We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing stay in lovely area”
Review of The Outbuildings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Outbuildings
Ranked #2 of 6 Menai Bridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing stay in lovely area”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We had a really enjoyable stay at The Outbuildings in South West Anglesey.
Newly opened so everything brand new with gorgeous comfy beds and stylish
bedrooms. Breakfast taken in lovely bright kitchen. Everyone very friendly and
welcoming. Bun (the lady who runs guest house) does an evening meal on some
evenings which was delicious. Would like to return and maybe use the tennis
courts next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy_dutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    23
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
42
130
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

The Outbuildings is a super relaxing place to stay, The standard of the accomodation is second to none, attention to detail is superb. Ate in one evening the most wonderful Toulouse sausages with puy lentils...followed by a delicious lemon tart. Our bedroom was beautiful, the buttons room. All in all a wonderful break, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sewingsll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We arrived late Friday evening after an awful 5hour journey with a small child who had not travelled well. An hour later,having settled Junior, we were having a kitchen supper made by the owner Bun, of fresh lobster, salad and new potatoes washed down with a perfect glass of wine. This is a really lovely place to stay with a hostess who works hard to ensure her guests comfort. The rooms are delightful- the attention to detail is apparent and exude understated luxury. We only had a one night stopover en route to Holyhead but would certainly consider staying longer next time we are in Wales. Great location for exploring the Menai Straits and Anglesey and also easy travelling to Snowdonia.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, UK
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Friendly family run business. The renovated barn provides quality and luxurious accomodation - perfect for a relaxing stay. An ideal venue to get away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Positioned in the heart of the countryside, transport is essential for the journey to the nearest town and local restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliemassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We were looking for some peace and quiet and we found it at The Outbuildings. Our sat nav died but the written directions we had received took us straight there. Its a quiet haven in a country lane...a perfect location with perfect rooms and service. The owner Bun was a great hostess and a great cook...we asked if it was possible to get a late supper on the evening we arrived and it was delicious. Our welcome was made doubly pleasurable when we met Cocoa, the family spaniel. A sweet dog. We only had a few days respite from work committments and sadly had to move on but Thank you Outbuildings. We will be back. Ann & Mel, Stoke-on-Trent

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrslintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I took my parents to Wales to research some family history, we had places to stay further south in Wales, but needed somewhere for our first night - and I happened on The Outbuildings. When we got there, we were just sorry that we hadn't booked in there for the whole week. It was a little hard to find, being newly opened there weren't signs up yet, but we rang Bun (the owner) and her daughter drove down to the village shop where we were parked and we were able to follow her back up to the farm. What a beautiful place, and what a fantastic place to stay. The outbuildings have been restored and updated with such love and care and attention to detail - little touches like fluffy cushions on the bed, not just a kettle and teabags, but a whole welcoming table including homemade brack and butter. Breakfast is served upstairs in the outbuildings so you don't feel like you are encroaching on the family - yet everyone we met was so friendly and welcoming, including Coco the cocker spaniel. It had been a wet day when we arrived and Bun offered to light the fire for us in the guest sitting room - she had brought over the Sunday papers for us to peruse. We had a really lovely stay, wished it was longer, and will be back again!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeiseBlowIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Wonderful converted farm outbuildings, next to owners house. Large airy rooms, tastefully decoarted with lovely bathroom. Tea and proper coffee making facilities in room. Lovely sitting area with views over countryside and mountains. Tennis court . Dining facilities and lovely breakfast taken in large spacious kitchen area. Plenty of parking and Bun, the owner is helpful and friendly. This is truly a lovely place if you are looking for a country retreat which is tranquil and comfortable..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorthingPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
7.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
7.4 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
997 reviews
8.1 mi away
Gazelle Hotel
Gazelle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Menai Bridge
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
319 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
10.1 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 5 in Beaumaris
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Outbuildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Outbuildings

Property: The Outbuildings
Address: Bodowyr Menai Bridge | Llangaffo, Menai Bridge LL60 6NH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the south-west corner of Anglesey, The Outbuildings provides luxurious and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. The setting is sublime - surrounded by tranquil farmland with glorious views of the Snowdonia mountains. Each of the five individually designed en-suite bedrooms has its own private outside entrance and includes a welcome tray with homemade cake or biscuits on arrival, small flat-screen televisions, iPod docking stations and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Outbuildings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Outbuildings Hotel Menai Bridge
The Outbuildings Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing