We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely venue and best food I've had in ages!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Llangefni, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely venue and best food I've had in ages!!!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had planned a romantic evening with my partner, but we struggled for somewhere to go. After a lot of deliberating at the last minute decided to go to Tre-Ysgawen and we weren't disappointed!
The food was absolutely lovely!! Best food I've had for ages!! The service was also really good. After our lovely meal we were then given the option of having our coffee in the library. There was a very relaxed atmosphere, we were not rushed at all!
Perfect romantic child free evening, well worth the money!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IWF674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank for the review, I am glad you both enjoyed and I am sure we will see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    181
    83
    25
    20
See reviews for
92
409
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Booked a 2 night stay, thought this would be very much a "well there's not much choice on Anglesey so it will have to do" type of weekend. We were pleasantly surprised, bedrooms 3.5, public rooms 4.5 staff 5 star and made a huge difference to what could have been a ok weekend, turned into a delightful weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old house FACING the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad the team looked after you. They do deserve praise. We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Booked the hotel for 3 nights through Amazon and thoroughly enjoyed it, the staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is set in lovely gardens and is kept immaculate and very picturesque. The rooms are nice and roomy and the pool ans spa are fantastic. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Use the pool it is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review, am glad that you enjoyed yourself and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Oh dear. We needed a place to unwind after a long journey and a stressful day. Tre-Ysgawen sounded like the right place, a peaceful country location, a classy restaurant. Well, the best-laid plans… I should confess we didn't use the spa, so maybe that was of a different order. But I think the real problem with Tre-Ysgawen is staff shortage. On arrival we were offered help with our luggage, but there was nobody in sight, so rather than wait we took our cases upstairs ourselves (no lift). A battle with the door lock ensued. 'When will they put in card locks?' sighed the friendly receptionist as she struggled to work the key. Got in eventually, a bit nervous about being locked out. Spacious room, tick; four-poster, tick; swagged curtains, tick. Now for a shower in the massive jacuzzi-style step-up bath. Ten minutes later water was cascading down the steps, with the bathroom a centimetre deep. Staff, alerted by a leaking ceiling on the floor below, appeared with towels and mops. 'All right now..?' Maybe.
Downstairs in 'Noelle's bar' (dedicated to the memory of a onetime occupant of the house who had died ominously young) we looked in vain for somebody to serve us a drink. The friendly floor-mopping Turkish handyman eventually appeared in his new guise as barman and served up a poor Bloody Mary and warm prosecco. The furniture was in serious need of a revamp, and the floor showed evidence of yesterday's unswept canapé garnishes.
Dinner was however, well-served, though the menu was of that unvaryingly safe, unimaginative but vaguely aspirational type which always includes balsamic dressing, fondant potatoes and desserts heavy on chocolate. But the wine list was generous and well-priced.
After a battle to pull the blinds down, we slept well. Next morning the bathroom flooded again.
Breakfast was a hideous inedible disaster. 'Smoked salmon' was in reality chunks of uncooked 'hot-smoked' salmon, challengingly raw. Eggs the palest shade of battery. Tomatoes tasted of water. It seemed like a good idea to get back on the A5 as soon as possible. so we went to pay the bill and told the receptionist about our experience with the plumbing. 'I'm so sorry,' she said amiably. 'What can I possibly do except apologise?' Well, I could have offered her a few suggestions - but knocking a percentage off our bill didn't seem to have occurred to her.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, don't choose the suite until they've sorted out the plumbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MargaretBritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thanks for your review and I apologise for your experience. The issue with the bathroom has now hopefully been sorted, that has never happened before so we weren't aware of the problem until it actually happened. I have spoken to the head chef regarding breakfasts and again can assure you it hardly ever happens how you experienced it even from past reviews below. Once again our apologies your experience was not what you expected it to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I went for easter break . Our room was lovely very clean . Breakfast on easter monday was dreadful was very busy, tables left uncleared two of waiting on staff seemed to be doing all the work other two not much else . Spa was good apart from hot tub which was very dirty grey scum . Left customer feed back form with hotel with coments . no reply from hotel . Our stay was overall good apart from breakfast and hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad you had an enjoyable stay apart from the breakfast service and the hot tub. We were aware of the issues of breakfast from other comments and reviews straight after and since then have hopefully improved the quality of service to the guests. I apologise for this and also the spa bath, I will look into that and I do hope that you will stay with us again so you can see the change
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A place that has it all. We booked 6 nights and we're not disappointed. The food was 5 star especially the cooked breakfast good quality products. The spa was used with its pool, gym, sauna and steam room(not working). The restaurant is well worth a visit for dinner at least once during a stay. The stable cafe is great value. We will return a place that is well worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed a lengthy stay. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a weekend package and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The bedroom was comfortable, the Spa and pool were superb, and the food was absolutely marvellous. The surrounding grounds were beautiful to walk in (although we didn't get much time to enjoy them),and all the staff were pleasant and helpful. A very pleasant and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask about the Wi-Fi strength - some rooms are very weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after you, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
972 reviews
8.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
314 reviews
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
707 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Property: Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing