We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fiasco!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Been to this hotel twice before brought 7 friends for the weekend. Beautiful hotel and spa but the food is a let down. Had 4 meals taken off the bill on first night. Second night hotel had no gas so the evening meal was a disaster. Over cooked. No apologises offered. We were treated appalling spoken to rudely by staff and on checking out when I mentioned this no response other than 'oh right'. No apology!! The lad at the clock tower and staff at the spa are great, shame about the rest!! Think they may have a new chef. If not they need one!! They need to sort it out ASAP!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the review, sorry to hear about your experience. We did experience difficulties with the gas which unfortunately was out of our control and made things harder for the team, which they shouldn’t take out on the guests. It did make cooking very difficult for the kitchen team and the chef has been with us for over seven years. I will pass your comments on and have it addressed. If you decide to stay again please let me know and I am sure I can sort something out for you to hopefully make your experience a bit better
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    180
    81
    25
    20
See reviews for
92
406
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our 4 day break, but we decided to eat out as we found the food over priced for what was provided. You definitely need a car as it really is in the middle of nowhere, but if that's what you want then all will be well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for the review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry to hear you thought the food over priced but I am glad you liked the hall and the team looked after you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Our stay at this hotel was a pleasure. Very good bistro, not overpriced in our opinion. Good quality food and friendly staff. Our room was huge with a four-poster bed and bay window overlooking the superb front garden. Choose one of the grand rooms. It is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bixkut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed your time at the hall. Hope to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A lovely old country house updated with modern rooms and spa. A quiet retreat in the middle of countryside. Went on a special offer which was great value for money. Free use of pool, spa pool and heat treatment rooms which is a great bonus.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puffinlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the review glad you made use of the spa facilities and enjoyed your time at the hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

During a visit to family in Anglesey we dropped in to Tre Ysgawen Hall for a quick lunch, having very much enjoyed a champagne afternoon tea there a few years back. The main house itself seems not to be in use during the day, at least for non-residents, so we were taken to the lounge/bar/restaurant area in the converted 'Clock Tower' building at the back, which was a little bit of a shame as it doesn't possess any of the period grandeur or character that the main house has, which is what drew us there in the first place. We sat overlooking a very pretty, sunny courtyard which must be part of the spa as there were lots of bored-looking people sat around in white towelling robes, which I must say is not a particularly edifying sight when you're fully dressed and eating your lunch. You might have already guessed but I'm definitely not a 'spa break' sort of person! Gripes aside, the food was good, service was excellent and prices reasonable. I would go back, but I'd rather have afternoon tea in the drawing room again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blorenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks for the review and I am glad you enjoyed lunch. Lunch is available in the main house and so is afternoon tea but both have to booked 24 hours in advance. We hope to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel had incredible grounds, well kept. Some staff were very friendly, others not so helpful. My main problem with the place is the price. Highly overpriced!!! Drinks were ridiculous! G&t were £5.50(gordons gin!!) . Rooms were also overpriced at £164 for a dated, very average room. Breakfast was also pretty poor for a 5 star hotel. The best thing about the hotel is the spa, lovely big pool, and sauna facilities! We still had an amazing weekend here, but this was mainly due to the wedding and the lovely weather.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank XMAzZX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We are aware some bedrooms need updating and have already refurbished seven bedrooms. We are a four star Country House Hotel not a five star as you mention. Sorry that you thought th drinks were over priced. I am glad that you still had an amazing weekend and you enjoyed the wedding and the weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A magnificent country house set in beautiful grounds. A hotel with real character befitting of a grand country house. High ceilings, fine décor and large welcoming entrance hall with spectacular staircase rising to the first floor. Rooms in the old house are all unique and have character. The staff are helpful, attentive and efficient. The bar and library are relaxing. The clock tower is a nice informal bistro restaurant with a good choice and nice relaxed atmosphere. We ate in the Noelle restaurant on our last night, not cheap but well worth the price. Brilliant service, fine food and refined atmosphere, a special mention for Swyn who was exceptional. All in all a tremendous short stay for us in a really special hotel.

Room Tip: We were at the front which have lovely views over the front lawn an drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolf5424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreYsgawenHall, Manager at Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llangefni
8.8 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
8.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
310 reviews
12.3 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
700 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#15 of 60 in Llandudno
668 reviews
20.6 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa

Property: Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Address: Capel Coch, Llangefni LL77 7UR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Llangefni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llangefni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reached along a private wooded drive, Tre-Ysgawen Hotel & Spa is gracefully set in peaceful, beautifully maintained gardens in the very heart of Anglesey in North Wales. We at Tre-Ysgawen look forward to welcoming you to a charming and elegant country hotel were you can enjoy tranquility, relaxation and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel Llangefni
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel And Spa Llangefni, Island Of Anglesey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing