We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds Expectations”
Review of The Outbuildings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceeds Expectations”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We enjoyed a stay in 'The Boys Room'. Five minutes after arriving and seeing the room we decided to book a second night. It's the detail that really impressed me, and you only get to appreciate the good taste of the owner as you spend time there. A huge bed, firm and really comfortable. Beautiful original works by local artists (3) plus hand woven wall hanging. Books in the room, poems by Betjeman, radio by Bose, soap in bathroom from Marseille, cream woollen carpet. All kept immaculately clean. Located within a gorgeous open landscape, full of early morning birdsong and the sound of distant farm animals.
Staff that cared and were genuinely interested in making your stay the best it could be. The menu for evening meals was fixed but every course interesting and delicious. Can't remember a better B & B experience and with fabulous weather you would have to go a long way to even match this.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seagull17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. You certainly had glorious weather and hooray we still have it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    23
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
126
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We booked a room here for our wedding night - and what a fabulous choice. The room was enormous, the four poster bed was large & comfy, every little touch had been thought of, and the owner Judith arranged for us to have a lie in & late breakfast. When we finally surfaced at 10am they had set a table on the terrace in the beautiful sunshine for us and we sat munching our delicious meal whilst looking at the wonderful garden & views and enjoying the peace & quiet. Their lovely dog kept us company too. Perfect! We loved it so much we hope to return for our anniversary next year.

Room Tip: We had the wonderful Button Room but I suspect all the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write - it was such a lovely morning sitting outside in the sunshine. Hope to see you on your anniversary. From us all at the outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed in the pink hut for our 23rd wedding anniversary. OK so those staying in the main building gave us a little smile when we went for dinner but - hey it was great fun! The hut is beautifully decorated. OK its a bit of a squash in the shower and there is no room for lots of clothes but with a tv and log burner, it is so romantic. Visiting the dining room the Food was delicious, the duck divine. Breakfast en famille in the huge bright kitchen was super. Really enjoyed the visit, and If staying, a visit to the national trust beach at Newborough is a must!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Oh sorry this is late replying but we are so glad you liked the glorious Pink Hut! It is bathed in sunshine as i write. Thank you for your review the encouragement and priase is great. From the outbuildings team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

What a fabulous setting with wonderful views. It was a little off the beaten track but so quiet and so very dark at night.
We were a little disconcerted by the very laid back manner of this place at first but then settled into it. This was almost perfect with only a few points to mention.
On arrival one of our group asked to borrow an iron which we didn't think was an unusual or unreasonable request but this seemed to be something of an imposition and, strangely, was not accompanied by an ironing board so she had to iron on a towel on the floor.
We had arranged to dine in on our first evening but were not aware that this was a fixed menu nor knew in advanced what the menu was - I have since checked their website and it doesn't advise of this and feel that it should be made clear. Fortunately most of the menu was agrreable to our group apart from the starter for 2 and it was a shame that no alternative was available.
We we were up until the wee small hours playing cards and when the last of the staff went home we were told to feel free to stay as long as we wanted which was ideal.
All rooms were spacious and individually decorated and our 'The Boys' room lived up to its promise from the website description. The large bed was so very comfortable and our large powerful shower was a delight.
Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked. On the second morning we ate in the kitchen which was much better as we were able to chat to the chef and other guests round the large kitchen table.
I would stay here again and recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: The Granary Steps is on the ground floor and has a stable door which made the room a little cold at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffle1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the outbuildings and i am sorry we took so long to respond, we do offer a set menu chosen each morning and you should have been made aware of this when booking, i thought i when we emailed you so many apologies from me. We will keep an eye on the Granary Steps stable door being cold - this is the first time that has been reported so i will watch out. We hope to see you again and thank you for coming to stay and writing. from us all at the outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My Husband and I , joined by an old work colleague of my husband , enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Outbuildings, we stayed in the Button room , and the gentleman with us stayed in the Granary Steps. Both rooms were decorated to the highest standards, and with really comfy beds.
We stayed had dinner on both nights , and both the dinners and the breakfasts were excellent. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, and Cocoa the dog was a delight. We would highly recommend The Outbuildings , and hope to return again one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and apologies that i have not responded, it seems ages ago now since chatting with you in the sunshine on the terrace. We hope that you can get back sometime and love from Cocoa!! she has just returned from doing what spaniels do best chasing a pheasant!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Blissfully quiet and stunning views: a perfect place to stay. The staff were incredibly helpful and accommodated my early starts without a fuss (I am a birdwatcher!). I cannot recommend The Outbuildings strongly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write, we all enjoyed your company as did Cocoa who was delighted you had breakfast outside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Outbuildings last weekend; we wanted a few quiet days of R & R and that is exactly what we found there. The 'outbuildings' have been beautifully restored. We had 'The Granary Steps' which had a stable door and views over the tennis court and open fields. The room was well decorated and very comfortable. On arrival we found the place deserted and followed the instruction to ring the given number, twice - no one answered. So, we left and returned an hour or so later to be told , quite briskly, that we had been too early (2.30ish) as it is not a hotel and we should not have appeared until between 4-6pm! I have not been able to find that information anywhere - it could be helpful to make that clear. A minor point, but useful to know. I have to agree that it was rather cold in there before the heating came on....when the weather is cold it is nice to walk into a warm room to relax in comfort and for a while it was decidedly chilly. Also, we too had to ask for coffee. We were given it without question but it seemed rather a strange omission. Having said that, the mints and cake in the room were a thoughtful addition.
We chose to have the meal each evening and I really could not fault it. We were served pre-dinner drinks and canapés in front of a roaring log burner, then on the first night we had rack of lamb which was beautifully cooked to my taste. We had been asked about any dislikes before we arrived as it is a set menu, therefore no fear of being faced with something you don't like. The second evening we were to be the only guests for dinner, so the chef asked us what we would like him to cook for us! After a few suggestions we went for the steak which again was cooked to perfection. One both nights the starter and dessert were also excellent. There are a variety of options on the wine list and a well stocked bar. Breakfast was also a treat. We really liked the fact that everyone sits around a large table in the kitchen as it meant we all had the chance to exchange tips on where to visit and also to generally meet interesting people and chat. The food was served without fuss so conversation was not interrupted; fresh toast and coffee appeared without being requested and again the food was of a very high standard.
The directions on the website are spot on and we had no problem finding The Outbuildings. Yes, it is a little out of the way but that is the beauty of it; if we had wanted a riotous time we would not have gone to Anglesey!! This place is perfect for long walks on beautiful beaches, drinks in pubs and a relaxing break. Would we return? Definitely.

Room Tip: Any room would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, heating should have been on and i think this was a thermostate problem and should have been checked for colder days - will keep an eye on that, coffee is available i don't put it in the rooms because of the white carpets!!! Glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for choosing to stay at the outbuildings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
349 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
393 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Outbuildings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing