in reception and were directed to the room where the afternoon tea was to be served. Unfortunately after a 35 minute wait and having to ask on three occasions if we needed to do anything in particular to get served the afternoon tea arrived. We were told that there had been a communication breakdown between the reception and kitchen staff. Unfortunately the waitress service and attention to detail wasn't as tight as it needed to be for a venue such as this. A gentlemen did apologise for the error and we were presented with a glass of sparkling wine each by way of an apology. While the building itself is beautiful it was somewhat spoilt by an array of bottles, wine glasses (some broken) and litter strewn around the outside of the hall and grounds. I can only assume that there had been a party the night before but I would have expected someone to have addressed this by late afternoon. Unfortunately on this occasion the experience did not match the expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrlaBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for the review and brining these details to my attention. This is something I was not aware about and will look into it immediately. The team usually provide an excellent service and there should not have been a communication breakdown at all. I am glad that the gentleman used his initiative and compensated you with a glass of sparkling wine. With regards to the garden this does surprise me as our gardeners do have pride in what they do and I will look into this. My apologies that it was not the visit you should have had, but I do hope that you would consider visiting us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel, booking through Travelzoo, and, unfortunately we were unable to stay more than one night, much to our disappointment. Everything about this deal was amazing. All the staff, whom we met, were very charming and also very friendly. The classic bedroom was large with a huge comfortable bed of at least 7 feet. The food of five courses with a good choice was exceptional.. It was excelent value for money and we could recommend this Country house hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 34 and loved the French doors onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maesy359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed yourselves at the hall and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed here two nights in the middle of September. Checking in was very quick and the receptionist very friendly. Room was nice and comfortable. For breakfast we served ourselves from a choice of cereal, croissants,fruit ,jam, juice etc. Once seated your order will be taken from such choices as a full breakfast or scrambled egg, poached egg,salmon or just toast and tea/coffee.

The leisure centre was very good, we used the pool , thermal suite and sauna. Most of then time I was the only person using the pool. Lots of sun-loungers around.
The changing room had plenty of showers, hairdryers and extra sockets for straighteners etc.

We eat in the clock tower, I had the feta and olives and my husband had the curry, both were delicious. Service was good and the young man serving us was excellent .
We had gone to this hotel to relax and that is exactly what we did. Would love to go again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pauline4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am so glad you had a lovely time here at the hall. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Two nights at Tre-Ysgawen Hall were not enough! This old house oozes charm and character and I loved it. It made you feel like a guest at a small scale Downton Abbey!. I spent two nights there with my sister, and even though our room was in the newer quarter the standard of the room was exceedingly high. The staff were friendly and efficient and the food was very good indeed. We made use of the spa and, though we did not book in advance, which I very much advise, we both managed to fit a treatment in. We ate in the restaurant one of our two nights and it was wonderful, we were even provided with a stool to put our handbags on so they did not have to go on the floor (a pet hate of mine) now that is what I call service. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: Just speak to the hotel staff when booking. My sister and I took our (aged) mother and we were give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your review, glad you had a lovely time and that you were looked after. We hope to welcome you back to the hall again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,794 reviews
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
765 reviews
3 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
7.1 mi away
Lastra Farm Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range: £131 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing