We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Outbuildings
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Anglesey Arms(Menai Bridge)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Menai Bridge)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel(Llanfairpwllgwyngyll)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Rhianfa(Menai Bridge)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gazelle Hotel(Menai Bridge)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Hotel Port Dinorwic(Y Felinheli)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyn Rhos Country House(Llanddeiniolen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
202
24
11
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
202
24
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink hutboys roomb bother guestsshepherd's huthome made cakeshigh standardon arrivalcoffee and cakelittle touchesthe main housevery special placeget togetherattention to detailevening mealrelaxing weekenddining room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I proposed to my fiancé at the outbuildings, and the staff were so helpful in organising everything, it really was amazing. They couldn't do more to help, from suggesting the perfect place to propose to helping organise timing with champagne and music. We stayed over night in the pink hut, which was very cosy and romantic. My fiancé loved it. The views of the mountains were outstanding and the wood stove kept us really warm. The food was really good, the best I've had whilst living in North Wales. The staff were so nice and really went out of their way to make our stay really enjoyable. I would definitely recommend the outbuildings as a cosy and romantic retreat away. Thank you again to everyone at the outbuildings for making it the perfect weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was our second visit and over the moon
Excellent accomodation nothing too much trouble
Will be back
Geoff and pauline

Room Tip: All Rooms exceptional
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We were invited to attended the last wedding function of the year at the Outbuildings recently ,
Whilst we enjoyed it , with the Indian Summer weather ,they still need to continue the renovation WHY As previous contributors have indicated this was a Barn -Farm in the middle of nowhere that has been rebuilt to a high standard =BUT to find this place via a Taxi is to say difficult is an understatement =please ask for a map as the only signs are VERY small & only 400 metres from the complex .Once there you step out of your car / taxi to land your feet with your new high heeled wedding /outfit shoes to what can only be described as a dark grey small slate /gravel the most unfriendly surface for high heeled fashion shoes .Its a nightmare its damages heels of shoe like tiny razors blades this horrible surface surrounds the complex between the welcome drinks on the lawn =main hall to the marque = outside toilets
Its a beautiful setting for the "photos " which seem to last at least an hour or more whilst the guest con-grate on a very large lawn ,with a mixture of all ages at weddings to provide only eight heavy wooden seats if very e comical
This venue is for young people who want a civil ceremony PERFECT but lots of young people smoke & to offer NO OUTDOOR SHELTER when the weather is inclement (This is Anglesey)
shows a lack of consideration
But the really problem is the Toilet Facilities for a new venue to have only TWO inside toilets
they are large & would take a wheel chair then to have two Portaloos on the northern exposed side with only very poor outside lighting & NO lighting inside is disgraceful
dangerous with the high steps outside in this day & age
The catering /food was supplied by an outside company who did a superb job ,the drinks are think were supplied by Outbuildings but have room temperature beer in 2011 ?
We enjoyed our wedding & were told that most of the available dates for 2012 had been reserved well done to Outbuilding sales team
Weddings are very expensive for all concerned & this new venue lets its self down on small points which can be resolved but until then leave you with mixed feelings

Room Tip: We did see a room but were told by people stopping they were of a high standard
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed here in early September for our anniversary and stayed two nights. The place itself is really remote and peaceful but the directions given are spot on. The location is great if you want peace and quiet, but it is a good 20 minutes from the beaches of Bennlech etc, but that is something you will know when you book it.We stayed in the Granary Steps room. Upon arrival we were shown our room and there were cakes there for us. tea was provided but no coffee if you wanted this but was provided when we asked for it. The kettle and brew gear is in the middle of the room by the wall but to boil it you have to use the plug at the other end of the room and thus put the kettle on the floor. The room itself was clean, but as it has a cream carpet I am afraid it was little bit stained with the many shoes people had walked across it in. The bathroom was spotless but the shower attached to the tap could not be fastened to the wall so really there was only a bath to be had. The bathroom towel heater did not work so on the first morning we put the wet towels in the bath to be changed but on our arrival back they were just hung up and still wet through. We got them changed immediately but thought this a little bit poor service for the prices charged. We did not eat at night but had breakfast each morning. This is in the kitchen itself and cooked while you wait. Orange juice, carton type, bacon , mushrooms , tomatoes and eggs cooked how you want. One day there was sausages and one day black pudding, but two pieces the size of a 10p piece was not a lot in my opinion.You do eat all together so it may be possible if your last in to not be sat with your partner. The room is brightly furnished but it was really warm in the night.

Overall I have mixed feelings about this place. The location is great but for the price paid I have had better. The wet towels and little touches to me were missing. The breakfast was a bit like a school hall meal. The girls were really nice and polite but I thought the owner was a bit cold to people, just an hello here and there.There was big wedding that weekend so she may have been more into that at that time.

I personally would not go here again due to its location and value. Dont let this put you off though if you want real peace and quiet and get away from it all.

Overall the location is great

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flitty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Came here last new Years eve and had a lovely time... Room was decorated really nicely however we were told as we left the next day that we had paid for a higher graded room than what we had stayed in!! Nevertheless it was still lovely. Be warned though, there is nothing around the building for miles so if you are going over winter under the impression you can walk to a pub for tea or drinks, you will have to drive! There is nothing around AT ALL . To drive to the nearest town is about twenty minutes away and isn't that great either- we went to a pub for tea can't remember the name and it wasn't very nice inside, very dirty and the food was cold too. I would also like to point out that I booked this room through booking.com who advertise that you won't pay for the room till u have arrived! I've booked through them before and found this to be the case, however when my partner and I left the outbuildings, bun the owner advised she had already charged the room to my credit card! I was not too impressed about this as my intention had been to pay cash! Would be nice to stick to website policy I think!! We spent nye in our room as it was so lovely however we were kindly told by the owner we cold join her and the other guests in the lounge which was stunning - so romantic and Cosy with beautiful little touches ! I would go back again IF it wasn't so isolated as it really was lovely! Oh and if you have dogs - you can take them with u!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouser_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theoutbuildings, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Thank you for the review. I would just like to point out the inaccuracy with payment and booking.com There terms are as quoted from their confirmation -:Deposit The total price of the reservation willbe charge on the day of booking and is refundable. Taxes 20% vat is included

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews