We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“culture without pain”
Review of Oriel Ynys Mon

Oriel Ynys Mon
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Llangefni
Attraction details
Llangefni, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“culture without pain”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I learnt so much about Anglesey in their display that my brain hurt! The cafe produces quality food at reasonable prices so what more could you ask for (and by the way it's free!)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank smileymikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    51
    13
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
268 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Purpose built museum and arts gallery. We visited to view some of Sir Kyffin Williams work as we were staying at his former home. We neded up staying for a few hours vieiwng work of local artists, an exhibition on the history of Anglesey and having a meal in the excellent cafe. Well worth a visit especially if the weather isn't great. Head to Llangefni and its signpostyed from the town centre.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Digby98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I am local and visit the cafe regularly with friends or sometimes family.. Unfailingly a welcome awaits you. I never spend much there but no matter, a warm and smiling welcome is always on hand. The cafe is excellent value with a good choice of food. The shop is lovely with all sorts of different and unusual gifts.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank suitcase0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting on Anglesey”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is one of our 'must visits' every time we come to Anglesey whether it is with friends or family. We always do the 'Nant Y Pandy' woodland walk (The Dingle, just on the outskirts of Llangefni town centre - follow the brown signs) and then on to the Gallery Ynys Mon for lunch and a wander round the gallery. There is always something different to see there, and the shop always has locally-made gifts, again always different. One room is now more educational and has things for children to look at and play with. Even my husband who is not at all interested in art enjoys a trip to Oriel Ynys Mon. The food in the café is good and the people are always friendly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Car0le88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wargrave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“always good value and worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I think that this is an excellent gallery
the Kyffin Williams exhibition based on the influence of Venice is a real must
i am surprised that it has not been on at the national museum in cardiff - it certainly should be moved own there

but the cafe is also excellent value and a good place to eat
we had a great lunch in there on saturday
the service was also very friendly and high quality
the food is cooked whilst you wait so fresh and hot
if it is run by the council they do seem to be able to get something right!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2590861Davidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oriel Ynys Mon also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Llanddeusant, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Oriel Ynys Mon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing