We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely warm cosy hotel”
Review of The Anglesey Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anglesey Arms
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely warm cosy hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I arrived alone on a Sunday evening for a one night stay. I had taken the boat to Holyhead from Dublin, a train from Holyhead to Bangor and then a taxi to the AA. I was glad of a warm relaxed setting. The staff were friendly and the room was lovely. The highlight of my stay was the food. A beautifully presented meal which filled my belly. I would most definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling on business in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AifricOMalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words.
It means an enormous amount to the team when we receive these types of review.
Everyone puts in a great amount of effort and it is great to see it is appreciated.

thanks again

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    147
    66
    33
    29
See reviews for
112
156
14
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We went for our 25th anniversary to the Anglesey Arms as it was there we had our wedding reception back in 1988.
When we arrived we were taken to our table with a free bottle of bubbly ready on it, after settling in we were asked if we wanted to see the place now it's been renovated, we did and had a grand tour of what looks like an excellent hotel.
Back to the food we ordered anti pasta to start, lovely, main was chicken in to sauce for me and tagliatelle for my husband again absolutely gorgeous, sweet we shared cheese and bis as we were both stuffed.
The service we received was superb, the hotel was full as was the Restaraunt due it being graduation week, however we were treated as if we were the most important people there.
We will be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your review

we are all very happy you enjoyed your time with us on this special occasion.

See you again soon

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We visited with our 2 year old and 8 week old daughters. Food was lovely but the service could have been vastly improved. It wasn't even busy. Staff hanging around not knowing where to put themselves. Lack of knowledge too. Only AFTER we had ordered were we told they didn't have any Seabass. Slow clearance of tables. Staff need educating about service and a kick up the proverbial. One girl doing all the work! Would go again if service improves.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ALessels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
I have had a period away and would love to speak to you directly regarding your comments.
Kind regards
Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at the Anglesey Arms for 3 nights with our 2 dogs, and can not find a negative thing to say about the hotel, the staff were excellent a really friendly bunch of people. The food was again excellent and value for money. Thought the rooms were very comfortable, am quite fussy about my pillows but must say I slept like a baby, all rooms tastefully decorated. The situation of the hotel was great for us with the dogs right at the end of the Menai Bridge we had some lovely walks first thing of a morning and at night and saying that never heard any traffic in the room. Would we go back!! You bet roll on September looking forward to it

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your Fantastic review.
we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bala, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The food is nice but poor value for money, as the ultra fancy plates they use have obviously been cleverly chosen to restrict the amount of food one can present on it, in other words, the portions are very small.

For the two of us .... a starter followed by a main course and one alcoholic beverage each and we were already up to £77.60p ..... we skipped the sweet!

Found it a little uncomfortable being asked if everything was OK every 10 minutes.
We would not go there again i don't think.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
I am very sorry you didn't find your experience satisfactory.
I would love to discuss your experience with you directly especially to ascertain what were the poor value meals on the menu.
I am also perplexed as to how you were charged so much for your meals as I get to £52 as an average.
I look forward to discussing with you directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had a birthday party here recently and would recommend it as a venue The staff were all friendly and attentive. We had also booked a room for the night, we had a lovely room at the front of the hotel which was large and very comfortable. Many guests commented on how helpful the car park attendant was.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your, which I have shown to the team.
It brought a smile to most of the teams faces especially Brian our car Park attendant, who is really an unsung hero.

Thanks again

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We went to The Anglesey Arms in Menai Bridge, as the prize for winning Bride of the Month, in a local paper. It was a very comfortable place to eat, for families as well as couples. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. The price was on par with a good eaterie.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ezza600, General Manager at The Anglesey Arms, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your review and congratulations on your Bride of The Month Prize.

It is great to know you had a good evening with us.

we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
1.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
349 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
16.0 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms

Property: The Anglesey Arms
Address: Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anglesey Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Anglesey Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Menai Bridge
The Anglesey Arms Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing