We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

During a visit to family in Anglesey we dropped in to Tre Ysgawen Hall for a quick lunch, having very much enjoyed a champagne afternoon tea there a few years back. The main house itself seems not to be in use during the day, at least for non-residents, so we were taken to the lounge/bar/restaurant area in the converted 'Clock Tower' building at the back, which was a little bit of a shame as it doesn't possess any of the period grandeur or character that the main house has, which is what drew us there in the first place. We sat overlooking a very pretty, sunny courtyard which must be part of the spa as there were lots of bored-looking people sat around in white towelling robes, which I must say is not a particularly edifying sight when you're fully dressed and eating your lunch. You might have already guessed but I'm definitely not a 'spa break' sort of person! Gripes aside, the food was good, service was excellent and prices reasonable. I would go back, but I'd rather have afternoon tea in the drawing room again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blorenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the review and I am glad you enjoyed lunch. Lunch is available in the main house and so is afternoon tea but both have to booked 24 hours in advance. We hope to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    181
    83
    25
    20
See reviews for
92
409
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel had incredible grounds, well kept. Some staff were very friendly, others not so helpful. My main problem with the place is the price. Highly overpriced!!! Drinks were ridiculous! G&t were £5.50(gordons gin!!) . Rooms were also overpriced at £164 for a dated, very average room. Breakfast was also pretty poor for a 5 star hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the spa, lovely big pool, and sauna facilities! We still had an amazing weekend here, but this was mainly due to the wedding and the lovely weather.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank XMAzZX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We are aware some bedrooms need updating and have already refurbished seven bedrooms. We are a four star Country House Hotel not a five star as you mention. Sorry that you thought th drinks were over priced. I am glad that you still had an amazing weekend and you enjoyed the wedding and the weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A magnificent country house set in beautiful grounds. A hotel with real character befitting of a grand country house. High ceilings, fine décor and large welcoming entrance hall with spectacular staircase rising to the first floor. Rooms in the old house are all unique and have character. The staff are helpful, attentive and efficient. The bar and library are relaxing. The clock tower is a nice informal bistro restaurant with a good choice and nice relaxed atmosphere. We ate in the Noelle restaurant on our last night, not cheap but well worth the price. Brilliant service, fine food and refined atmosphere, a special mention for Swyn who was exceptional. All in all a tremendous short stay for us in a really special hotel.

Room Tip: We were at the front which have lovely views over the front lawn an drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolf5424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Staff were all helpful and pleasant, we had 2 rooms booked both were tired and the beds hard and not comfortable, the breakfast was poor, again waiting staff were helpful although we had to ask for toast and only brown available! Scrambled eggs were really poor and over cooked and really not impressed with the tiny sausage, one slice of bacon and half a tomato part of the full breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for the review. I will speak to the head chef about the problems you encountered with the food. Apologies if you thought the bedrooms were tired, we have recently refurbished seven bedrooms. I am glad that the team looked after you and will sort some training out to remember to ask about the toast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

What a wonderful place to relax. The staff are so polite, efficient and friendly. They couldn't do enough without being too overbearing. The meals in the Clock Tower were very good and the gardens extensive. Our room was all we could have asked for and more, although I suspect there may be some needing a little TLC somewhere in a building of this age. Well done to the Management and staff. I'm sure we will return.

Room Tip: I would suggest you leave the hotel to choose a room that hopefully suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and the team looked after you, we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Hi there,
Our first visit to Tre-Ysgawen Hall Country House Hotel & Spa was a short, yet most enjoyable vacation. A beautiful location and lavish decor ideally suited for leisurely days, festivities, weddings, travel, holidays, including Fine Dining or alternatively enjoy relaxed dining experience in The Clock Tower Restaurant. There are lovely Spa facilities, although, we chose to simply enjoy the relaxing ambience of Tre-Ysgawen Hall which has been tastefully re-furbished. Our first floor room provided a perfect retreat overlooking the beautifully landscaped gardens and surrounding woodland. It was also conveniently located to Beaumaris where we enjoyed our visit and coastal trips to Puffin Island. After reading about the history of Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Capel Coch, Llangefni, I was inspired to write this poem as novel way of capturing our experience of our stay at this landmark location on the Isle of Anglesey. I was also driven to graphically illustrate my own art, based on a sculpture (s) by Swiss artist ‘Housi Knecht, called ‘ HARPE D’EAU’. His sculptures are wonderful, as are others. I named my modest impression, of his sculpture ( Telyn Gwladaidd ) English Translation, ‘Rustic Harp’. Hope you are inspired too…we were!!


An Ode To Tre-Ysgawen Hall

If thou doth cometh across Tre-Ysgawen Hall,
Your spirit it will lift;
For tranquil gardens and chirpy birds,
Are just some of life’s simple gifts,

The sculptures at Tre-Ysgawen Hall,
Sit comfortably in their garden place,
A welcome, for one and all,
A smiling face and good grace;
Found at Tre-Ysgawen Hall;

The olde worlde clock tower,
Ancient stone walls, preserved and restored ,
How many faces, hath passed this way,
And how many ships, have been moored;

If you seek fine dining or relaxed cuisine,
Then Tre-Ysgawen Hall, provides for both,
On either side, I’ve seen;

Shall I visit again, I’m sure,
I cannot fault its location or tenure,
Let me just say, if a bargain’s on offer,
Tre-Ysgawen, I shall easily endure;

But until that day,
I’ll remember my stay
At sumptuous Tre-Ysgawen Hall,

“Diolch yn fawr, to one and all”. Best wishes, Paul R

Room Tip: We opted for the Traditional Wing of Tre-Ysgawen Hall which allowed us to enjoy the experience and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Many thanks for the review and taking the time with the poem, we all thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I am glad that you enjoyed yourselves and the team looked after you. We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This place is really off the main road, but the reward to us was a very large room with a four-poster bed and a large bathroom with a bathtub for two. And the wellness-area with the very large indoor pool was very nice.
The house had been a mansion until a few years back, and especially the surrounding garden is amazing and very well kept. According to the gardener the garden is much older than the house (125 years), and you tend to believe it.
Cleanliness is not their strong side – especially the thick carpets everywhere had not been vacuum-cleaned recently.
The staff’s attitude was very “either/or”. Some were very attentive and focused on good service, and others – especially some of the young ones – were not.
But all in all we enjoyed our stay here. If you like being “put back in time” to four-poster bed and thick carpets and very quiet atmosphere, this is a good place to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Ask for four-poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AarhusHenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thanks for the review, I am glad on the whole that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and were impressed with the gardens. I will look into the issues that you have raised. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
973 reviews
8.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
314 reviews
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
707 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,562 reviews
10.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Property: Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing