We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Outbuildings
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    Menai Bank Hotel(Caernarfon)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Celtic Royal Hotel(Caernarfon)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Black Boy Inn(Caernarfon)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Port Dinorwic(Y Felinheli)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (243)
    Filter reviews
    243 results
    Traveller rating
    201
    24
    11
    5
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    201
    24
    11
    5
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewspink hutboys roomb bother guestsshepherd's huthome made cakeshigh standardon arrivalcoffee and cakelittle touchesthe main housevery special placeget togetherattention to detailevening mealrelaxing weekenddining room
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    124 - 129 of 243 reviews
    Reviewed 21 June 2014

    The Outbuildings are outstanding!

    Bun, Will, Anna and Jack were the most gracious hosts and really added to the experience. This is far more than your ordinary B&B.

    We stayed in the pink hut which was a beautifully restored shepherd's hut with views over rolling fields to Mount Snowdon. The property it's self was tucked away in the beautiful countryside, but still closer enough to all the sites of North Wales.

    The top highlight for us was the 'super club' on the Friday night where Francois cooked up a delicious 3 course meal accompanied with delightful wines and bountiful banter. What a night! Many a story was told late into the night...

    Many thanks, love love love!

    • Stayed: June 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Alex D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

    Alex! thank you so much for finding time to write a review, so glad you enjoyed your stay in The dear little Pink Hut and we all look forward to seeing you again before too long and we will do our best to get some surf or take you to some!!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 June 2014

    We chose The Outbuildings for a three night break; our first to Anglesey. We were thrilled with what we found! The views were beautiful, we watched the sunset from the terrace and the peaks of Snowdonia in the distance provided the perfect setting. The property is a lovingly restored barn and includes a number of luxury rooms, a large dining room and mezzanine, a lounge with open fire and a kitchen. Breakfast was delicious and cooked in front of you whilst we sipped fresh coffee at the kitchen table and chatted to the chef and other guests. Dinner was also a treat. We dined on nettle soup, brown shrimp canapes, lamb en-croute and elderflower ice cream. The room was clean, large and comfortable with bright, modern furnishings. All in all a great stay, would love to go back!

    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank MforModern
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

    Thank you for sending a review, it takes time and effort to remember to write them and then actually do it. We really appreciate your kind words, thank you. Most of all we are delighted that you enjoyed your fist trip to Anglesey and hope that this will the be the first of many. From us all at The Outbuildings

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 June 2014

    My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our first trip to Anglesey, this place is tranquil with lovely views, staff are friendly and most helpful, we had the granary steps room which is tastefully decorated and most comfortable.
    Breakfast was served within the kitchen area, we had a very pleasant and excellent chef who also prepared and served our canapés and three course meal in the dining area on our second night which was truly lovely.
    We would most certainly like to re-visit The Outbuildings if we ever decide to return to Anglesey.

    Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    Thank com_nurseLancashire
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to write, it was pleasure meetning you and chatting, I wonder if you found some interesting spots on your way home? Francois is great so is his food and his company! Hope to see you again. from us all with best wishes

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 June 2014

    My partner and I chose the Outbuildings as the venue for our post-ceremony lunch on the recommendation of a family member. We were 35 people and had asked for a large spread of canapes, a main meal and a desert. The emphasis was to be on ensuring people had enough to eat without it becoming too heavy for an afternoon meal and the food was to be regional where possible.

    We made contact with the Outbuildings about 3 months before the Wedding and arranged a Skype chat with the chef Francois. Francois is a Frenchman who has made his home on Anglesey and we found him to be extremely engaging and knowledgeable. There were a few requests that we asked him to accommodate on the menu and he came up with very good proposals to meet them. We settled the menu in one (long) conversation and then only spoke again to confirm the numbers.

    We arrived on Anglesey the day before and went to the Outbuildings for the first time. I was born down the road and in sunshine of which I had never seen the like we were taken around the venue. It is fabulous, the restoration of the stonework is immaculate and the dining room feels spacious enough without being a void. The mezzanine would have made for a very nice area for the canapes if the weather had not been so good. As it was we arrived on the day at 12.30 to bright sunshine and had 7-8 delicious canapes on the stone terrace overlooking the Menai Straits and then sat down to lunch in the dining room. The huge windows make the whole room feel fabulously airy and warm.

    The main was a Welsh steak with vegetables and, in spite of the number of diners, Francois and his team coped admirably with the cooking of the steaks (rare still warm and medium pink in the middle). Orders that had been placed ahead of the final canape were brought out as the last toast ended (15-20 minutes) and the food was excellent. The desert of a chocolate fondant with a caramel sauce and whiskey Chantilly cream completed the meal and was exactly as it should be. Sumptuous and rich but without being too much. 4 pm came round quite abruptly and we were very politely reminded that our time was up.

    Objectivity is often lacking when one writes their own wedding revue but this is written with the rose tinted spectacles off. I grew up on Anglesey and have experienced North Wales at it's best and worse. This was excellent in every detail and will remain as a very special venue on a very special day.

    Room Tip: We didn't sleep so this is based purely on our tour of the property. The Gypsy caravan would be just the most incredible place to wake up if you were looking to open your bedroom door onto Wales's best views.
    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Phil P
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

    What a great review! Thank you so much for such a great and long review. It was a huge pleasure to be part of your day for us all here and we are only sorry that you had to leave - we had guests arriving and happily you had another party to move on to. We all send good wishes to you and hope you pop in when visitng your family here.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 June 2014

    After a spell of ill health we needed a change of scene and we found it at The Outbuildings. Everybody was so helpful, friendly and kind. We could do as much or as little as we wanted during our 9 night stay in Button's Room. So much to do and see his golf clubs stayed untouched. I would like to thank you all for helping in another step in my recovery.

    Voirrey and Colin

    • Stayed: May 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank VoirreyHR
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

    Thank you for writing - I always have been a stickler for thank you letters and when you get them from guests that have paid it is extra special! We enjoyed having you stay and glad it helped a little in your recovery, Cocoa is missing you! Please come back for some golf and all good wishes from us all The Outbuildings.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews