We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!”
Review of Chateau Rhianfa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Rhianfa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable!”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights on a mid week break. We were so thrilled with everything during our stay. Such a beautiful place in a stunning location. We managed to walk on Snowdon, cycle through forests and walk on beaches. We really had the most wonderful time and will keep such treasured memories. Explore the hotel as much as you can because there is always more to see around each corner, the gardens are beautiful too, leading down to the water. The Staff were all so friendly and helpful, especially the girls in the dining hall. The food was wonderful and the rooms gorgeous. The whole package is breathtaking and really worth the long journey it took for us to get there! 6 hours! Would love to return one day. I managed to take some photos on the beach and have them framed in my hallway as a reminder!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, the turrets have showers in them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewisdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for writing your review. After a long 6 hour journey I am pleased that you were not disappointed with Plas Rhianfa. As you mention, there are lots of places in the hotel to explore and probably many you didn’t manage to find. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    217
    106
    39
    18
See reviews for
120
641
6
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Come here if you want pure luxury...our hotel suite was amazing..the most comfiest bed ever...beautiful roll top bath and 3 showers in a turret with stunning views! The food was superb...staff could not do enough for you...and an added bonus was the hot tub and sauna...i could not recommend this hotel enough..me and my partner absolutely loved it and are definately coming back...thank you so much

Room Tip: duchess suite....WOW!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write your review of Plas Rhianfa. Our beds are absolutely fantastic and are, as you say really “comfy”. Not your run of the mill type. We take great care in the choice of furniture and beds we use at Plas Rhianfa. I’m pleased that you managed to get to use the hot tub and sauna. I personally thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have never written a review before in my life but the experience was so good I feel that I just have to share our experience. My girlfriend and I went to this hotel for three nights 23/11/2012. We were excited the moment we went through the door into reception where we were shown to our room with a beautiful walk in turret shower which was just enormous with three shower heads in there. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. We found we were still in awe of this beautiful hotel for the next few hours as we explored the many reception rooms, cubby holes and stunning grounds all around the hotel. No room was the same, they all had their unique character and put big smiles on our faces.

The stay in the hotel wouldnt have been the same without the friendly staff there. Everybody was so helpful and always had time to stop for a chat and made us feel very welcome. The food and drink was fantastic and the service was faultless. We were watching the formula 1 in the games room on the sunday morning and found that we didnt even need to go upstairs to get our drinks as the bar staff would bring them to us!

One thing worth mentioning is that because there are so many reception rooms, there is always somewhere private for you to sit down and relax with a drink or two! The friday and saturday nights were both fully booked and wether you wanted to sit and chat to other guests or simply sit in utter privacy, the choice was yours to make.

On the sunday night, a lot of guests had gone home and the ones that did remain went out for dinner so instead of sitting in the large dining room on our own, the staff made up a special private dining area upstairs in one of the stunning reception rooms which made that night very feel special indeed.

We left this morning with some great memories and we will definitely be going back as soon as possible! We would also highly recommend Llanddona Riding School which is about a 15 minute drive away where we were treated to an incredible 2 hour ride down to the beach, cantering through the water across the beach. Neither of us had ridden for a few years but we were in excellent hands!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 - the turret room which had a very comfortable king size bed and an incredible w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for your review, I am really pleased that you had such a great time with us. As you mention, no two rooms are the same and no matter how many times you wander around the hotel, you will always see something different. We hope that you can return to see us very soon and I have passed on all of your comment to our great team.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Me and my boyfriend went for a weekend away for his birthday and we could not have picked a better place! The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they arranged taxis into town for us both nights! The hotel and the grounds were just beautiful and our room (14) had a walk in shower room with 3 showers! It was amazing! The staff even found us a torch so that we could go exploring the grounds in the evening as it went dark quite early. We will be returning here for sure!! A shame that we didnt get chance to go in the hot tub as we were only there for 2 nights and had a lot planned! If you do stay here i would definitely recommend the boat trip to puffin island where you can see all kinds of amazing wildlife including wild seals for only £9 per person! Bargain! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinnynSinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write your review.We are pleased that you had a great birthday weekend with us. The next time you visit us you will have to try out the amazing hot tub and sauna. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here. This hotel is probably the best we have stayed in and we get about a bit. There are lots of little nooks and crannies to this hotel and loads to explore. You can find areas to be alone in if that's what you want. We booked quite late and as a result didn't have a choice of room only a basic room. We couldn't have been more pleased. Everything was really clean and the room had 3 showers in a turret.stunning room . Food was good, staff good, parking a bit tight but you can find a space. We will be going back definitely ! We had an amazing time !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheToothFairy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We are pleased that you had a great time with us and that you enjoyed the turret shower with it three shower heads. We hope that you can join us again very soon.
Kind regards
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed for a night at Plas Rhianfa in Room 8 (Duchess). We had been searching online for a nice place to stay in Anglesey and chanced upon this recently opened hotel in a refurbished mansion located in a spectacular location overlooking the Menai Straits. We think the marketing could be better, few websites seem to link to Plas Rhianfa. The refurbishment of the house is of a very high standard with more public rooms than you could possibly want. As the hotel is built on steep sloping land between the road and the water, there are lots of floors; the reception and some lounges are on a high floor and the main restaurant on the lowest floor looking out onto the beautiful grounds and gardens leading down to the water,

Our room was one of the "principal superior suites". It was splendidly located and furnished with a large bath right in the main window overlooking the water. If one wanted to be picky it wasn't really a suite (no separate sitting room - just a large bedroom with sofa and chairs). The en-suite bathroom was very well done and in our opinion the bath in the bedroom window would be better replaced with a couple of chairs and a small table - but we can see that some people like the bath with the view. Our room was below the drawing room and you could hear the sound of people walking across the wooden floor above but all was quiet during the night.
Only two rooms have baths, the others have showers and some are in the turrets.

The grounds and gardens were very nicely restored and we understand there are plans to continue the work with a floating jetty and "champagne bar" over the water which would be nice. There are lots of places outside to sit and explore.

The staff were friendly and helpful without exception. Probably some more training and supervision is needed on the catering side, some of the service was a bit amateurish. This was not a problem to us but if the hotel is to fulfil its potential this is an area requiring some attention. The dinner was very good but the choice of both food and wine is a touch limited. The cooked breakfast was excellent.

In summary: well worth a visit, inspiring location and refurbishment, just a few somewhat rough edges to tidy up, staff that have the potential to be a very good team.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hollins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, all of your points have been noted and I have passed on your comments to all of the team. We hope that you can return to us very soon.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I have stayed in Wales many times but this hotel exceeded all expectations , the staff could not have been better , the hotel itself outstanding , and not to forget the food ..... Simply delicious.i was even asked if there was anything I would like that was not on the menu , and it would be made for that evening .
Spent a lovely evening relaxing in the hot tub, tho avoided the gym
A very big thank you to all the staff and management for making my time there so special

Room Tip: The duke or duchess suite are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 896Kimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerwyn M, General Manager at Chateau Rhianfa, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
I am pleased to hear that Plas Rhianfa exceeded your expectations. As you mention, both the Duchess and Dukes Suites are absolutely outstanding with great views. I have passed your comments onto our great team and we hope that you can join us again very soon.
Once again, thank you for your valued review.
Gerwyn Morgan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Menai Bridge
8.8 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Bulkeley Hotel
The Bulkeley Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beaumaris
700 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Trecastell Hotel
Trecastell Hotel
#2 of 3 in Amlwch
310 reviews
20.0 mi away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
Trearddur Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Trearddur Bay
616 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bishopsgate House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Rhianfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Rhianfa

Property: Chateau Rhianfa
Address: Beaumaris, Menai Bridge LL59 5NS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Island of Anglesey > Menai Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Menai Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Rhianfa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private home until 1955, the Château Rhianfa estate in North Anglesey has undergone an extensive revamp in recent months. The Grand Hall, wood-panelled sitting rooms, Music Room, Drawing Room and Dining Room have all been carefully refurbished complete with Lady Sarah Hay-Williams' meticulously renovated painted ceilings. The opulent 42-foot Banqueting Hall at Château Rhianfa is a superb setting for lavish events and weddings in North Wales with wooden flooring, panelled walls, and breathtaking views are sure to impress. Enjoy gourmet dining with a view of the Menai Strait and Snowdonia in our award winning restaurant, Le Dragon Rouge. Elsewhere, wine cellars and tasting rooms, vaulted spa rooms, a games room, and lounge bar, as well as a private beach and tennis court is all available. The whole house has the feel of a regal hideaway making it an ideal location for weddings, business conferences, events, or your next product launch.There are also a number of cottages in the grounds, luxuriously furnished and available for hire on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Rhianfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Rhianfa Island Of Anglesey/Menai Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing