We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mother's Day lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Rhosllanerchrugog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mother's Day lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Having booked the meal on the recommendation of someone else we were certainly not disappointed on our arrival at the hotel with the lovely gardens and surroundings
The disappointment only started once we got inside , we were not greeted by anyone and upon asking the receptionist where to go we were told to "go to the bar" they're sorting it out in there , into the bar we went where we were ignored for 5 minutes at the bar itself , we were then asked if we had a reservation , I gave my name and waited while the person looked and then exclaimed your not booked in , then asked how I spelled my name , I told here to which she then replied oh there's a pemberly here that must be it , we were then told to take a seat as someone would bring menus and take a drinks order . Again we waited for 5-10 minutes in the dimly lit and dingy looking bar , our order was taken and went through to the table , food was excellent and so were the waitresses service and nothing was not too much trouble , upon settling our bill however we were greeted by a rude bar man who took us through to reception to pay , this was supposed to be a treat for our mum on Mother's Day and it was let down by a run down shabby looking interior to what could be a lovely place , it feels like the hotel is trying to be up market but actually isn't .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antemery2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry your experience was not enjoyable and you found staff to be rude. I have looked into this and mentioned it to departments so they can discuss with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    175
    79
    25
    20
See reviews for
91
389
9
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I went to this hotel and spa for 1 night only for my daughters birthday and mothers day. As we walked into the hotel we were speechless its beautiful,our room was a twin room with bath and shower and was lovely and clean. We thought we would have a snack as it would be a few hours till dinner so we ordered room service..i had a tuna sandwich and laura had a chicken salad ..they were like to main meals they were so large.We had a aroma massage for 30 mins which were lovely and relaxing and then we headed to the lovely pool and jaccuzi..wonderful. For our evening meal we went to the Clockhouse and had a wonderful meal..unfortunately there was nothing chocolaty for my daughter so we headed back to the room and ordered room service and she got a chocolate mousse and orange sorbet..wonderful. Breakfast the nxt morning was a cold buffet and hot cooked breakfast ,there was something for everyone.The staff are really kind and friendly and are eager to please. All in all we had a great time and i would go again and maybe take my husband .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Glad your daughter and yourself had a good time and that the team looked after you. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Haven't been here for a few years but was delighted to find the spa was even better than I remembered. Some new additions and improved decor in treatment rooms was welcome and made for a very enjoyable day. The package was fantastic value so I added a couple of extra treatments and all were top notch. My therapist, Natalie, was very friendly but worked out quickly that I didn't want to chat. Her technique in all treatments was the best I have experienced in many spa visits. Food at lunch was lovely and service in general couldn't be faulted. Can't wait to go again x

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Thedavoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Glad you had a good time and that you enjoyed the facilities and also the new ones. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

aven't been to Llangefni for years and didn't remember it being particularly worth returning to but then I spotted this deal on Secret Escapes and thought it would be nice to do for my birthday in March. The hotel is actually about 5 minutes or so outside Llangefni, an imposing building set in beautiful grounds.Inside it is like a stately home,very grand indeed.We had a lovely room but the next day when I tried the very powerful shower it apparently leaked into the restaurant below so we were asked to move to the newer part of the hotel.This was handled very well so I have no complaints and would say the new room (no 37) was even nicer.We tried out afternoon tea which was epic and pretty reasonable at just over £12.00. The spa facilities were great and a special mention must be made of Kelly my very friendly beauty therapist who is outstanding at reflexology.I fell asleep mid treatment which is a great compliment to her technique. Breakfast was served in a lovely conservatory and was to a very high standard.We had lunch in the Clock tower bistro and that was really nice.We didnt have an evening meal at the hotels main restaurant, it seemed quite expensive for that but would not rule it out when we go back. Service throughout was impeccable and we had a lovely time; even my husband enjoyed it and I wasn't sure he would as it was geared towards me being pampered, which I certainly was.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer part are better appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iannpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thanks for the review and glad you had a good time, glad that you were looked after and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My daughter and her new Husband had their wedding reception at this Hotel just yesterday 22nd March 2014.
This hotel, made it a wonderful time for them and our guests.
I cannot praise the food highly enough.
The service was fantastic, and they did everything to perfection.
The rooms were beautiful and clean.
Cant praise them highly enough.

Thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: Please try this place. Enjoy . Bedrooms either overlook the car park or over look a small garden pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwynp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Many thanks for your review, and so glad you had an excellent time. We hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

After a busy few weeks, my wife and I deserved a special break. Looking at various venues, we eventually chose the nearest - only about 10 miles away. We had driven past the entrance many times but as is often the case, if it's on your doorstep you never visit it. We parked up and entered through a grand double door. Already we felt special. Tina, the very helpful receptionist, greeted us and explained everything. Our bags were taken to our room and we went for a short walk in the expansive grounds. However the spa was calling and we quickly returned, grabbed our cossies and went for a dip. The spa facilities are fully available as part of the room cost and though we did not make use of the very well equipped gym, the sumptuous pool, sauna and jacuzzi were more than enough pampering! We showered and changed and made our way to the bar to browse the menu for Noelle's restaurant (a 5 course feast awaited).
Everything was cooked to perfection from the pea and mushroom soup to the cheesecake. I am a fussy eater but could not fault it. We retired to the library for coffee and later climbed the sweeping stairs back to our room.
Breakfast was all it should have been and more and both of us had a fantastic time. So much so that we have booked our return visit on 27th June to celebrate our retirement and move to Anglesey on that date in 2013. (We're thinking of returning again on 29th July when we celebrate our first meeting on that date in 1994)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smileymikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review, and glad everyone looked after you. We look forward to seeing you back in June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I've stayed at Tre-Ysgwaen on a few occasions with my partner and friends of ours, and we always have a fantastic time. Normally we arrive on a Friday afternoon / evening, (normally earlier than what we state!!) if our rooms aren't ready we sit in the lounge area for drinks and usually our bags will be in our rooms when they are ready. I haven't had a treatment in the spa however, we use the facilities within the spa which are lovely and clean. Towels and robes are available...love the machine that spins your cossie dry!!!

The food is amazing, the Head Chef is wondrous! We tend to eat from the A 'La Carte menu which is priced at roughly £32 a head (And I'm a fussy eater and there's always something that I can eat!) The breakfast is amazing.....there is a variety of cereals, patisseries, fruit, cold meats and cheese etc something for everyone. I like that the staff will then take your order for a cooked breakfast if you wish. Endless coffee and tea - nothing is too much trouble for the staff...always courteous and polite.

The rooms are so so comfy.....the beds are huge and soft....the bathroom is huge!!! Tea and coffee facilities etc available, plenty of wardrobe space too! I've primarily stayed on the ground floor which has huge doors which open onto a courtyard area...very pretty...

Overall I absolutely love staying at Tre-Ysgawen.

Room Tip: Personally I like the rooms on the ground floor near the Clock Tower restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Titchytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review, very glad that you enjoyed and returned. We look forward to seeing you return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#13 of 59 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Property: Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing