We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning wedding venue”
Review of The Outbuildings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A stunning wedding venue”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We were married at The Outbuildings in early July. The venue is a beautifully converted barn in grounds which show North Wales at its very best, commanding views over Snowdonia and out over rolling mid-Anglesey fields.

Every detail of the Outbuildings reflects investment in quality and attention to detail. The main hall’s wooden beams and stone fireplace contrast with huge windows and a light wood floor to create a delightful mix of rustic and modern. The decoration throughout shows thought and personality, a quirky but tasteful mix of colours and interesting artefacts and pictures in every nook and cranny. The four bedrooms are simple and classy, again showing creative use of colour.

Having been one of the first weddings to book at the Outbuildings, we worked with the owner and staff for over a year before the big day itself. They strove extremely hard to ensure a perfect experience, accommodating one request after another to make for a truly individual wedding day, an impression that is not always made in some larger, more commercial venues. They have clearly developed an excellent network of contacts across all the necessary extras (florists, suit hire, transport etc) and provided sound advice throughout, which was especially appreciated as we do not live locally.

As a venue for a summer wedding the Outbuildings is stunning, with the beautiful hall for the ceremony (or the option to use the balcony for smaller weddings), glorious lawn for the reception and option to have the meal in a marquee which is tastefully decorated and with lighting bordering on the extravagant. Equally having visited on some grey autumn days we could really see how the warmth and brightness of the décor would lend itself to a winter wedding as well.

Although our wedding breakfast was catered externally (as at the time we booked the chef hadn’t started), the food we ate at the Outbuildings (one dinner and two breakfasts) was excellent; tasty and fresh and using local ingredients.

Overall we had an wonderful wedding experience at the Outbuildings, had extremely positive feedback from our guests and found the B&B accommodation excellent. We would recommend it on all counts.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ebt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    22
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
124
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Earlier in the year we stayed at The Outbuildings and had somewhat mixed feelings about the place and the experience.
We were warmly greeted by Anna on arrival and she gave us a quick tour of the communal areas – a guest lounge and a striking double-height dining hall with large windows affording fantastic views of Snowdonia across the Menai Straits. We were then shown to our room, which was large and aesthetically pleasing – twee little details adding a sense of character to the space – and the tea and chocolate brownies were a thoughtful touch.
However, there were certain things which should have been better. The room facilities, whilst giving a good first impression, fell just short of the standard you’d expect for the prices charged. The bathroom would be a good example of this as there was no proper shower. There WAS a shower head (good) but no bracket on the wall to attach it (bad). Also the water pressure and temperature were impossible to regulate. This was also the case at the hand basin where the water was dangerously hot. There was also no door-stop on the bathroom door, instead it looked like they’d sellotaped a dead rat to the inner handle to stop it damaging the wall tiles when opened fully. A 99p door stop screwed to the skirting board would have been a rather more elegant solution!
The bedroom initially had quite pleasant aroma from an oil room scenter on the windowsill, but this quickly became over-powering, sickly and quite problematic for an asthmatic. Similarly, the bed was comfortable, but the feather bedding was a real problem for an allergy sufferer, and resulted in a sleepless night.

We arranged to have an evening meal. It was just ‘ok’, but very very overpriced at £30 per head. We’ve had far better meals for the money. Our advice would be to avoid it.

More significant than any of the above concerns, however, was the COLD , COLD, COLD. Our room felt quite warm when we arrived, but the heating switched off soon afterwards, never to be on again! The situation was not helped by the draft whistling around the ill-fitting door. The dining room was especially bracing and even the ‘cosy log fire’ in the communal lounge didn’t seem to emit any heat.

So, summing up, the staff were lovely, the location was fabulous, but the accommodation was let down by lots small issues that added together mean that we wouldn't stay here again. At the very least, for the price paid, one would expect to be WARM.

Room Tip: Bring a bobble hat , sandwiches and a paraffin heater!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MintSauceBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
I really don't see why you feel the need to cut and past your review posted last April with a new sentence saying "we recently stayed" . The review is completely out of date and misleading to new guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A warm friendly welcome and luxurious accomodation what more could you wish for?
Probably the best B & B we have stayed in and will certainly be back soon

Geoff and Pauline

Room Tip: The Pink room is just out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed at the Outbuilding on the nights of 8 & 9 July for the wedding of my daughter Rachel to Dr. Huw Williams and, fortunately, it turned out to be a beautiful sunny day. What a wonderful place to hold a wedding. The Outbuildings is in an idyllic setting and the staff was very pleasant, friendly, helpful and courteous. There are only five rooms available for letting and, if the others are anything like standard of room that my partner and I had, then there could be no complaints. The standard and quality of the food too could not be bettered.
Accommodation 10/10, staff and service 10/10, food 10/10 - what more could you ask?
Is there anything that I could fault…? Really, I can’t think of a thing.
I must just mention the owner who was criticized in another review, unfairly in my opinion. I found her to be a charming and delightful person, who found time to chat to people and put up with the inane comments of a suburbanite about the habits of the sheep in the surrounding fields.
Just one tip – if you use a satnav to get there, and depending on the direction that you approach from, don’t believe it if it tells you that you have reached the end of your journey – keep going for another one or two hundred metres.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuchisnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The Outbuildings have been beautifully renovated and Bun and her staff were very friendly. My sister and I stayed for 4 nights in the "Pink Hut", which was delightful. If you want a peaceful, relaxing break in the country, then this is just what the doctor ordered. Breakfast was good and we all ate in the big kitchen whilst seeing our food lovingly prepared. We will definitely be back to visit.
I have to say that Bun is very welcoming and Anna, Caroline and Erin (and the very shy Dafydd) made us feel very welcome as they cooked our breakfast each morning.
Thank you for a wonderful stay - we will be recommending it to others xx

Room Tip: All rooms have great views and the location is very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annewhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

First class comfort, location and welcome. An ideal place to base yourself for exploring Ynys Mon and further afield.

Bun and the rest of the girls made us feel very welcome - with Coco being the first to greet us when we got there!

We stayed for 3 very comfortable nights mid June and could have easily stayed for longer!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PantBryn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
638 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed here for just a night prior to catching the ferry to Ireland from Holyhead the next morning. We were very impressed with the accomodation, our room was lovely and we had a great nights sleep.

Our stay was spoilt somewhat by the 'supper' we ate at the accomodation advertised in a tourist brochure in the room at £15 per person. The food was ok but to be charged £30 a head for a basic 3 courses was a real shock to us (£15 to £20 would have been closer to the mark). We were told, there was no choice for main course other than Lamb shanks which was ok but we where shocked when others (who ordered after us) where served up a pie.

Pleased to say that breakfast was top notch!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahMenai, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 6 June 2011
Thank you for your comments - I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your meal, and wish that you had raised your concerns in person at the time. As a bed and breakfast that offers evening meals to our guests, we produce a seasonal menu that changes each month. Most guests will choose from the menu before their arrival. However, as in your case, we are more than happy to accommodate guests who decide on arrival that they would like to dine with us that evening - this does however mean, that the choice may not be as varied. I understand that the guests who ate after you had pre-ordered their meal, and that is why they had something different from the menu. I am glad however that you enjoyed your breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Outbuildings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing