We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent lunch”
Review of Jade Village

Jade Village
Ranked #18 of 36 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“an excellent lunch”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We go regularly for the excellent set lunch.
Prompt service. No intrusive music. Very good price.
Though choice necessarily limited there is a selection of starters and main courses.
Chris James

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    81
    51
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Will not rush back”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

As a lover of Chinese food was excited to be having lunch here. The set meal for lunchtime was of good value and we ordered promptly. Lack of atmosphere ruined the place a little light music was much needed staff of three was ok but the food was also just ok...doubt id rush back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sit. Eat. Pay. Leave.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We thought our kids were at the age where it would be nice to take them to somewhere different from McDonalds, to prove that there is more variety out there. We decided on Jade Village, as some work colleagues had been there and spoke favourably of the place.

We had a early warning regarding service when a gruff "Yes?" was the method in which they answered the telephone. There was so little spoken by the person at the end of the phone, we're not sure if they took our booking or not. There was a table when we arrived, thankfully.

To be honest, the food was not particularly inspiring, all pretty run of the mill stuff, and at £21 a head for a banquet meal, I would have expected some of the usual prawn toasts and spring rolls as usually served with banquets in other establishments. The kids thought it was great, but they've never experienced any other Chinese restaurants in which to form a prior benchmark.

Service was solemn, and we had to remind the waiter a number of times to serve our drinks. When the final coffee was served, the waiter was already heading to another table when the coffee was flung onto the table, spilling some of it.

Shame - it could have been much better. Will I go back? Probably, as I usually give a restaurant the benefit of the doubt.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“good value”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

we go for set menu at lunchtime decent value and good choice menu not changed often enough though for luntime can be repetative after few visits but it is a nice meal

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Chinese restaurants all seem to share the same style of rather cold robotic service and so it was when we visited last Sunday evening. The restaurant was very quiet and consequently we were seated swiftly and our order taken shortly after. We chose a mixture of banquets as there were 6 of us and our food arrived reasonably quickly. The food was tasty enough but no more than any other similar establishment and the menu choices are replicated nation wide so to really impress any Chinese restaurant would have to be really special and frankly the Jade just isn't. Yes we probably will return but not because this is a special place to dine but like many other similar eateries it's a safe choice for a quick tea when a group just want to chat without the hassle of having to think too much about what's on the plate.. Mind you the odd smile from the staff would be nice.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jade Village also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to Jade Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing