We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive”
Review of Gazelle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gazelle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“expensive”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I had a single room and although fairly clean, the maid left my door unlocked after cleaning so it was open all day. For the price I did not think the standard was that good. The breakfast sausage was cut in half length ways to look like 2 ? The place was so packed on the Saturday I found parking difficult. My room looked out on to a weedy bank, again not reflecting the price I paid. I go to this area often but would not use this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizdrewrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    90
    38
    15
    32
See reviews for
67
172
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

As my title suggests, we were only there to use the restaurant, therefore i cannot comment on anything else.

Although the food was of an excellent standard, there wasn't enough of anything. A few from our group had the Pork with Apple Sauce and Roast Potatoes.... when it arrived at our table it was 1 slice of pork, 2 roast potatoes and a bit of gravy, on a rather large plate. So we thought 'oh the veg will be coming soon', we were served with 1 bowl of veg to go round 10 of us, there wasn't enough to feed 3 in that bowl. Therefore after going there for a meal, i personally was left rather disappointed with the main in a 3 course meal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I must say that the room was very nice and the hotel in a beautiful spot. I arrived late and left early so I can't comment on the food.

If you want a room with a view ask for a sea view as the so called 'garden' room backed on the the steps to the upper carpark and didn't really have a view of any gardens as such.

The wifi doesn't work on the upper floors so don't expect to get some work done in your room.

Room Tip: if you want a good view make sure you don't opt for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

What a fantastic location and a really great hotel with staff to match......I stayed with two friends in July 2012 in the three single rooms which were really well presented and very comfortable. On arrival (a very wet evening on our motorbikes - biker friendly hotel) we were greeted by Chris who made us feel extremely welcome and looked after us right from the start of our long weekend break.

We ate in the hotel each night of our stay and enjoyed a well presented and very tasty meal each evening....the sea bass was particularly enjoyable. The breakfast was just the right amount and well cooked – no problem if you wanted more....just ask!

Chris and his team had a great sense of humour which made the evenings a special occasion whilst drinking some of the local ale at the bar...a great place to sit and have a meal or a great place to socialise with new friends....of which we made many during our stay.

The location was fantastic and would be hard to beat; a great place to have a quiet drink or a meal in the restaurant with a superb view.....we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Gazelle and will definitely visit next time we are on Anglesey.....thank you Chris and Helen, see you next time.

Room Tip: I stayed in the single room 5 which was the better of the three single rooms (5/6/7) - plenty of roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cerynmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

A real find. Brilliant views across the straits to Snowdon and to one side the open sea the other the Menai Bridge. Very friendly and helpful staff, great bar, very good breakfast and very comfy rooms and facilities. Hard to see the entrance but worth looking! Great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

My wife & I had a wonderful weeks' holiday on Anglesey staying at the Gazelle. Could not fault the food, the staff were very attentive & friendly.Nothing was too much trouble. The views & setting on the Menai Strait were excellent. We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Don't expect a gastronomic revelation, as we found that the items on the menu were simply pub-grub & we only went for the simple low price items. I find it hard to find somewhere really special foodwise for sensible money in Wales anyway.
The food we purchased was good & of a fair price.
The views are simply fantastic. The staff extremely friendly.
I tried 2 of the 3 real ales on offer. Neither were anything to really write home about, although I have yet to find a really interesting Welsh real ale. The ale was well kept.
A good option on your way in or out of Beaumaris (with free parking to boot).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntensiveCareNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
0.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
309 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
429 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazelle Hotel

Property: Gazelle Hotel
Address: Glyn Garth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gazelle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Gazelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazelle Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing