We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of The Outbuildings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have just spent a fantastic weekend at the Outbuildings. The reviews were right. We were the only two there and our meal on the Saturday night was set up on the gallery area of the dining room in front of the fire. Romantic or what!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frodman196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for The Outbuildings
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had heard a whisper that The Outbuildings was worth a visit if only to sample the food but we decided to take full advantage by combining our visit to Anglsey with a couple of nights stay. We were not disappointed and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the island.The place is a gem tucked away in a peaceful setting with wonderful views of Snowdonia and only a few minutes from the Menai Straits and the Mawddach Estuary.
Our room, the Button Room was beautifully decorated and the large bed was so very comfortable. We ate a delicious meal in the ground floor restaurant but not before relaxing with a drink in the guests lounge with its cosy surroundings.The staff were attentive and most welcoming and our hostess Mrs Matthews is a delight. Jon and Rachel Dec 2011

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JONATHAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Our stay at The Outbuildings was absolutely fantastic - we enjoyed every moment.

Celebrating a birthday we wanted to go somewhere special and this was perfect. We stayed for two nights, arriving late on a Friday evening. We were not expecting it but we were offered a meal in the restaurant. This is a must - the meal was absolutely delicious. We were served drinks and canapes, before sitting down to eat locally sourced lamb. We landed on our feet as this was an excellent meal.

The rest of our stay was also fantastic - the breakfasts were brilliant. Cooked in front of you in a huge but cosy kitchen, with a great selection of food. Our room was very luxurious and well appointed. An improvement to the bathroom would be to fit a proper shower and shower screen. Without one it was only possible to have a bath, which doesn't suit everyone.

The location is good, but quite remote. We did find a lack of good pubs and restaurants nearby, and travelled to Beaumaris to eat on the Saturday night. There are some lovely beaches nearby, and the scenery is stunning. When we return to Anglesey we will definitely stay at The Outbuildings again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank waby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Ate here tonight, after a friend recommended it to us. Absolutely loved it from the moment we arrived. We were greeted by lovely, helpful staff and the owner Bun, came to say hello. We were shown to a lovely sofa area above the dining hall where drinks and canapés were served. The canapés were delicious and consisted of homemade crisps, artichoke soup and potted shrimps. The main is a set 3 course meal, I emailed ahead to request a vegetarian main course and the gladly accommodated me. Once we were shown to our table we were served homemade bread with garlic and herbs, then the starters arrived, smoked salmon salad with a crisp poached egg, delicious! To follow my boyfriend had Anglesey black beef fillet steak with mushrooms and chunky chips. I had butternut squash with Welsh rarebit, this was superb. I don't normally have dessert but I'm glad I did. A lemon sponge type cake, warm, gorgeous and very light. We finished off this wonderful meal with coffee by the wood burner. All this and drinks for £76, excellent value. We loved it and wished we were staying the night. Will definitely return very soon xx

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beaumarisgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I proposed to my fiancé at the outbuildings, and the staff were so helpful in organising everything, it really was amazing. They couldn't do more to help, from suggesting the perfect place to propose to helping organise timing with champagne and music. We stayed over night in the pink hut, which was very cosy and romantic. My fiancé loved it. The views of the mountains were outstanding and the wood stove kept us really warm. The food was really good, the best I've had whilst living in North Wales. The staff were so nice and really went out of their way to make our stay really enjoyable. I would definitely recommend the outbuildings as a cosy and romantic retreat away. Thank you again to everyone at the outbuildings for making it the perfect weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This was our second visit and over the moon
Excellent accomodation nothing too much trouble
Will be back
Geoff and pauline

Room Tip: All Rooms exceptional
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We were invited to attended the last wedding function of the year at the Outbuildings recently ,
Whilst we enjoyed it , with the Indian Summer weather ,they still need to continue the renovation WHY As previous contributors have indicated this was a Barn -Farm in the middle of nowhere that has been rebuilt to a high standard =BUT to find this place via a Taxi is to say difficult is an understatement =please ask for a map as the only signs are VERY small & only 400 metres from the complex .Once there you step out of your car / taxi to land your feet with your new high heeled wedding /outfit shoes to what can only be described as a dark grey small slate /gravel the most unfriendly surface for high heeled fashion shoes .Its a nightmare its damages heels of shoe like tiny razors blades this horrible surface surrounds the complex between the welcome drinks on the lawn =main hall to the marque = outside toilets
Its a beautiful setting for the "photos " which seem to last at least an hour or more whilst the guest con-grate on a very large lawn ,with a mixture of all ages at weddings to provide only eight heavy wooden seats if very e comical
This venue is for young people who want a civil ceremony PERFECT but lots of young people smoke & to offer NO OUTDOOR SHELTER when the weather is inclement (This is Anglesey)
shows a lack of consideration
But the really problem is the Toilet Facilities for a new venue to have only TWO inside toilets
they are large & would take a wheel chair then to have two Portaloos on the northern exposed side with only very poor outside lighting & NO lighting inside is disgraceful
dangerous with the high steps outside in this day & age
The catering /food was supplied by an outside company who did a superb job ,the drinks are think were supplied by Outbuildings but have room temperature beer in 2011 ?
We enjoyed our wedding & were told that most of the available dates for 2012 had been reserved well done to Outbuilding sales team
Weddings are very expensive for all concerned & this new venue lets its self down on small points which can be resolved but until then leave you with mixed feelings

Room Tip: We did see a room but were told by people stopping they were of a high standard
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank atw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,023 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
16.0 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
327 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range: £81 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Outbuildings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing