We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”
Review of Gazelle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gazelle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed here on Friday, booked family room which was very spacious and nicely decorated and overlooked the beautiful view. Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Bit surprised about other recent reviews on here as we found the food very nice (chips were lovely). Overall it was a nice break, the owners were good fun and we will definitely be coming back.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank Mrs_Stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Gazelle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

The situation is unbeatable, by the sea looking at the mountains. I knew it well from student days and booked here particularly for the view. What a mistake! The place is a disaster. The central heating is being repaired - radiators off the wall - an inadequate electric fires provided. Shower pathetic. Food terrible, service slow, white wine warm.....the poor woman serving breakfast did her best, I felt so sorry for her. The landlord needs to hand the place over to someone else who will do it justice. No wonder our local friends were surprised to hear we were staying there. Go and have a beer to enjoy the view but otherwise stay away.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 2oldiesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

went for sunday lunch today, food very poor, service bad, this place needs to be run by professionals not by a couple of guys, what a location!!. shame.Chris was quite nice but had no idear looked like he had just got out of bed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank freda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We were really looking forward to lunch here today. We ordered 1 starter and 3 main courses. As there were only two other couples in we did not expect to have to wait more than 50 mins for a starter. One main arrived 10 mins after that then another 15 mins for the next main and another 20 mins after that for the last main to arrive. Food was variable and although the lady apologised several times saying food would be coming soon it was not clear to us just how long we were going to have to wait.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTour3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We went here for an evening meal with friends. The location is superb but both the service and the standard of cooking were terrible. The cutlery was not set properly, the candles on the table remained unlit all night, no water ( or wine! ) was suggested or provided until we made specific requests half way through the meal. There seemed to be a shortage of spoons! Wrong ones for the starters and none for the dessert ( one friend used his soup spoon for this). No bread rolls, one starter ( prawn cocktail) came without bread. The main course of Welsh lamb chops was awful. It consisted of three bony chops which had no seasoning at all on them. The accompanying red cabbage was tepid and some found it inedible, there were no potatoes but a small ramekin of 'shepherd's pie' and a dish of bland vegetables which did not arrive until some of us had finished the meal. All the plates were cold. Desserts were slightly better but again the bread and butter pudding was tepid and the dish was cold. And then when we tried to pay we were given three scraggy sheets of paper which didn't make sense-no printed itemising of the items. Added to this whilst we were fetching our coats we stood by the owner who was having a meeting with his staff about how the night had gone. He did not help us with the coats or even acknowledge us in any way whilst we left. We live locally and would like to return but not whilst we are treated in this manner.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank ynysmOn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We recently stayed here on a quck break to visit my granddaughter at Bangor Uni. This was a perfect location, right by the Menai Straits, 10 minutes from the bridge and 15 minutes from her hall of residence. The setting was perfect, right opposite Bangor Pier and the view from our room was across the Straits. We enjoyed seeing the different stages of the very high/low tides and all the abundant birdlife. We had room 10 which was sooooo comfortable and roomy with a 5 foot bed. Chris and Andy were very welcoming and we enjoyed using the bar chatting to the locals. We have a bed and breakfast in Oxfordshire (www.townfarmcottage.co.uk) so we are a little diserning when staying away. but we couldnt fault it! We will return when we visit our granddaughter again. Theresa Clark

Room Tip: Go for room 10
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theresa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have stayed here a few times, the views are fantastic, the food is great and the rooms are romantic, coupled with sailing locals sharing banter and a pint, it truly is a wondeful little spot, one that we certainly recommend. A beloved place of our family for over two generations, long may it continue!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
0.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,023 reviews
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
327 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
741 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazelle Hotel

Address: Glyn Garth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range: £64 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gazelle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Gazelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazelle Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing