We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Outbuildings
Nearby Hotels
Gazelle Hotel(Menai Bridge)
US$100
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Victoria Hotel(Menai Bridge)
US$113
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel(Llanfairpwllgwyngyll)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Bangor Hotel(Bangor)(Great Value!)
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bangor Wales(Bangor)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
Auckland Arms(Menai Bridge)
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Anglesey Arms(Menai Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Rhianfa(Menai Bridge)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
201
24
11
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
201
24
11
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink hutboys roomb bother guestsshepherd's huthome made cakeshigh standardon arrivalcoffee and cakelittle touchesthe main housevery special placeget togetherattention to detailevening mealrelaxing weekenddining room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stayed in the Outbuildings for a 2 night stay at the end of April, and had a fantastic time.

The property is well hidden down some country lanes, a couple of miles from the nearest small village but with with the backdrop of the Welsh mountains and some lovely spring sunshine we found the location bewitching.

The accomodation is very comforatble, and has been decorated to a very high standard. We stayed in the Button Room, which must be heaven for anyone who likes the colour pink!

The welcome from Bun & her helpers was very warm & genuinely helpful. It went way beyond what you would normally expect from a B&B.

We'd love to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Not having experienced a B&B stay for years, the Outbuildings are as far removed from my memory of gloom, net curtains and Aspidistra as can be imagined. Fresh, clean, bright and modern, yet perfectly blended into the delightful and well fitted range of traditional Welsh outbuildings. Plenty of space and a lack of clutter inside and out, located within ten minutes of the best beach walk on the Island and with a marvellous view back to Snowdonia ticked all our boxes.
Our stay coincided with perfect weather and so I can't comment on the heating issue that others have raised. Bun seems to be a dynamo and everything is absolutely ship shape. Thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and will not need to look any further when we return to Anglesey.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HensJak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

My partner and i stayed at the outbuildings at the beginning of April and we absolutely loved it. The place looks amazing when you are driving up to it, and as you pull in the staff come out to greet you. We got shown to our room which i thought was perfect, although like someone said in an earlier review, it was a little cold, which would be fine in summer but as its still a bit nippy it could do with the heating being on, needless to say it didnt put us off. The bed was unbelievably comfy !! We havent slept that well in years !! Again like other people have said, the cakes are a nice touch as its just what we needed after a day at the beach. I noticed on other reviews a few people were nit picking about small things such as the wool fabric on the handle to protect the wall, we did notice it too but come on ! a small thing like that shouldnt be something to complain about. I'm sure it didnt affect your stay? The staff were very very pleasant, especially the girl who did the cooking and shown us around, sorry cant remember her name, she was really helpful with everything and did a lovely breakfast.
We had our dog with us, who isnt very friendly to other dogs, so were concerned about how that would be to take him out as they have a dog, but cocoa is so friendly and didnt come near him after the first time. So if you are bringing a dog to stay, you will have no problems as it really is dog friendly.
The price we paid is about normal for Anglesey, and you would think it would be a lot more expensive as the quality of the room is excellent.
The last thing i want to mention is the food. The food was lovely , really tasty.It was no more than we pay at home for a more expensive meal as a treat, my only negative comment was there was no atmosphere in the dining room, we were the only guests staying , so it was deadly quiet, which is probably another reason there was no atmosphere, but there was no music on in that room. You could hear a pin drop. To be honest that made the night because we got the giggles. Sorry to put a negative about the place because it really was fantastic, i'd just rather give constructive criticism, so maybe it would help for others. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimnabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

As we drove up the drive the Outbuildings lights were shining out warmly to welcome us. Judith Matthews, the proprietor, greeted us equally warmly and after a few minutes of unrushed chat by the crackling log fire, we were shown to our rooms.
Each room is different but we loved the layout, lighting and furnishing of ours, together with its bright and warm colour theme. The tea tray, laid with fine china cups and teapot, homemade cake and fresh milk was a treat to be enjoyed when we had unpacked.
The bathroom was spotless and warm, and the shower had an unending supply of hot water to soothe weary travellers!
After a glass of wine by the fire we enjoyed dinner with Judith and other guests and it was a relaxed and delicious meal. The food we enjoyed included an outstanding Chicken Liver Pate served with warm toast, Beef Wellington cooked to perfection with wonderful vegetables (including an artichoke puree that was so flavoursome, I went and bought artichokes the next week in an attempt to replicate it!) and then a Chocolate Mousse and Coffee to finish. The standard of cooking was excellent and dinner was served by smart and friendly young staff in the Outbuildings Dining Room. We gather that much of the food is sourced locally, cooked by the magical and talented Caroline (whose surname I am afraid I do not know) and it was delicious.
Others staying were away for a relaxing weekend with friends and another couple had just completed their first walk up Snowdon! There was no obligation to talk to other guests, but the atmosphere meant that those who wanted to chat did so most comfortably. We enjoyed a post prandial chat around the fire and then retired to our room. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and sleep, in the peace, warmth and velvety darkness of The Outbuildings and it's countryside surroundings did not elude us.
Breakfast the next morning was a treat, from the fruit salad to the toast via bacon, eggs, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms and black pudding for one of us and a more modest breakfast for the other! Porridge or just cereal was on offer as were poached, fried or boiled eggs if required. Tea and Coffee and fruit juice were all available, even my hot water and lemon! Caroline, who had cooked us dinner the evening before, gave everyone a breakfast of their choice to start the day.
How would I rate this weekend break? Outstanding, we shall return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsParticular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Arrived and was offered a welcome drink. they didnt appear to be very keen, and advised us that the dog woukld have to stay alone in the boiler room, as there are" cream carpets in the bedrooms"???!!!???
On the website when booking it mentioned pets were allowed. When we enquired could one of our party take the dog,
Food quality good, but all parties had to have the same meal, (Not the best if you are travelling with veggies!)
Rather cold, as was a large converted barn, did ask was the heating working, and was advised "did we know the price of oil these days" not the best response from your host in my opinion.
Had a fun, but this was only due to being part of a large party. Not the place to go as a couple.
The two young girls who served the food were very accomodating, and pleasent. On the plus side the bed was very comfy zzzzzz!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suzanne83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews