We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

The Straits Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
98 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Visited The Straits after reading other reviews written here. Wow!! One of the best meals my husband and I have ever had, and we do enjoy a good meal. What made it even better was the fantastic value. We visited on a Tuesday night in May (not half term) and we were lucky to get a table. Well supported by the local, which is always good in holiday destinations. Just wish we lived nearer and could visit more often. We will be going again.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CWilliams236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    68
    22
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another great night!”
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Second time of visiting, and this place just gets better. Went for the a la carte and the food was great and still reasonably priced. The lamb was the best I'd had in a long time and sat on a bed of risotto - which is one of my favourite foods anyway.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jjibberish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the food was fantastic”
Reviewed 2 May 2011

we had fantastic food and will be coming back very soon well done to the staff !!!!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jazz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really glad we tried it out and looking forward to going again!”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Always looking for places to try and these reviews indicated that the straits was worth looking at-and they were right. Three of us (parents and Uni son) tried out the fixed price-different selection to on line menu-tried quesadilla, chicken Menai and salmon en croute served with fresh veg, plus chips, added on two puddings-plum crumble and fresh vanilla cheesecake. All to be recommended to family, friends and neighbours!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jjibberish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything Perfect”
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We went as a result of previous reviews, and were not disappointed.Service speedy and friendly and the food was cooked to perfection. In the end we ate from the fixed price menu. £13.95 for 2 courses, and it was super food. I also got the impression that whatever we had chosen would have been perfection. We went on a Wednesday and it was fairly full downstairs so, I would recommend booking.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank who7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Straits Restaurant also viewed

Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 
Menai Bridge, Island of Anglesey
 

Been to The Straits Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing