We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pink hut”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Outbuildings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Menai Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pink hut”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed in the pink hut for two nights-quirky and fun. Francois' cooking excellent and staff attentive, special mention for Beth,who is wonderful. Views cannot be surpassed- a great place to stay. After a day's walking the cake and coffee is a lovely touch. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and plentiful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    22
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
124
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

This is a truly stunning place to stay. Every little detail is lovely. The beds and linen are top quality. The staff are so helpful and very welcoming. We ate in on our first night and really enjoyed Francois's cuisine. A very pretty part of Anglesey. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bunnywarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our first stay at the Outbuildings and we think we've found somewhere that really does justice to the beautiful island of Anglesey. A perfectly converted barn, with stunning views all around but especially of the Snowdonian mountains.

Very pleased that we opted to eat dinner at the Outbuildings as the food was exceptionally good (even with my particular dietary requirements). We needed an early than standard breakfast on the Sunday, but this, like everything, was no problem for the excellent team - a spontaneous lunch for a hungry half-marathon runner was a perfect end to our too-short visit.

Anglesey is within easy reach of London by train (it's easy to hire a car for getting around the island if you book in advance), and we booked our next stay at the Outbuildings before we left.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SE_SE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

We spent the night in the Boys Room at the Outbuildings for a romantic night away. The setting is remote, views are stunning and the Outbuildings have been finished to a high standard. The owner was very welcoming. It was very cosy and warm with excellent attention to detail. The evening meal was lovely and breakfast was served in the kitchen and prepared in front of us, which was a lovely touch. We would definately visit again and are even considering having our wedding there!

Room Tip: We were shown each room and all were finished to a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CazMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Make tracks for Llangaffo and The fantastic Outbuildings, be welcomed with a smile and a warmth that is rare these days. A beautifully converted barn, set in the landscape with breathtaking views of Snowdonia. Relax in front of an open fire before being served a beautifully, lovingly prepared meal. Lay your head upon soft sumptuous pillows and get the best nights sleep you ever dreamt of. On waking pop your head out and look towards the glorious mountains and marvel at the magical play of light, whether it is shafts of light through the clouds that hug the tops of the mountains or the clarity of the mountain peaks against a stunning blue sky it truly is a magical place to be

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobalobajob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have just spent a night in The Boy's Room at The Outbuildings. The setting is remote but beautiful. Bun, the owner, was warm and welcoming and our room was large but cosy, with every attention to detail. Lovely! Breakfast was freshly prepared in front of us, tasty and substantial. Only one minor gripe, it would have been nice to have a kettle/tea tray in the bedroom as there is nowhere at all to get a hot drink, as after all this is a B & B, not a hotel. When we visit again- which we certainly will, the travel kettle will be first in the bag!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suegre60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and you have tipped the balance - hooray _ will start doing trays again. So no need to bring your kettle when you visit next! Bun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Just returned from a lovely weekend here. The "Boys Room" was gorgeous - beautifully decorated, large and very comfortable. We had a lovely meal here the first night and afterwards relaxed by the log fire with a drink. The only criticism I would make and for me it is quite an important one - there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the bedrooms. We stay at a lot of B&Bs and I have never come across one that doesn't offer this. You get bottled water in your room, but only for the first night! Luckily we had brought bottled water with us for our walks. I would have given 5 stars but for the lack of refreshments in the room and won't return or recommend to family/friends for this reason.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THM1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You should have had two bottles of water - apologies that you did'nt you should have done. Unless a guest asks we do not put tea trays in the rooms, we do serve tea in the sitting room in the winter and in or outside in the summer between 4.00 and 5.30 - Judith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
3.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing