We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing little find”
Review of The Outbuildings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing little find”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Myself and my fiancé stayed in the Pink Hut mainly as it was the only room available (booked last minute) but I do enjoy the outdoors so it suited me fine! The bed is ultra comfy and the little log burning stove is a bonus (there's an electric heater if you're not feeling up to tending a fire).

The grounds and views as well as the buildings are stunning and even in damp and cold January the view of the snow topped mountains was breathtaking.

My only fault is the food - not the quality, Francois is a brilliant chef! It's the choice. I happened to love my three course dinner but that was more luck than anything as there is literally no choice. My fiancé on the other hand didn't enjoy at all and went to bed rather hungry. I must add at this point though that Beth arranged a gluton free version of the meal for us which was excellent service, even the toast at breakfast! The wine is fantastic too!

Despite that, we will definitely be back at some point as the other half is desperate to stay in the Pink Spotty Jug room and there's so much to see locally we want to go and finish the rounds!

Good value for money and amazing location.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi_Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your response these things all take time and are much apprecaited! I am so sorry that you did not know that we offer a set menu and even worse that the menu did not suit your partner! We do tell people when they book that we offer a set menu each evening usually chosen over breakfast in the morning, and if there are any special requests or vegetarians the ever versatile and accommodating Francois will prepare something to suit. I am so pleased this has not put you off and look forward to welcoming you back at some time. From us all at The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    23
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
126
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
199 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just arrived back from a night 's stay at The Outbuildings, to celebrate out friends birthday. It exceeded our expectations in many ways.

It looks inviting and interesting on the website, so we thought we'd try it as it isn't too far from home. It is located in a beautiful part of Anglesey, with views across to the mountains and the Lleyn peninsular.

The warm welcoming fire on arrival set the tone for the whole stay. Both our rooms were beautifully furnished with luxurious touches. The homemade cake on the tea tray was delicious, and the fresh milk is always a nice touch I think. I hate the usual sterilised milk that is usually available in hotel rooms. The two rooms we had booked both had good sized en-suite bathrooms, although there was a shower attachment, a shower screen might have been useful. Still this wouldn't put is off going again. I believe that the other two rooms have en-suite shower rooms rather than bathrooms, so that would be a better option for us.

We went through to the resident's lounge for pre dinner drinks and canapés, which were served to us by Francois the Chef. The three course dinner, is a set menu, but there is some flexibility to pre order a specific dish, or possibly substitute on the night. Our food was beautifully cooked and presented, and very reasonably priced. There is a very good wine list, again reasonably priced. The restaurant is open to non-residents also.

The area is very quiet at night so nothing to disturb sleep, other than the strange drainage sounds from the bathroom now and again in our room. There must be some connection with the drainage system in the next door bathroom, which was bit disconcerting at times, as well as feeling intimately acquainted with the habits of our fellow guests. Our friends, who had a ground floor room didn't experience this. Again, not a major problem.

A mention must be made about the wonderfully comfortable beds.

Breakfast was served in the dining room, as all the rooms were occupied last night. When there are fewer guests, they eat in the kitchen.The breakfast was excellent. Good quality food, well cooked and plenty of it!

Throughout our stay the staff were very attentive and polite, and a credit to the management. All areas of the the hotel are immaculate with good quality fittings and furnishings. The renovations have been carried out to a very high standard and make for a very comfortable stay.

All in all we had a really relaxing enjoyable stay here, and will certainly return. I'm sure it must be wonderful in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarkLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you so much for such a long review, which i am sure other guest will find helpful such as the hand held shower, i keep wondering whether to change to a shower but then some people are just turning back to baths!! Dilemma!! The drains were actually a problem that day and apologies due to the huge amount of rain our soak away had drowned and was not soaking away but our friendly farmer from down the road comes and empties it so all is well now. We hope to see you again perhaps when you can enjoy supper outside. thank you from us all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Not only only is The Outbuildings in the most beautiful location with luxurious interiors and the comfiest beds you could image but Francois the chef serves THE MOST amazing food! A well deserved listing in the Michelin Guide Foodie 'bible' - every mouthful was heavenly. Always feel totally at home and extremely well looked after.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangojo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Manager at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
What a great review and i agree justly deserved Francois is great!! How lucky we are to work with him. Just a note though we are in the Michelin Book as a B and B not a food award! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for a wedding which was also held there. Firstly this is not a grand hotel, but a well converteted former barn in the Anglesey countryside (the views are outstanding by the way). There are only a few rooms, and although they have everthing a standard has, the quaility is much higher. The beds are super comfortable with very thick duvets and thick pillows. The decor of the rooms is of a very high standard.

The things you appreciate the most with your room though (apart from the peaceful surroundings) are the little touches, such as fresh tea and cake brought daily, mint sweets in the rooms, modern, warm bathrooms, and books to read. Your rooms have their own door to the outside world, so you can come and go as you please.

The communal areas of the barns are also great, offering fantastic homely comfort that you just dont get in chain hotels, and this cannot be imitated. With more than one real fire, it is superbly appropriate in the winter months. As a venue for the wedding, it is brilliant and cannot be faulted.

Now the food... it may seem expensive, however, is worth every penny. The chef (an actual frenchmen) really knows his stuff, cooks a great breakfast, fresh bread, and cooked the best steak I have ever eaten in my life. Ever.

Overall though, what I think makes this place a true gem is that all of the staff seem to care about what they do, and want to make you feel welcome and valued. The customer service, friendliness of staff and absolute professionalism was outstanding.


I will be coming back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank begaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Manager at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Wow! Well that has given us all an amazing boost, thank you so much. Delighted that you like The Outbuildings and Anglesey and i agree with you about the food how lucky are we to have Francois and such a great team, that make this such a special place. Thank you and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Me and my husband spent 2 nights here at the start of our honeymoon and WOW what a beautiful place to start married life. After the busy run up to the wedding it was perfect to relax in such beautiful surroundings. All I could see was fields, sheep and trees - perfect.

The Outbuildings itself certainly did not disappoint, it was amazing, the room we stayed in (pink spotty jug) was made as if it had been designed as my dream room. The dining room was stunning and we both loved having breakfast upstairs with other guests, having a nice natter over a cup of tea whilst watching and smelling the yummy cooked breakfast being prepared!!

We ate in the dining room on one of our evenings and although we would not normally spend that amount on a dinner, we equally would never receive the quality and taste that we got from our delicious 3 course dinner at the Outbuildings. Money well spent! A really nice touch is being able to discuss the evening meal options over breakfast with the chef. We had lamb - oh my word, AMAZING!!

I also have to mention the staff, they really made us feel welcome and encouraged us to treat the Outbuildings as a home from home. We were very touched at how they made a special effort for our honeymoon.

Thank you for being as wonderful as you were and being a special part of our honeymoon. We look forward to returning and bringing the whole family!!

PS I don't think I have ever slept in a bed so cosy!!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful so it is a difficult choice to make!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Happy New Year and thank you so much for taking the time to write your review which we all enjoyed reading! The lamb is amazing cooked by Francois and deliverd from our local butcher. We look forward to welcoming you again. Bun and Co!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
243 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night last week - everything absolutely exemplary.

The room - Pink Spotty Jug - was bright, clean, and nicely presented / well-equipped. In particular, the bathroom was brilliant, especially the Monsoon-style shower.

The evening meal was delicious and reasonably priced for the high standard.

In short, the location is stunning, irrespective of what the weather is doing and you're well placed to visit beautiful local villages and beaches.

Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ALandVICTORIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your great comments, in three years you are the first person to comment on the shower, I agree it is really good even though I say it myself!! We put a lot of though in to the food Francois will be very leased to read you review. Thank you from all at the outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Excellent B & B, had an enjoyable stay at half term, excellent breakfast with as much toast and coffee as you require. Evening meals prepared to a high standard, our room was the granary room which had a large comfortable bed, lovely clean bathroom with toiletries. Loved the handwash just wish I could of brought some home. Will be back for another stay very soon

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write, it is good to know you like the soap's we do get a few people wanting shampoo, but we don't supply shampoo as we have not found one that we felt was good for your hair in the small pots. Hope to see you again soon, from us all at The Outbuildings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
349 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
393 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Outbuildings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing