We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engagement Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Engagement Surprise”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I booked this hotel/spa for a surprise treat after i proposed to my now fiance. I had previoulsy spoken to Tracey at the hotel and told her what my plans were. on arrival, as requested there was a bottle of champagne in the room which became on the house, the flowers i had ordered were there too and the room was upgraded by tracey to what can only be described as perfect. four poster bed, en suite with a bath big enough for six, plenty of room but still being cosy and romantic. once we had settled in and had a few more bottles of wine we headed down to dinner at 7.30. told to wait in the lounge area by the log fire. we were then presented with a glass of chamoagne and some canopes. gorgeous pieces of steak on little plates. fab. we were then shown to our table were we treated like royalty all evening. the food was absolutley amazing, the wine was delicious and the dessert was the best i have ever tasted. we took the last of our wine to the library, another log fine and curled up on the couch. perfect end to a percfect day. on waking up, we went down to breakfast. continental buffet you helped youreslf too and a cooked breakfast to order if you want also. lots of tea and coffee all served by the wonderful staff. we really didnt want to check out but the fact that we could use the adjacent spa up unitl 5pm was amazing too!! so after a lovely swim, jacuzzi, sauna and steam we headed off back home. the place was amazing, tha staff were fantastic and could not do enoughr for you! kelly and i will ceratnily be back there as soon as possible. the place and the people made a special weekend unforgettable!! X

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Congratulations to you both. So glad the team made your stay enjoyable. We do hope to welcome you back again soon, thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    180
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
92
406
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here through an amazon local deal and had an amazing time. The staff were friendly and helpful. We took full advantage of the lovely spa facilities although didn't get any treatments (next time!). The evening meal, a 5 course dinner, was very tasty. There were slight issues (forgetting to bring our wine) however these were immediately rectified and the cost taken from the bill, which is excellent customer service and shows the staff have the confidence to meet customer expectations without having to check everything with management. Breakfast was more than ample and also tasty! The rooms were good - fitting with the character of the rest of the building. Our only regret was not taking walking boots to take advantage of the gardens on a wet october! Would recommend taking advantage of any deals you can find on this lovely hidden gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katmilne2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks for the review and I am glad the team looked after you and made sure your stay was enjoyable and that things were rectified. I am investing in boots after just walking in the woods!! Hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We bought this overnight stay and 5 course tasting menu deal with Travelzoo. It was fantastic. The hotel itself oozes olde worlde charm, and nestles in the middle of Anglesey. Our room boasted a four poster double bed and huge Jacuzzi bath - what a treat. My husband tested the spa facilities, enormous swimming pool, salt steam and hot tubs. (There were facilities for pampering and cardio work outs, which we decided to ignore) and tested the food instead. The food was the best we have tasted in a long while. The amuse bouche matched that tasted recently at Manoir Quatre Seasons (Raymong Blanc) recently. The breakfast in or room the following morning, completed the experience. Locally sourced produce and they even serve Welsh wine! All this is impeccable service and smiles all round. We will be coming back without a doubt. Sheila

Room Tip: We had number 6, which was huge, and very quiet. From our experience of the Hotel, I would expect al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williambryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Hi Sheila, thanks for taking the time to review us. So glad the team made your stay enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back real soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was our first visit and we will return. We were put in room 40, quite some distance from reception, but close to the clock tower wine bar and restaurant and spa. The room was warm, spacious, clean and furnished and decorated to a high standard. A reported leak to the toilet systern was rectified smartly. We dined in the Clock tower restaurant on the first night, since the menu for the main restaurant wasn't available when we checked in. We were not disappointed. The fixed price five course meal in the main restaurent would have been way too big for both of us (two couses in the Clock tower have left us stuffed full anyway!). Service was close and attentive as well as friendly and well timed. Breakfast was fully comprehensive, and as much as one could wish for, cerials, fresh fruit, cooked options and loads to tea, coffee and toast. we will certainly return. If walking the grounds, best do it before it rains, not after. The spa was out of this world, and the pool and gym, though not well used was the best we have experienced.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seem better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks for the review and I am glad the team looked after you. We look forward to your next visit and please don't hesitate in specifying a room if you wish. I am sure we will do our best to accommodate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

my wife and I visited on a two day bed & breakfast deal. Check-in was easy, once we had located the main reception entrance, which could do with better signage from the first car parking facility.We were shown to a four poster room, which was in the old part of the Hall,pleasantly furnished, with large en-suite with circular bath and shower over.This was very powerful, the downside being that no enclosure or curtain resulted in the floor being awash.The room was very warm, with no heating on and both windows open - I suspect the room may have been over the kitchen area which would probably account for this.The pool and spa area was exceptional, by far the best we have encountered on our travels. Breakfast was served in the conservatory, which was a mixture of buffet style juice,fresh fruit and cereal, and full cooked options ,of which there were many.Service was excellent, and even guests pushing the time limits were greeted with a smile! On the first night we had the gourmet dinner, which was served in the Noelle room -a pleasant but not outstanding experience for the money. We prefer low key to pomp, but more information is needed regarding procedure if this is to work effectively - there was virtually no information about the food available at the clock tower dining option.The garden area was extensive (and muddy) but again, information about walks and features was non-existant. These are really minor niggles - they just took the edge off what could, with a little more effort, have been a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks for the review and I am glad on a whole you enjoyed your stay. I will look into information in the bedrooms as there are suppose to be sample menus in each room and also a map of the gardens. We do hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights looking for a relaxing 'us' weekend and Tre-Ysgawen Hall did not disappoint despite not being perfect.

Check in was very efficient and Tracey was very pleasant asking if we needed help with our luggage before showing us to our room. We stayed in room 6, lovely spacious room with the decor in keeping with a 19th century mansion a very comfortable four poster bed, excellent whirlpool bath and a great view out of the front of the hotel into well kept gardens and wooded area beyond. We did have couple of minor issues, such as no cups with the tea and coffee, no bathrobes and the TV control had gone missing, however a call to reception and these were quickly rectified.

Breakfast was included in our stay and although the choice isn't huge it is high quality and the service was attentive, friendly and with a smile, I believe it was Hugo who waited on us both days.

We didn't eat in either the Clock tower wine bar or the main restaurant, we simply decided against it on the first night to eat in the Clock tower and went out instead and made a reservation in the main restaurant the second night which we cancelled as we wanted to see the menu before hand and although the lady at reception said one would be put under the door once it was finalised for the evening, this didn't happen.

Overall the main entrance, library dining areas style and decor are all in keeping with the house which sits at least a mile away from anywhere so is very peaceful, quiet and relaxing. We had a great weekend and would recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main house appear to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enicomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks for the review and bringing some details to my attention. I will look into these. I am glad you enjoyed your stay though and had a relaxing weekend. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We chose to visit this beautiful hall and gardens for an afternoon tea experience as part of a birthday celebration. Being our first visit to the hall (and not familiar with the arrangements) the party arrived in reception and were directed to the room where the afternoon tea was to be served. Unfortunately after a 35 minute wait and having to ask on three occasions if we needed to do anything in particular to get served the afternoon tea arrived. We were told that there had been a communication breakdown between the reception and kitchen staff. Unfortunately the waitress service and attention to detail wasn't as tight as it needed to be for a venue such as this. A gentlemen did apologise for the error and we were presented with a glass of sparkling wine each by way of an apology. While the building itself is beautiful it was somewhat spoilt by an array of bottles, wine glasses (some broken) and litter strewn around the outside of the hall and grounds. I can only assume that there had been a party the night before but I would have expected someone to have addressed this by late afternoon. Unfortunately on this occasion the experience did not match the expectations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlaBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for the review and brining these details to my attention. This is something I was not aware about and will look into it immediately. The team usually provide an excellent service and there should not have been a communication breakdown at all. I am glad that the gentleman used his initiative and compensated you with a glass of sparkling wine. With regards to the garden this does surprise me as our gardeners do have pride in what they do and I will look into this. My apologies that it was not the visit you should have had, but I do hope that you would consider visiting us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
8.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Property: Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing