We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous family-friendly divine stopover en route to the ferry to Ireland - wish we could have stayed longer...”
Review of The Outbuildings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous family-friendly divine stopover en route to the ferry to Ireland - wish we could have stayed longer...”
Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Well, we arrived later than planned due to car playing up and were met by the family offering to help us unload (much appreciated, but unnecessary) as we had a 2 year old and 2 month old... The room was beautiful, with a lovely big bathroom, and gorgeous little teddy on the toddler bed delighted our two year old. Lovely tea tray with homemade cake and other goodies, delicious breakfast in the morning before we headed to the ferry about half an hour away. We just wished we had had more time and had stayed longer. We may well use it as a base for a future holiday, and it would be idyllic as a wedding venue or just a big party, i honestly can't rate it highly enough, and no, I have no links at all to the place! Oh and they let our (admittedly well behaved) border terrier sleep in her basket in the room rather than the car, so extra brownie points for that, although they may not thank me for saying so! Just perfect! Keep on doing what you're doing - Stylish, comfortable and well thought out. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarrietF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    23
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
126
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

A fantastic and warm welcome on arrival from all of the staff at The Outbuildings on a sunny Saturday afternoon. I have never stayed anywhere quite like this before and I can honestly say that I have never eaten such delicious food - the brownies are incredible! Breakfast is served in the kitchen by the very friendly, knowledgable and excellent chef. The main building is beautifully done, warm and welcoming and very tastefully decorated. We stayed in the fantastic and romantic Pink Hut - a private outbuilding all of its own.

Would highly recommend a stay here. The food is creative, personalised and very impressive. The bed was so comfortable I slept all morning! We will be back!

Room Tip: The Pink Hut is excellent for younger couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haveshoes_musttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed in April 2011 when I was 36 weeks pregnant!

Absolutely stunning location and pretty isolated. All you can hear are the birds and the sheep! Breakfast was good but for the price we had paid, we expected the spread and the portions to be bigger and better.

The rooms were well appointed and spotless. Loved the decor, and the complimentary cakes/ muffins we would find in our rooms every evening. All in all it was a fantastic weekend for us. I would love to come back but given the price, I would be tempted to look for a cheaper alternative or some place as expensive but offering better value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Granary steps, but believe the best is The Boys' Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingParomita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Hidden away in rural Anglesey (Ynys Mon) lies The Outbuildings- a barn conversion set up with it's bright pink shephers hut out front. A wonderful restaurant and truly stunning lounges and bedroom, this is Wales' best kept secret. You will feel special from the minute you are welcomed by Anna and by the natural features of the conversion balanced with modern and bright, tasteful furnishings. Open fires, wooden floors and floor to ceiling windows with views across open fields, with snowdonia as a backdrop. When you finally drag yourself to bed, you will be engulfed by cosiness. A soft bed and feather duvets and pillows, the pampering does not stop. Homemade biscuits, fresh milk and boutique toiletries in the contemporary bathrooms. What more could you want? With peace and tranquility and the warmest welcome, I will be back v v soon. Thank you all. A true gem. Thank you for the fairtrade coffee too!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonsi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We have just returned from a weekend away staying in the Pink Hut at the Outbuildings! We have had a great time. The Outbuildings is located in a very tranquil spot on Anglessey, from the moment you turn into the driveway you can feel the relaxed air about the place. We parked up and were immediately welcomed by Anna , who was an extremely friendly and hospitable member of staff throughout our stay. The Pink Hut itself is a unique experience for a weekend break. Its small and extremely cosy, with a log burning stove that heats the place in no time at all! We have never been so warm in a hotel / b+b room!! Our only advice would be to travel light and keep you luggage small!!
The dining experience at the Outbuildings is first class we have seldom eaten so well, this includes the cooked breakfast!
We will definately return!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irby9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have just spent a fantastic weekend at the Outbuildings. The reviews were right. We were the only two there and our meal on the Saturday night was set up on the gallery area of the dining room in front of the fire. Romantic or what!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frodman196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We had heard a whisper that The Outbuildings was worth a visit if only to sample the food but we decided to take full advantage by combining our visit to Anglsey with a couple of nights stay. We were not disappointed and would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit the island.The place is a gem tucked away in a peaceful setting with wonderful views of Snowdonia and only a few minutes from the Menai Straits and the Mawddach Estuary.
Our room, the Button Room was beautifully decorated and the large bed was so very comfortable. We ate a delicious meal in the ground floor restaurant but not before relaxing with a drink in the guests lounge with its cosy surroundings.The staff were attentive and most welcoming and our hostess Mrs Matthews is a delight. Jon and Rachel Dec 2011

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JONATHAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
8.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
349 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Outbuildings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing