We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Birthday Meal”
Review of The Anglesey Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Anglesey Arms
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Birthday Meal”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It was a friends birthday. We'd heard good things about the food at The Anglesey Arms, Menai Bridge and as there is plenty of parking and it's centrally located, booked a table for 11 of us.

The table was ready for us on arrival in a good position. We sat and waited. Unfortunately, nobody came to take our drink order or to offer us menus. We ordered drinks at the bar and after half an hour asked for menus. It took some time for the waitress to come and take our order. On the plus side, when our main courses arrived they were lovely.

Again the Customer Service failed when it came to ordering desserts and coffee. We waited over an hour and it was only once prompted that a girl came over to take our orders and clear the main course dishes. The puddings were delicious but the coffee was pretty poor.

Nobody came to our table to ask if we needed anything throughout the meal. We could have walked out without paying. It was almost like we were invisible. As we were putting our coats on to go, we had to request the bill as again we were being ignored. Our payment was left on the table and we had to ask a member of staff to take the money from the table, which appeared to be a bit of an effort on her part!

In fairness to The Anglesey Arms, it was a busy evening in the pub. Maybe they were low on staff, but that does not excuse the shoddy way we were treated. We didn't want to be pampered but basic customer service would have been good.

It didn't appear that anybody was in charge of over seeing the requirements of customers ordering/eating food and maybe this is something that the management need to address to be certain of repeat local custom.

On reflection I'm disappointed in my experience of The Anglesey Arms Hotel, after hearing positive comments, I had expected a lot better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    151
    71
    34
    33
See reviews for
117
163
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We met friends for an evening meal. Our friends commented that the prices had risen since they visited last. However we felt that the meal represented good value, and the service was good. The vegetarian option was excellent.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Visited the Anglesey New Years eve. Selected the fish and chips and other members in the party selected other options from the menu. Excellent quality and portions sizes. All in all well worth a visit thanks guys

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gow768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my elderly grandparents from London and I must say I was very happy! The food was cooked to a high standard and beautifully presented with just enough to fill you. My grandmother had the smoked salmon started and fish and chips main which she enjoyed very much as did my grandfather with his soup and steak, I had fishcakes which were beautiful and the pork belly which was to die for!
The service received from the staff was warm and friendly with nothing being to much bother for them. We were offered drink refiles at the table which was lucky as the bar was very busy. One of the local waitresses was very helpful with giving us advise of places to visit and things to do as we were down and had plenty of time for us and all our questions even though she was very busy.
Safe to say I will defiantly be returning next time I am down.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Friendofal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Wales
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booked a table a couple of weeks in advance. Busy in the bar on arrival but not at the tables. Warm welcome from Reception and our waitress. Unfortunately from there it went downhill. We were very hungry after travelling for a few hours so ordered the chicken terrine to share which was bland and the ‘piccalilli’ with it was just mini cauliflower florets. For the main I chose the rack of lamb. At £17.95 I expected a rack, not 2 fiddly cutlets which were stringy and tasteless. He chose pork belly which was ok although the crackling was overdone and very difficult to eat. We also ordered a side order of chips which were hard so I let the waitress know. She actually squashed 2 chips between her fingers at the table to test them before disappearing into the kitchen with them! A replacement bowl arrived a few mins later. Some were cooked but some were still hard. My husband managed to finish my meal as I couldn’t. In hindsight we should have complained there and then but we were so disappointed we just paid and left. We've always made this a port of call on arrival on Anglesey, never again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Booked for our New Year's Eve early afternoon lunch and had a lovely meal. The staff where very friendly and had plenty of time even though the place was busy. The food was of excellent standard and very well presented and complimented by a very reasonably priced wine list. This was our first visit but certainly won't be our last

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robintillbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I attended a party at the Anglesey Arms and have to say it was quite an experience.

The room was decorated lovely and tables were dressed well. However, as we sat down ready for our meal we noticed that there was no water on the table to have with the food. So my friend asked a waitress for some water only to be smirked at and the waitress walked off - presumably to get the water - no, this didn't happen.

The food that was served was very bland and needed a bit of seasoning (lucky there was salt and pepper on the table) Would not have food there again if I'm honest.

I understand that it was a very busy night and the staff were on the go however the sweat dripping off a couple of the waiters was not very nice - especially when serving food! The waitresses were dropping cutlery everywhere. Not very professional. When we asked for some clean wine glasses - the waitress handed over 12 tumbler glasses which hadn't even been washed! We obviously sent these back and eventually were give clean glasses.

The ladies toilets were a disgrace! There were glasses all over the place along with vomit and other things! It was an awful smell.

Overall opinion of the Anglesey Arms - Leaves a lot to be desired and wouldn't recommend based on this experience I'm afraid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bychan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
1.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
997 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
16.0 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 5 in Beaumaris
718 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms

Property: The Anglesey Arms
Address: Mona Road, Menai Bridge LL59 5EA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anglesey Arms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Anglesey Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Menai Bridge
The Anglesey Arms Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing