We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location for a romantic night away”
Review of The Outbuildings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely location for a romantic night away”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night for our anniversary. It was a present, and we probably never would have discovered this place existed, had we not received this unique gift.
It's a little tricky to get to, but has a stunning spot. It's a converted barn with a few rooms on a bed and breakfast basis. However, we were not staying in the main building, we were staying in The Pink Hut. If you've been here or even driven past, you will know exactly what this is! It's literally a bright pink shed, on their grounds. It offers privacy from other guests, but there's no chance of any once you're inside! It is bigger than it looks on the outside, but there is still a lot of shimmying to be done to avoid bumping into any of the, frankly unnecessary, furniture. It's too small for anything longer than a one night stay, but certainly unique! The shower is a decent size and the bed very comfortable. I also liked having our own little outside table and chairs. I was concerned that we would have cooked had the weather been too hot, but I am sure it's very cosy in the winter with the wood burning stove.
We ate in the restaurant, which is odd in that there is no menu. The chef came out with canapés and suggested a three course meal which sounded lovely. We did over hear him offering different food to other guests; it works have been nice to have a choice! The food was lovely and breakfast the next day was a nice touch, as all guests sat together in the kitchen. Didn't see much from the owner, but the staff were very good.
Would go back, but would want to stay in a different room!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SE7727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Good Morning - a lovely sunny one here so nice for the Pink Hut guests. Thank you for writing a review they help other guests looking for places to stay. The Pink Hut is fun and i agree on one hand re the furniture so the guests in now have stayed there for 3 nights so they need a drawer for clothes and the blanket chest for their bag. But shimmying is the word you are right - it is fun and what is says a Pink Hut! We hope to see you again and thank you for coming to stay - maybe The Pink Spotty Jug next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    23
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
126
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lovely setting to spend time with our family after a particularly stressful week. Lovely comfortable beds were very welcome and enabled all to get a good nights sleep. Good base for visiting the beaches on the west side of anglesey. Couple of niggles pre agreed seafood starters didn't appear and no soap in guest bedrooms (apart from pink hut) . Lovely food prepared by Charlie and made very welcome by Hannah. Sorry if we were a bit noisy at times we had good reason and the trip helped build the families resilience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally comfortable - Little pink hut is quirky
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wetnosewheatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for writing and I am glad you enjoyed this corner of Anglesey. I am SO SORRY that you did not have soap - we do put soap in each room little hand made pink ones made locally......... apologies that you were without - I hope you asked and got some and I will keep an eye out to make sure this does not happen again.From all of us at The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

What a nugget of personalised hospitality! A three night break for a special birthday made extra special by the location, staff, ambience and quaint experience!... Loved every moment.
We couldn't have wanted more; it felt as though 'it was all about us!'
THANK YOU from The Smiths, Bury.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
What lovely words, thank you and it is all about you - the guest! It was lovely to see you all relaxed, playing tennis, playing cards, sitting and reading after your days out. Just what familiy time is all about. Best wishes All of us at The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Located in a fairly isolated position surrounded by open farmland. Just a short drive to magnificent coastal walks.
Our room, "The Boys Room" was spacious and comfortable, though the very soft foam rubber mattress was not to my taste. My wife thought it was fine. Nice shower room with a large shower cubicle. TV and Bose Wave radio.
We weren't offered a menu, but we're told what was for dinner. They did say that if we hadn't wanted the lobster salad followed by a rack of lamb the chef would have offered an alternative, but their choice suited us fine and the food was very good.
I would certainly go back, but would ask what was for dinner!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Good morning, thank you for writing a review,all these things take time but they are so useful to other guests and we really appreciate them too! I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and my apologies you were not aware that we serve a set menu. We look forward to seeing you again. from us all at The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Outbuildings are outstanding!

Bun, Will, Anna and Jack were the most gracious hosts and really added to the experience. This is far more than your ordinary B&B.

We stayed in the pink hut which was a beautifully restored shepherd's hut with views over rolling fields to Mount Snowdon. The property it's self was tucked away in the beautiful countryside, but still closer enough to all the sites of North Wales.

The top highlight for us was the 'super club' on the Friday night where Francois cooked up a delicious 3 course meal accompanied with delightful wines and bountiful banter. What a night! Many a story was told late into the night...

Many thanks, love love love!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Alex! thank you so much for finding time to write a review, so glad you enjoyed your stay in The dear little Pink Hut and we all look forward to seeing you again before too long and we will do our best to get some surf or take you to some!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We chose The Outbuildings for a three night break; our first to Anglesey. We were thrilled with what we found! The views were beautiful, we watched the sunset from the terrace and the peaks of Snowdonia in the distance provided the perfect setting. The property is a lovingly restored barn and includes a number of luxury rooms, a large dining room and mezzanine, a lounge with open fire and a kitchen. Breakfast was delicious and cooked in front of you whilst we sipped fresh coffee at the kitchen table and chatted to the chef and other guests. Dinner was also a treat. We dined on nettle soup, brown shrimp canapes, lamb en-croute and elderflower ice cream. The room was clean, large and comfortable with bright, modern furnishings. All in all a great stay, would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MforModern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for sending a review, it takes time and effort to remember to write them and then actually do it. We really appreciate your kind words, thank you. Most of all we are delighted that you enjoyed your fist trip to Anglesey and hope that this will the be the first of many. From us all at The Outbuildings
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on our first trip to Anglesey, this place is tranquil with lovely views, staff are friendly and most helpful, we had the granary steps room which is tastefully decorated and most comfortable.
Breakfast was served within the kitchen area, we had a very pleasant and excellent chef who also prepared and served our canapés and three course meal in the dining area on our second night which was truly lovely.
We would most certainly like to re-visit The Outbuildings if we ever decide to return to Anglesey.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank com_nurseLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BunMatthews, Owner at The Outbuildings, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write, it was pleasure meetning you and chatting, I wonder if you found some interesting spots on your way home? Francois is great so is his food and his company! Hope to see you again. from us all with best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
349 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
393 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nant Yr Odyn Country Hotel & Restaurant Ltd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Outbuildings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing