We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Celebrations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
wirral merseyside
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

First booked in july for october break, unfortunaly one member took ill and so we were unable to go ,upon phoning hotel the staff were excellent and could not have been more understanding and helpful we went in November and really enjoed our stay .my friends had not stayed ina classic hotel before and they were very pleased with the standard of the hotel i had not stayed here before so the Hotel was new to me as well.our rooms were excellent ,spa facillites were good and the food wasoutstanding .the staff made our two day break by the helpfull maner nothing was too much trouble for them .I have stayed in a few classic hotels , i would certanly recommend you go and stay and nenjoy the stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    183
    87
    26
    20
See reviews for
92
420
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel and spa is absolutely beautiful. We stayed overnight with a 5 course gourmet meal included in the stay.

The food was out of this world, very tasty and beautifully arranged. Personally it would have been nice to have more time between courses, it felt a bit rushed at times.

The spa was clean and modern. Spa staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Would definitely return and would happily recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We liked everything about this lovely hotel in the remote countryside in Anglesey. The building itself was atmospheric.in particular the hallway and stairway at the entrance inspired a degree of awe and pathos dedicated as it was to the owners now deceased daughter.
We found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was magnificent with its views over the front gardens and its authentic and spacious 4 poster bed. The meals were excellent and we had dinner in the restaurant on both nights of our stay. I was pleasantly surprised at the price of drinks at the bar which were more than reasonable. The spa pool and gym were better than anticipated 2 small points for future reference. We waited slightly longer than expected on day 1 of our stay for breakfast and the hotel could provide better directions on how to find it given its remote location. Overall we would recommend this hotel particularly for any couple looking for a restful weekend without stress

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for the review and I am glad you had a relaxing break away. Glad the team looked after you and I will look into the few points you made. Once again thanks, and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willaston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights Fri/Sat 29th/30th November 2013 to celebrate her 67th birthday.
Our stay was excellent in every way. Our room was first class and the bed large and very comfortable. Breakfast on both mornings was in a very large conservatory and was very good with a wide choice. The five course meal on the first evening meal on the first night was truly excellent, so much so that my wife did not want to repeat the occasion on the second night because she had enjoyed it so much and thought it might spoil a good thing so Instead we ate in the Tower Restaurant at the hotel where we both enjoyed a very nice curry.
The spa facilities at the hotel take some beating. We're getting on a bit but both fit.
We didn't use the gym but there is a first class pool, a steam room and a sauna all of which we used on several occasions, the last time being 8 am on the morning of our departure.
On Saturday we did a 6 mile circular walk from Beaumaris.
I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending a stay at Tre-Ysgawen Hall.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 on the first floor which looked over the side garden. Nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigfishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed yourselves and that the team looked after you. We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

First of all the good stuff... First impressions are great, what an amazing building! The location is perfect, pretty easy to get too, but isolated enough to make you feel like you’ve really ‘got away’. It’s a beautiful old house, stacked full of history. We stayed the night, and stayed in a standard room, which was perfectly suitable, not ground breaking good but the hotels old school charm more than makes up for that. We ate in the hotel of the evening, and the food was absolutely stunning! It’s a 5 course meal, at about £35.00 a head, and it’s well worth it, some of the nicest food we’ve ever had, great service too, the lady that was waiting our table seemed to have perfect timing, waiting for lapses in conversation before moving us on to the next stage of our meal, which all contributed to what was a lovely evening dining experience. Checking in and out was easy enough and the hotel grounds are very pretty.

We had lunch in the Clock Tower restaurant too, which was lovely and tasty, reasonably priced too.

But unfortunately I should now balance this review by mentioning the bad stuff, and it really is a massive shame because what lets this amazing hotel down is its attached Spa. My wife and I booked this hotel mainly to make use of its spa facilities. Our bad Spa experience started two days before our arrival at the hotel, my wife called the Spa to book a treatment which she had chosen from the hotel’s website, the member of staff she spoke to mentioned that the treatment she wanted wasn’t available any more, due to the Spa being ‘between product suppliers’, my wife asked for advice as to an alternative treatment, she was advised to decide when we arrived and she had a chance to speak to one of therapists. So on arrival that’s exactly what we did, we picked up there new treatment menu from there reception and went to the spa to book the treatments, we we’re told the new treatment she had chosen wasn’t available yet either! We were also told they didn’t have the old or the new products and in fact hadn’t even been trained for a lot of the treatments from the new menu yet. The chap on reception mentioned training was starting tomorrow, and that it was ‘just an awkward time at the moment’.

So our spa experience got off to a bad start, and it didn’t get better. Once we had checked into the Spa we were given our spa robes and towels, which were thread bare, old and falling apart!

The Spa itself was nice, but rough around the edges... the lights in the Sauna we’re broken, which is at best an annoyance, at worst possibly a little dangerous! The Jacuzzi was dirty, there was sludge from people’s body lotions and hair gels coating the sides of the tub, whilst we accept that isn’t entirely the fault of the Spa itself we did witness the Jacuzzi being cleaned, which consisted of it being drained and re-filled, but the Jacuzzi itself wasn’t wiped down, so the same sludge remained on the sides of the Jacuzzi. My wife was also shocked to see that the shower room in the ladies changing rooms was unclean with dirt coating the edges of the room.

It’s a great shame because these are all minor details, but these small details amassed really detract from what could and should be a lovely Spa.

All in all, we’d recommend the hotel itself in a heartbeat, the food is lovely and the location is perfect. But if it’s a luxury spa you’re looking for, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernPride76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback and the kind things you said about the hotel and the stay you had. I have asked the Spa Manager to draft a response to your feedback -

We’re so sorry to hear that the spa didn’t meet with your expectations. Although there was some training taking place that week, we did have treatment slots available later on each day up until 8.30 pm and can only apologise that you were not advised to book these in advance of arrival. Training of staff is something we are committed and this takes place from time to time to ensure our therapist’s skills are continually improved upon.

We do take every care to ensure that everything is well maintained in the spa and that cleanliness is of the highest standard. Your points will be taken on board and where necessary we will brief our team.

We would like to assure you that we all take great pride in the facility and service that we provide here and hope that you will consider returning in the future so that we can restore your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

After attending 2 receptions in the past this time was disappointing - on arrival 2 members of staff stood at the door,not speaking to anyone to ask if they would like a drink or canape. We were then ushered into the Anglesey Suite where the tables were very well laid out. Unfortunately, the food left much to be desired - plates were cold, chicken fillets in warm sauce and only 6 chips per person according to Danielle - in case they ran out - surely knowing the number of guests expected the hotel should have catered accordingly. Would have to think twice before accepting another invitation as it would cost the host more than the worth of it.
Called at Chinese Restaurant on way home had a good meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I have spoken to the team about the issues and hopefully these have been resolved now. We were sorry to hear you found the experience disappointing, but we had very positive reviews from the bridal party and other guests. We hope your next experience will be a better one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

wanted a few days quiet so i booked for the second time it was worth every penny food out of this world friendly staff ideal if you want peace and quiet going back in may plenty of nice places around hotel holyhead, beaumaris, bangor the gardens are superb for a nice stroll after dinner

Room Tip: book it now
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thanks for the review, glad you had an enjoyable time here. We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
992 reviews
8.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
319 reviews
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 5 in Beaumaris
716 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,588 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Property: Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Otel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing