We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gazelle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gazelle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overnight Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for just one evening, as our usual B&B was booked up. The location was beautiful and the staff very friendly but we felt that the price of £95 for the night was rather steep as we normally only pay £85 for a 5 star, however our usual place is not on Anglesey but near to Bangor so this may be the reason why it is dearer.

The road leading to this is a little tight so be careful if you are driving a large vehicle, you may be better leaving the car on the main road and walking down.

We stayed in the annexe which whilst it served its purpose the bathroom smelt musty and the bedroom carpet needed a clean. The bathroom was well provided with soaps and gels but we wished the shower had been an oblong one rather than a corner unit to give a little larger shower room. The bed was comfortable and the tea and coffee were fine but I was a little surprised there was no hair dryer as these days this seems to be the norm. The gardens are well kept and make the exterior look lovely.

However we did enjoy our stay and will possibly re visit when back on Anglesey .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    84
    34
    12
    32
See reviews for
64
165
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

QQQQuality, the accommodation,the unrivalled views on the Menai and the superb staff.
Restaurant serving excellent food at realistic prices.
We will return time and again.
Having stayed here on several occasions we can recommend this Hotel.One of the very best on Anglesey. Keep up the good work IAN.

Room Tip: Any room bar 9-10-11 they are reserved for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

we stayed on the isle of anglesey for a week in june 2013. During our stay we visited the gazelle three times, the first just for drinks and to look at the menu, the other two were specifically to eat. We were not disappointed, the food was great, the staff were very friendly and the service was great. Highly recommended. Family from Hereford.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kath l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I have to agree with a previous reviewer about the influence that the 3"blokes" leaning against the bar had on our enjoyment. Every 5th word shouted out was F.... , they were so loud it was difficult to hear oneself talk. There was a landlord in the bar and I could not fathom out why he did not deal with the obvious unpleasantness.
The location of the Gazelle is perfect and the food is slightly above average and the service we had from the lady behind the bar was very good. We probably would only go again for a drink outside! "Locals" often make a good pub even better...not on this evening!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ROGER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We had booked for one night and stayed for three,we really had a great stay.The staff were very friendly and the food was first class,the owners looked after everyone in an excellent way. We hope to return in the near future.
Retired

Room Tip: Room three was great overlooking the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Arrived at Holyhead Port then onto Beaumaris to see the castle, decided to stay but could not find any vacancies. The proprietor of the Victoria Hotel rang The Gazelle to see if they had any rooms and lucky enough we for the last one. Great location sitting outside overlooking the bay. We had dinner at the restaurant excellent service and food. Our room was bright and refreshing.
We tried to stay another night but they were fully booked. The hotel does not have a lift for those who would find the stairs a task.

Room Tip: Whichever room you pick would have a beautiful view we were at the very top overlooking the bay so q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

13 of us had our annual weekend away at the Gazelle from 05/07/13 to 08/07/13 and had a wonderful time. The weather was brilliant and enhanced the wonderful views from the hotel based on the Menai Straights overlooking Bangor and the mountains beyond. The hotel is approximately a mile and a half from both Menai Bridge and Beaumaris where the nearest amenities are. Most of us had sea views. Some of the rooms were a little dusty and the waste paper bins were not always emptied on a daily basis but this was the only negative and has been mentioned and I am sure will be rectified. The staff were very accommodating and friendly, especially Catherine, our main waitress for our stay and Chris, the owner. The food was excellent . Cooked breakfasts were always hot, plentiful with a huge choice of good quality produce and as much tea, coffee and toast as you wanted. There is a good range of choice for the evening meals which were also of good quality, hot and served quickly and together - (very good considering the size of our party.) We are considering returning next year and would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 10 in the annex is the largest room and has sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
0.3 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
Gwesty Carreg Bran Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanfairpwllgwyngyll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
15.2 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gazelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gazelle Hotel

Property: Gazelle Hotel
Address: Glyn Garth, Menai Bridge LL59 5PD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gazelle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Gazelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gazelle Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Menai Bridge
Gazelle Hotel Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing